We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Boheme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Boheme
Ranked #39 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

Great location and great service. Small but cozy rooms. The only thing you to take in account is the absence of elevator and narrow stairs. The hotel is located near main shopping and restaurant streets, but in a distance from city center and red light districts, so we could sleep with our windows open. It was a great stay.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Npoluyaktov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    416
    84
    20
    6
See reviews for
181
336
113
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We were greeted by Mimi the cat who is just lovely (and has her own Facebook page). This place is typically Dutch, efficient, effective and no nonsence. Great breakfast, large rooms and clean. Great location, secure and right near a Bulldog coffee shop. The spiral staircase is a little daunting.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

I stayed here in May with my husband and a friend in a triple. We needed to split the cost of the room, which wasn't cheap but worth the money. Breakfast was awesome, with croissants, juice, coffee, eggs, and lots of other options. The staff that we worked with was excellent- super helpful and really nice, even loaning an umbrella to our friend when it was raining. The rooms were really clean. Best of all, the Leidesplein square is around the corner and is easy access for food and drinks all day until late at night, and bed isn't far!

Room Tip: Take a room on the 1st floor (the ground floor is zero) for easy access up the steeeeep stairs. I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aijolda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

You'll like it here if you enjoy a well-run hotel with friendly people at a reasonable price.

The location is perfect just a 100 meters or so from Leidesplein where there is almost continuous service to the city center. You are never more than 10 minutes away. Heading to the airport? Bus 197 stops right in front of the the Cafe Americain about every 15 minutes; this is perhaps 150
meters from the La Boheme. To find the hotel stand in front of the fountain looking at the Cafe Amercain; Marnixstraat is just to your right.

I can only comment on the single rooms downstairs. Everything you need: flat screen TV, good hot water, heat, comfortable bed, room safe, and the easy to use Wi-fi worked very well. Looks out into a small courtyard.
The hotel even provides you with two things that you frequently can't find at luxury hotels. First, there is a good reading lamp at the bed (why can't the big chains think of that?) Two, they will let you use a laptop in the reception area.

Probably the deciding factor for me in choosing the hotel was that the reviewers said that the breakfast was excellent and they were correct. Also, when you are eating there, the staff acts as you were a guest in their home. "Would you like more .....?"

And regarding the staff, they were very friendly and really helpful. Alice was great upon my arrival. Speaking of being helpful, you can purchase tram passes and some
museum tickets at the hotel reception.

You'll like it there

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Easy review - great staff, breakfast, location, room, cleanliness! Nice to have a bar and food right at your hotel. Easy tram on and off. Would recommend to anyone! Young and old. They paid attention detail. The female clerks were amazing and helpful with any questions asked.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dphanney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanthorpe, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

* Fantastic staff bent over backwards to help.
* Breakfast was terrific
* Location perfect just far enough from Central Station
* free and fast Internet wifi
* Close to lots of great eating and drinking places
* bus from airport stops only 1 blocks from hotel and only costs 4 euros
* lots of public transport close to hotel

*** Not an issue for us but as with most Amsterdam buildings they have steep stairs but that said we were on the 3 floor and provided you take your time they were easily navigated

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank-Sonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

I stayed here with my friends to perform in a concert in the city. Our experience was great. It is an excellent hotel which has lovely rooms, friendly staff and abundant facilities to make your stay refreshing. Staff is incredibly helpful and polite. They paid a great attention to smallest details. Food was delicious and had immense varieties. I wish we could visit this place once again. Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
377 House - Amsterdam
#35 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#86 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#23 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#58 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Boheme

Property: Hotel La Boheme
Address: Marnixstraat 415, 1017 PK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Boheme 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cosy 2-star hotel has been a popular venue already for many years thanks to its ideal location (near Leidseplein), friendly atmosphere and helpful multi-lingual staff. We have the Greenkey Gold certificate, that means we are an ecological friendly hotel. Conveniently situated in the centre of town, all the main attractions (van Gogh museum, Stedelijkmuseum, Rijksmuseum, Melkweg, Paradiso, Theater DeLaMar) are within walking distance. We always do our best to make you feel welcome. Our rooms range in size from singles to triples and provide you with a simple but comfortable place to rest. Our stairs might be steep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing