We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Boheme” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Boheme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Boheme
Ranked #38 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Boheme”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

We enjoyed our stay here very much. The hotel is not luxurious but is good value for money.
The room was simple but clean and pleasant. The breakfast was good and included in the price. We liked the the free wi-fi and our son made friends with the hotel cat. The service was excellent and all the staff were very helpful. Would definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    417
    84
    20
    6
See reviews for
181
337
113
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We travelled as a group and managed to get 3 rooms on the same floor ( 2 twins & a triple). The staff are all very helpful and friendly and have no problems giving you directions, advice or making restaurant or taxi bookings.
As we were quite early we were able to leave our bags behind the counter (they lock the door if they aren't there) until we came back to check-in.

The location was great, if you take a left and left again you get to Leidsplein in a minute which is full of bars and places to eat, you can also get the metro or bus from here.

The stairway is steep yes but this seems to be the norm in Amsterdam, I'd just recommend taking a backpack as it is easier but we all managed fine. The rooms were a good size from others I have seen, they were clean and the bathroom also had a good shower and decent towels.

The breakfast was great for a continental, warm croissants, boiled eggs, ham, cheese, toast etc - plenty to eat and drink. You just have to ask for Milk for your tea/coffee as the cat will go for it.

The only minor thing was the noise from the bar close by at closing time, when the windows were shut it was fine. Overall I'd definitely stay again, it was friendly, safe and clean and a decent price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 82Rache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

This was a wonderful find - clean, reasonably-priced, and located conveniently in the museum district near Leidseplein. The girl in Reception during the day was so friendly and nice! Boheme has its own cat and celebrity Mimi, who is friendly and always present/napping in Reception (allergics beware).
Unfortunately we visited during a heat wave (99F) and there is no A/C, but giant windows open, and a fan was provided. Located in busy night-life area - nothing foam earplugs couldn't beat.
Definitely NOT accessible - all rooms require stairs, which are VERY steep! (good exercise) and bathrooms tiny but clean.
Reception was so helpful - made excellent suggestions for meals/attractions, and even made reservations for bike tours and sold advance tickets to Rijksmuseum, which saved us waiting in very long queues.
Excellent 'continental' breakfast included. Choice of coffee or tea, fresh croissants, variety of spreads, breads, cereals, meats and cheeses. Limited full bar in reception, and toasted sandwiches and snacks. Tons of informative leaflets, coupons, etc., and a loaner laptop in Reception. Free internet. Bike parking across the street.
We paid $165 for triple rooms.

Room Tip: Non-street facing rooms may be quieter. The higher the room, the hotter and the more steep stairs t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAMADEEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

This one is tough to review. Apparently Amsterdam is pretty expensive to stay in, but I don't think this place was worth it. Here's why:

Positives:
-The people were great. Everyone was really helpful and sweet.
-The breakfast is great. There's tons of food and they don't mind if you eat seconds.
-The location - the hotel is near the tram and near a lot of the central sights/museums.

Negatives:
-The location - the hotel is near the party zone, so it was crazy noisy all night long. Even with earplugs in it was soooo loud and I was woken up several times.
-The rooms - they're real basic. which is fine, but looking at the pics here, it looks like we got one of the worst ones. It was very small, we were in the attic which meant very low ceilings, and the bathroom had one window that faced the neighbors roof - which constantly smelled like sewage (it was such a terrible smell that it woke us up a few times).
-No A/C. I know this is dumb to complain about, but the way the rooms are set up, you don't get a cross wind, so it's about 95 in the rooms when it's hot out - and it doesn't ever cool off.
-The bathroom - we had a tiny little shower with a little shower curtain that kept sticking to us when we were in it. We had to leave it half open to even be able to shower.
-The stairs - We were on the 6th floor and there is only a very small staircase. We don't usually mind stairs, but if you don't like stairs, ask for a lower room. I had a backpack, which made it easier, but my friend had a roller bag, and she was not too happy.

I definitely wouldn't stay here again, but if you're in backpacking or party mode, this would be a fine hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahktsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaBoheme, Manager at Hotel La Boheme, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Thank you for for sharing your experience here In La Bohème. Besides the positive aspects, which we agree on of course, we can also understand the negative aspects of your experience. But this taken in consideration the very extreme temperature for Amsterdam during your stay! These were the hottest days, not only of this year, but of the last few years! Our stairs indeed are very steep, but in the heat of those days it might have felt like the 6th floor instead of the 4th floor (which is the highest we have). Indeed we do not have AC in the rooms but in general with the Amsterdam climate it is not something to be missed: we do have heating for the cold days! And it could well be that in this rare warm night there was much more noise than usually. However, we will do our utmost to make sure that also on hot days we can provide more comfort to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stayed here for two nights in June. I requested the top floor and was able to have the room facing the street which appeared to be one of the larger ones according to everything we read prior to booking. The room was small, but very clean. The stairway was steep and narrow - but you got used to it. Go slowly up and down it and hold onto the railing and you'll be fine. The location of this hotel was prime. You were an easy 2 minute walk to the nearest square. Mike's bike rentals was 5 minutes away (I recommend the country tour rather than the city tour) The country area surrounding the city is absolutely stunning. The hotel is around 20-25 minutes walking to the Red Light District and Anne Franks House. The best way to get to the train station is by hopping onto a light rail train which runs pretty frequently. There were plenty of food and nightlife options near the hotel which makes it a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYHokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Rochelle, France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

I stayed only one night, but the room did the job, small and simple but clean and comfortable, good situation in the city, worth the price. Also the staff is very friendly. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: room 4 is on backyard side, so very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olivier m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a double room on the top floor. The stairs were steeper than I imagined after reading the reviews. It was a workout going to the room! We found everything to be clean and in great condition. We enjoyed the breakfast and the friendly staff. I loved the area and found it to be quiet at night. I really had no complaints. We had a great time in Amsterdam at La Boheme.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nicoleannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
377 House - Amsterdam
#40 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#80 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#23 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#58 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Boheme

Property: Hotel La Boheme
Address: Marnixstraat 415, 1017 PK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Boheme 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cosy 2-star hotel has been a popular venue already for many years thanks to its ideal location (near Leidseplein), friendly atmosphere and helpful multi-lingual staff. We have the Greenkey Gold certificate, that means we are an ecological friendly hotel. Conveniently situated in the centre of town, all the main attractions (van Gogh museum, Stedelijkmuseum, Rijksmuseum, Melkweg, Paradiso, Theater DeLaMar) are within walking distance. We always do our best to make you feel welcome. Our rooms range in size from singles to triples and provide you with a simple but comfortable place to rest. Our stairs might be steep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Lastminute and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel La Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing