We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dump ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Ranked #314 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
A TripAdvisor Member
Newcastle, England
12
Reviewed 1 August 2005

Booked this hotel for 8 guys on a stag night, expecting a basic, no frills room, but the accomodation turned out to be a night mare. The room was very very dirty: 4 guys all in a small room in bunk beds. We think the original carpet colour was blue, but it was black and sticky when we were there. You would def. not take your shoes off and walk around. Dirty towels, beds and curtains which fell apart at the touch. Window rattled in its frame all night. 1 bathroom/shower room per floor both very dirty: you were cleaner just not washing. Only send you're worst enemies here. You have been warned!! DUMP DUMP DUMP Amsterdam a great city to visit, but this hotel would be a disgrace in any city.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 668 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
UK
12
Reviewed 11 May 2005

If you go to Amsterdam, then you want to go out a lot. Well, this hotel encourages that. The rooms are basic, but dirty. The stairs would challenge James Bond, even if Q has sorted him out with some new clever gadgetry. There were 4 lads in our room...sharing bunk beds...bunk beds in a hotel?! What's that about? But then we did have access to a balcony in our room. The staff were generally friendly and they did cater for groups returning from town a little worse for wear, with a pool table in the reception area, happy to sell cheap beers, no problems with smoking, etc and kept it open until the last man standing, and didn’t mind if the party carried on (except for noise understandably). I don’t think I'll rush back, I prefer establishments with concealed wiring, where you can walk around without shoes on, but if your plan is to embrace Amsterdam, you shouldn’t be in your hotel room much anyway now should you. Fine for stag do's, not so great from a romantic weekend away with the mrs. More hostel and hotel, but that was reflected in the price, with generally easygoing attitude of staff and good location.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2005

The hotel is very basic and quite dirty, but for the price I can't really complain. The steep stairs and the wiring in the rooms were obvious health hazards but luckily all fourteen drunken stag nighters survived pretty much intact.
When we first arrived it transpired that they did not have enough rooms for us, and they still tried to argue the toss despite me showing the confirmation details of the bookings I had made some months ago. Were it not for the fact I am very determined and skilled in calm negotiation we might have been fobbed off. The girl on the desk when we first arrived was pleasant and helpful, but her male colleague who was there the second night was really funny with us even though we were all well behaved. The guy was surly, rude and unhelpful, which is totally out of order regardless of the cost. The location of the hotel was ideal because it is easy to find from the rail station, about five minutes stroll from all the action, but still far enough away to be fairly quiet in the small hours.

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arridon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
28
Reviewed 11 April 2005

Hi i stayed at the arrive for 4 days.When we arrived at the hotel the staff were teriffic very friendly and helpful however the room was very average no room service in the 4 days we were there wardrobe doors hanging off .bathroom no plugs'shower curtain ripped'. We were 3 lads so didnt spend much time there in my opnion you pay for what you get paid 350 euros for 4 nights.Great location central to everything

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Manchester
14
Reviewed 13 February 2005

I stayed in the Quentin Arrive with 5 friends, we didn't fancy sharing bathrooms so booked 2 en-suite triple rooms. Fortunately as we were all female the rooms were next door to one another. We found one room was very large and another average sized. The en suite bathrooms had obviously just been renovated because they were lovely and very modern. we had to fight over the double bed and single bed in each room, but we weren't really bothered.
Overall we had a lovely stay and really enjoyed the hotel. I think people only write reviews when they are really disappointed so I wouldn't worry too much if you have already booked this hotel. The staff were also very friendly and helped us out a lot.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2005

I reserved this room expecting a basic no frills room. It was a nightmare. The carpets were dirty and smelled of vomit. The curtains were torn. The shower curtain was covered with mold. I went down and complained so they showed us a different room that was not much better. We checked out immediately but they would not refund my money that I prepaid. They are still saying we stayed there when we did not and the front desk person knows this. They are a very unscrupulous outfit.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
188  Thank AKmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2004

I stayed at this hotel in July 2004 - I was expecting somewhere reasonably basic, but I was not prepared for what we encountered. Our room had less atmosphere than a prison cell, with bare walls and no window save for a tiny one in the top corner of the wall which was too high to see out of. The bathrooms on our floor were both filthy and out of order for the entire time we stayed (3 days) and the ones on the next floor down were also filthy and only one had working light. It was truly horrible and put a real dampener on our trip to the otherwise beautiful Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
153  Thank Rimski75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#322 of 375 in Amsterdam
194 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#309 of 375 in Amsterdam
514 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#307 of 375 in Amsterdam
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#217 of 375 in Amsterdam
273 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#311 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,988 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#275 of 375 in Amsterdam
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quentin Arrive Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quentin Arrive Hotel

Address: Haarlemmerstraat 65, 1013 EL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #314 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £46 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Quentin Arrive Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in a beautiful 19th century building, in the middle of a 650-year-old street. The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. The hotel is located close to the Central Station, near to all Amsterdam's highlights such as the Royal Palace, Dam square, Red Light District, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. You will have a variety of restaurants, bars and cafes right outside the hotel door. The hotel offers many services and facilities such as free wireless internet throughout the building, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is always open (24/7) and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information. The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Quentin Arrive Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quentin Arrive Amsterdam
Quentin Arrive Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing