We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Little Place”
Review of Hotel La Boheme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Boheme
Ranked #37 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
west midlands uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Little Place”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed here during October half term. Lovely clean rooms, tasty fresh breakfast. Friendly helpful staff especially Mimi the tabby cat. In a very central location - walking distance to everything. Would definitely recommend and stay again. Lovely view of the DeLaMar Theatre opposite.

Room Tip: Make sure you mention if you have trouble climbing stairs as they are steep to the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    423
    86
    20
    6
See reviews for
188
350
118
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

Five of us stayed here over a weekend, two in a twin room and three in a triple room. The rooms are basic but the hotel is excellent value with a great location near bars and restaurants. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is included and is served late into the morning

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slimyflea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
128 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Fantastic Location; Action Central. Near huge bars, restaurants, etc.

Excellent Value for Money (Breakfast Included).

Friendly, helpful staff..

Easy to get to from airport (Bus 197 - 5 Euros).

Top of my list for value for Money.

Room Tip: No elevators; very steep stairs !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DYNAMICREGGAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here for 4 nights. The central location was perfect, it was very easy to get around. The staff are super friendly and helpful with is a huge plus. And they have a resident cat that lives in the lobby which is fun! Breakfast was included in the price with is always nice. However this is definitely a basic, budget hotel, and the room showed it. Clean enough- but very small and nothing special. And be prepared for stairs, and more stairs- steep ones! We were on the top floor and just barely got our large bags up to our room. There is no elevator and the staff did not assist us with our luggage.

If you are on a budget I would recommend this hotel because it is a good value, safe and friendly. However, next time I am in Amsterdam I will spend a little extra for something a bit nicer and more comfortable :)

Room Tip: The top floor double room had a nice view, but if you don't want to deal with many steep stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherry821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

this is my first visit to amsterdam. i went with two friends, and selected the hotel through tripadvisor. Its almost what I expected small clean friendly hotel in a perfect location. You are almost midway from every thing you need. The room price is good, the breakfast is simple, the rooms are very clean, the sheets smell good. The stairs were very narrow, but this is how it is in amsterdam. Good place. Can't forget about Jacky, she is so friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tamerads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

My husband and I recently travelled to Amsterdam and booked a room at La Boheme. Yes, the stairs are very steep and we were on the top floor, so it was an adventure! However, the hotel clearly advertises this and honestly- it was kind of fun. The reception staff was very polite, helpful, and provided a nice breakfast to start the day. The location is great- plenty of places to eat and drink nearby - we enjoyed 'wok to walk' for a late night bite. There is also a tram stop very close- number one takes you to the centraal station. The room itself was super cozy. We felt very much at home and thought the bed was extremely comfortable! We were a bit under the weather and spent more time in the hotel room than we typically do, so this was very much appreciated. The only very minor complaint was that we only saw Mimi the cat once :)! I guess she was out cruising around. all in all, a very nice stay. Thank you La Boheme!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank downtheavenue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Myself and two friends where visiting Amsterdam for a few days then moving on to Paris. This hotel was exactly what we needed. It was a compact room with three twin beds centrally located with good transportation links. It was well priced in comparison with other hotels in the area. The continental breakfast was very good. Each morning you are greeted with smell of fresh baked croissants. There were a selection of breads, cereals, yogurt, meats, cheeses etc.....everything you need to start the day. Where this hotel really shines is the staff, who without exception were extremely pleasant, and helpful. I would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank HappyCdnTraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
377 House - Amsterdam
#52 of 368 in Amsterdam
252 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#85 of 368 in Amsterdam
929 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#55 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#24 of 368 in Amsterdam
981 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,023 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Boheme

Property: Hotel La Boheme
Address: Marnixstraat 415, 1017 PK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Boheme 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cosy 2-star hotel has been a popular venue already for many years thanks to its ideal location (near Leidseplein), friendly atmosphere and helpful multi-lingual staff. We have the Greenkey Gold certificate, that means we are an ecological friendly hotel. Conveniently situated in the centre of town, all the main attractions (van Gogh museum, Stedelijkmuseum, Rijksmuseum, Melkweg, Paradiso, Theater DeLaMar) are within walking distance. We always do our best to make you feel welcome. Our rooms range in size from singles to triples and provide you with a simple but comfortable place to rest. Our stairs might be steep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing