We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
“nice!”
Reviewed 16 September 2010

as i only stayed in hostels in australia so far where everyone is drunken all the time and not feeling safe as a young woman at all, i enjoyed this hostel A LOT. ya, it might be kinda slow, but it's more like a family atmosphere anyways. staff is very friendly and loves to get in contact with you (btw, they are all voluntaries and do not get paid), especially in the hostel cafe which is a lovely place to stay for rainy days. also you can get a simple but hot breakfast every morning. beds are not too comfy, but i didnt expect anything great for a cheap price. the bathroom was cleaned a couple of times a day and it was very clean! i stayed with 15 other girls in a room, of course you had to look after each other and usually there was always someone sleeping - so better stay outside of the room :) you have your own lockers in the room, however it was such a nice atmosphere - people left their luagge and belongings anyways.
it is very central you can walk literally eeeverywhere where me and my friend wanted to visit in our three day trip. yeah, you're in the red light district. but where is that not in central amsterdam!? also i felt like it was okay going through it together with my (female) friend, i felt safe all the time (especally compared to paris, our next trip)!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malin_hh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    197
    95
    23
    25
See reviews for
4
10
138
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Good place to stay just outside the red light district but it is located on discount Ally a.k.a. tranny alley so for a good time you can watch seemingly normal grown men that want to plow trannys good times. safe clean I would advise to get a smaller room as a 16 person room to be a bit much when people are coming in now at all times of the night. And my wife and I had to sleep in separate rooms which is weird but work out okay

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fattrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Stayed here 2 nights & never again - as a solo female I didn't like the location at night - in an alley in the red light district - you can try to walk around that part but it takes forever. There was a creepy older man hanging out in the t.v. room right outside my room, made me feel uncomfortable...there was one friendly girl at reception, the rest were impatient & not too helpful...I've stayed in alot of hostels & honestly this place seemed creepy & felt dirty, not cool for a solo female, or any female really. I also saw a mouse running around right outside of my room...I know it's a city, but that just confirmed the gross feeling the place gave me. This hostel is affiliated with the Shelter Jordaan Amsterdam, but after staying at both places i can confirm that they are TOTALLY different -the Shelter Jordaan is way better in every way - clean & has a friendly vibe - stay at Shelter Jordaan!

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettytherese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2010

it was ok, we stayed in an 8 ladies bedroom. Since Amsterdam is an expensive city, the money we paid to stay there was appropriate. I would stay there again.

Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Fikkriyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coruna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2009

1st of all:I've been around almost the whole of Europe in hostels during the last 4 years so I know what to expect more or less.
So:
Pros:
1.great location

2.helpful but inexperienced stuff(they change oftenly,are all volunteers which means they DON'T GET ANY MONEY just bed&board for a month which makes it VERY-VERY PROFITABLE for the owners of the hostel as they get to keep all the money we pay...)

3.relatively clean

4.good lockers

CONS:
1.slow reception(see 2 above)

2.no free internet

3.no alcohol&smoke

4.kind of noisy

5.no real chance to socialise

6.no plugs in the rooms

7.no changing room in the showers

8.really HOT in the showers,at peek times you cannot even breath they don't have open windows!!

9.no kitchen just a fridge from which everybody can take whatever he likes but that applies to almost every hostel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drebin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lower saxony
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2009

service nice,
16 beds in one room - be prepared
clean area, but missing airing in bathroom
it is safe
breakfast you can chose but don't have too much hunger
you feel something from the christian spirit in the house
but you won't find a chappel or meditation room
risky proyect, a christian shelter in red-light zone, but the concept works
it is very central
and very international
specially for persons between 17 and 35

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cambolalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Be careful how you get to this hostel--take a wrong turn and you'll end up right in the middle of the Red Light District. Because of this, we had a bad impression when we arrived at the hotel. It seemed to be down a side street with a massage parlor and who knows what else. The lobby looked kind of scary at first glance.

But once we got inside, everything was very nice. The hostel felt like a peaceful refuge right in the heart of the city. There's a nice courtyard, and people were friendly. The 16-bed girls' dorm had windows open onto the courtyard, making it a little loud when I was trying to get to sleep. But mostly people were very considerate. I got a good night's rest.

And we discovered that if you go out of the hostel the other way, things are much better. The area actually is just fine. So...I had a bad first impression, but ended up feeling totally comfortable staying there. I would recommend it to anyone, and would stay again. Good place!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Jordaan
Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#12 of 228 in Amsterdam
1,237 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#7 of 228 in Amsterdam
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam

Property: Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam
Address: Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 228 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, clean hostel in the centre of Amsterdam. Single-sex dormitories and rooms with 4-8 beds, some with en-suite bathrooms. 24 hour reception, cafe with cheap food and drinks, free use of lockers, great garden to hang out in with giant fish-pond! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shelter City Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing