We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place with helpful staff”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is not a 5 star hotel. It's a hostel. It serves it's purpose. The location is great and the people are friendly. I only stayed in two rooms: an 8 bed room and a 12 bed from but I have no complaints about either. I was able to sleep confortably in both. I forgot to mention that it is one of, if not, the best prices for a hostel.

Room Tip: The 12 bedroom room I stayed in was off the court yard so it wasn't facing the street. Therefor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    204
    98
    24
    25
See reviews for
5
10
140
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

sure, the location is great (the RLD is LITERALLY, around the corner), supermarket just on the other side of the building, ice cream store nearby etc etc. But I wouldn't stay here again given a choice. the first night we stayed in a 4 bed private room, which i'm pretty sure was only meant for two people to stay in. IT WAS SO TINY. we had to literally walk sideways between the bunk beds and the door was so close to the bed that there wasn't any space to stand while opening the door. PLUS: THE HEATER WASN'T WORKING. in fact I think none of them on our floor was. imagine walking the long corridor back with wet hair after showering in a temperature that felt like outdoors. not very fun. didn't sleep well either because the room was freezing.

second night, we had to move to a shared dorm as there wasn't any more space for private rooms. thankfully, the heaters worked in there. there weren't many people in the 16 bed room; just three more girls besides us. it was bigger (duh) so I had a more comfortable sleep that night. oh, but the showers on that floor were...not that great. Since it was on the ground floor as all the shared dorms were, you can imagine the number of people using them everyday, especially in the morning. yup. not very nice.

but it's not all bad. the security was good, which we appreciated given its proximity to RLD and all the coffeeshops around. it was also the first hostel we went to that provided hot breakfast (inclusive in the price we paid). Nice to have something warm in the morning, although it wasn't particularly filling, there was still free flow of bread and jam around to fill you up. Their breakfast is also really healthy. Maybe too healthy. So healthy we felt everything was tasteless except the jam.

Room Tip: privacy is nice, but the private rooms turned out worse than the share dorms. so if you don't mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whatahazyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

The good:
-beds are clean and comfy
-there are lots of showers/toilets and they're cleaned daily
-awesome location, walking distance to everything
-yummy, free breakfast everyday
-no smoking in the rooms
-only guests are allowed in
-cheaper than a lot of the other places that are close by

The not so good:
-it's a bit too big for my liking, makes it harder to meet people
-a few things have been stolen although it's not really the owner's fault I guess

It's a Christian place but if you're not interested in religion (like me) then it's easy to avoid. It's not like they force bibles in your face.

I'd stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank slabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pully, Vaud, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

If you are looking for an inexpensive and safe place to stay in Amsterdam, go to the Shelter City. I went there with a group of students and we were on a rather tight budget which was fine. I wouldn't spend a romantic weekend at the Shelter City though. The rooms are quite old and need to be given a fresh coat of paint. Breakfast is quite yummy and the staff is very friendly and caring, most of whom are volunteers. Being situated in the Red Light District, they will check your identity whenever you get in, preventing intruders to enter the hostel. Close to Amsterdam Centraal and the Dam area. Ideal for backpackers or students.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YFischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Sept2-6th
Good.Clean.Friendly.Helpful.Afforable.SAFE.GreatBreakfast.Close to the train station. free wifi but it was spotty.
it might be in the heart of the red light district but its safe and clean. its not a crazy party hostel. so if thats what you are looking for this not a place for you. it is a christian hostel so they do have like a prayer session but you do not need to be apart of it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sama52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a conference. Having stayed here previous I was intrigued about its present condition.
It's still lovely. Good central location - friendly & helpful staff - good breakfast.
Bit of a faff having to show a piece of paper to gain entry. That's the only comment regarding improvements.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenHancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

I had a generally nice stay here for 4 nights. I particularly chose this hostel because it's not a party hostel and didn't want to worry about stoned and drunk people at bedtime. It's also within walking distance the Dam Square, metro, Central station, red light district and red light district.

The 4-bed female dorm I stayed in was clean and had comfortable beds. The ensuite bathroom, although small, had a really nice hot shower. The bathroom looked clean but smelled of pee (must be the pipe system?). Every morning, there are breakfast options (toast, muesli,or hot -pancakes, French toast), and coffee, tea and juice.

Although a Christian hostel, they don't push you to attend the bible discussions. I also really enjoyed the open mic night with free food.

For improvement: strengthen wi-fi (sketchy wi-fi in the room), a lobby perhaps for a mingling atmosphere, access cards instead of the paper you have to present every entry, help with luggage for the long flight of stairs

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krukruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#12 of 234 in Amsterdam
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#88 of 234 in Amsterdam
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam

Property: Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam
Address: Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 234 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, clean hostel in the centre of Amsterdam. Single-sex dormitories and rooms with 4-8 beds, some with en-suite bathrooms. 24 hour reception, cafe with cheap food and drinks, free use of lockers, great garden to hang out in with giant fish-pond! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Shelter City Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing