We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, helpful staff and a great location”
Review of Hotel La Boheme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Boheme
Ranked #40 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, helpful staff and a great location”
Reviewed 28 October 2011

The staff at La Boheme could not have been more friendly and helpful! They always had time to help guests, even during the busy breakfast period, at a time when the hotel was full.
The location is very great, close to the Leidseplien, with its many restruants (...but also turn right as you leave the hotel for a excellent eat cafe...which sadly we only found on our last night). It also close to the museum quarter and offers musuem tickets to jump the queues.
The room was very clean and comfortable, and the continental breakfast offered the usual variety, plus a gorgeous fruit loaf...and you can go back for seconds and thirds!
The stairs are steep, but you get used to them! However, this is something to consider if elderly or in ill health
We have recommended the hotel to friends and if returning to Amsterdam, would definately stay there again

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ogtrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    427
    88
    20
    8
See reviews for
191
356
119
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We chose La Boheme mainly because it was opposite the De La Mar Theatre where we wanted to see Janis Ian, but really pleased that we did. We saw four different staff members manning the reception during our stay and they were all very friendly and helpful. It was a good example of Amsterdam Hotels, including the high narrow stairs that some mention. Unless you are not very steady on your feet or you prefer to stay in a bland, modern high-rise type hotel, this is not a problem. This is Amsterdam with high narrow buildings - its part of the charm. Our room was clean and efficient and the breakfast was more than adequate. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan_And_Jan_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2011

The front-desk staff at this hotel were SO genuinely welcoming and friendly; it was the perfect first place to stay after arriving in Europe.

The hotel's location about a block away from Leidseplein is ideal for exploring the canal ring, the Jordaan, and Museumplein, and for catching trams to elsewhere in the city. Proximity to the noise and traffic of Leidseplein isn't an issue, since La Bohème is located on a quiet section of the adjacent Marnixstraat.

Our room was a triple, which we took because all the doubles were booked, and the room definitely felt a little cramped with all the furniture. We ended up moving the beds around to make more space, and it worked just fine, but it would have been pretty crowded with three people. I don't think you can really expect spacious hotel rooms in Amsterdam, so it wasn't a problem for us for a two-night stay, but it might've gotten to us if we'd stayed there a week.

Breakfast was a tasteful array of high-quality meats, cheeses, bread, fruit, muesli, yogurt, coffee and tea, and the lobby/eating area was a relaxing place to start the day.

The bathroom in our room was typically compact, but everything worked flawlessly: great water pressure and plenty of hot water. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zachary_Glazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My husband and I had a great stay at La Boheme. We stayed for two nights and while the stairs were admittedly steep, we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was very clean and our bed was very soft and comfy. The location of the hotel was great - a brief walk to the Van Gogh museum and bars and restaurants, and not far from shopping and other attractions. I also would like to compliment the staff for being very helpful and informational! Thank you to the folks at La Boheme and to Mimi the cute cat in residence. :)

Room Tip: Very soft and comfy mattresses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jp_mpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I have just checked out today. The hotel room was nothing special but the bed was comfortable, the tv was fine and who wants to stay in the room anyway. Very friendly and helpful staff. This hotel for the price is spot on

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, KY
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

If you have been to Amsterdam, you know that hotels are very expensive. Hotel La Boheme is a great value with a wonderful location. I booked a triple room for myself, brother and sister-in-law. The room consisted of 3 single beds, a closet, night stands and private bathroom. We were in room 6, which is one level up from the main entrance. The hotel does not have air conditioning and our room faced the main street. Even with the windows open, the noise level was not bad considering we were there last week when Europe was experiencing some unusually warm weather. There is no elevator and the climb to the upper rooms is steep. The beds were comfortable and they offer a great breakfast.

The staff was exceptional and very helpful in answering questions about the city. The best part is that they sell transit passes and museum passes. Buy at the hotel and save the time in the lines!

The hotel is 1/2 block to the Leidseplein along with the 197 bus to/from the airport. Bus fare to/from the airport is about 4E.

Be careful on when you arrive. If you arrive really early in the morning like we did, hang out at the airport and have breakfast. Reception opens at 0830 and rooms are available after 1300. If you arrive early, the staff will hold your bags until your room is available.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay there again on my next trip!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempele, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Very nice hotel, good location. Very friendly staff. Nice breakfast. All main tourist actractions are within walking distance. Many nice restaurants in neigborhood, e.g. Klos (great ribs!). Easy to take a bus from airport to Leidseplein (cost 4 €). The room was small but big enough for 2 persons for sleeping. The room was clean, and luckily we got a room from the backside since the street was very noisy during the weekend. Definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Very steep stairs ! Backside rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#24 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,009 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,322 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#61 of 368 in Amsterdam
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#53 of 368 in Amsterdam
859 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,144 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#85 of 368 in Amsterdam
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Boheme

Property: Hotel La Boheme
Address: Marnixstraat 415, 1017 PK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Boheme 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cosy 2-star hotel has been a popular venue already for many years thanks to its ideal location (near Leidseplein), friendly atmosphere and helpful multi-lingual staff. We have the Greenkey Gold certificate, that means we are an ecological friendly hotel. Conveniently situated in the centre of town, all the main attractions (van Gogh museum, Stedelijkmuseum, Rijksmuseum, Melkweg, Paradiso, Theater DeLaMar) are within walking distance. We always do our best to make you feel welcome. Our rooms range in size from singles to triples and provide you with a simple but comfortable place to rest. Our stairs might be steep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing