We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Boheme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Boheme
Ranked #37 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

No complaints. Clean rooms, quiet, friendly staff and a delicious breakfast. If that's not enough, the location is excellent. Oh, and Mimi the cat is oh so sweet.
Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the going up in those traditional narrow Dutch stairs, the fourth floor is an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flávia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    416
    84
    20
    6
See reviews for
181
336
113
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

By the standards of other major European tourist cities (Paris, Venice, Barcelona), Hotel La Boheme would be considered spartan, somewhat uncomfortable, and a bit dingy. However, hotels in Amsterdam are expensive, and La Boheme offers a lot of value and convenience at an affordable cost.

You couldn't ask for a better location. It's right in the heart of the action, seconds away from the Leidseplein and minutes from Spuistraat, but the hotel off to the side a little, so it's quiet around the hotel. The stop for the airport bus is around the corner. The hotel offers a tasty organic breakfast every morning until 11 am, including cereals, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, breads, local cheeses and freshly brewed coffee. The staff is definitely helpful and informative, although we didn't find them as outgoing and friendly as other reviewers. We really appreciated the hotel's eco-conscious efforts, including the use of green energy and an internal recycling program.

We stayed in a room on the top floor. No one's kidding about the hike up the narrow, twisty stairs to get to the rooms. We were tired on our arrival and after hauling our bags up to the room, we set out to explore the city. Unfortunately, we kept forgetting things we wanted to bring along, so we had to trek back up and down a couple of times. That was a good way to work off the Gouda we consumed. The room itself was airy, although it didn't have much storage space for luggage and clothes. The furnishings and decor were a touch drab. There was a small TV and a working phone. The bathroom was surprisingly large (almost half the size of the room), but the shower was tiny and the water pressure was inconsistent. One evening it suddenly spurted mid-shower and flooded the bathroom floor.

One of us has visited Amsterdam several times in the past, including some business trips, and compared the hotel favorably to other hotels and B&B's in Amsterdam. As a safe and clean base for exploring the city, Hotel La Boheme cannot be beat. Unless you're willing to splurge on a four-star hotel, this is as good as it gets in this city.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bocadey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

I have stayed in this hotel with couple of my friends for 3 nights, and no disappointment at all. Hotel is in great location, jst min walk from Leidseplein. Rooms are decent( clean and basic) but who spend their time in hotel room in Amsterdam?
Breakefast in a morning served till 11 is awesome!!!
But the biggest plus of this hotel is staff!! So nice, happy and very helpfull receptionist make a difference.
Next time in Amsterdam I already know where I'm going to stay.... Keep it how it is guys

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magic5olar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

This hotel was clean, convenient, and friendly. Not fancy, VERY steep stairs, and the bathroom was dark and damp. But the bed (top floor) was large and clean. The location is excellent, near many bars and restaurants. The bus to the airport (197) leaves from across the street. I would stay here again. The staff was helpful also.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are bigger but steep climb to the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzliya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

La Boheme is a two-star hotel with no frills.
Good stuff: The staff are charming, they have a cute cat (Mimi) who is their mascot, and hangs around the checkin-counter. The "lobby" has a bar and tables facing the street window, and they serve nice beers there in the evening.
The room was extremely clean, and it was very quiet (facing the back). The location is excellent; so easy to get to by bus from the airport, and the tram and bus stops are right there.
Not-so-good stuff: No shampoo, no little extras. I had to leave very early for the airport, and they did give me some tea and bread with cheese to take up to my room for the morning, but it was only after I asked, and kind of pressed for it. The beds were too soft; they sank a bit in the middle.
The stairs are VERY VERY STEEP, so if you hate climbing stairs, don't even think about it.

I think it's way over-rated in Tripadvisor, but is still a reasonable place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HerzliyaWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Great location and very friendly staff! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

Long time reader, first time reviewer on Trip Advisor. Stayed at the La Boheme in Amsterdam and although there is nothing fancy about it, the location is great, the staff was incredibly friendly, and free breakfast and high speed internet is hard to find, especially for the price. Under 100 euros a night, near a great central shopping and food district yet off the busy street to keep the noise at a minimum. Staff was friendly and helpful in showing us how to get from place to place. Walking distance to many hot spots and 4 minutes walk to the Blue Boat canal tour (great at night). Would recommend and stay here again.

Room Tip: Lower floor better since no lift and steep staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
377 House - Amsterdam
#39 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#80 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#23 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#59 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Boheme

Property: Hotel La Boheme
Address: Marnixstraat 415, 1017 PK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Boheme 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cosy 2-star hotel has been a popular venue already for many years thanks to its ideal location (near Leidseplein), friendly atmosphere and helpful multi-lingual staff. We have the Greenkey Gold certificate, that means we are an ecological friendly hotel. Conveniently situated in the centre of town, all the main attractions (van Gogh museum, Stedelijkmuseum, Rijksmuseum, Melkweg, Paradiso, Theater DeLaMar) are within walking distance. We always do our best to make you feel welcome. Our rooms range in size from singles to triples and provide you with a simple but comfortable place to rest. Our stairs might be steep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing