We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean and a GREAT location”
Review of Hotel La Boheme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Boheme
Ranked #46 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This is a great little place for anyone looking for place to stay in central Amsterdam without having to rob a bank. We met various staff members and loved the friendly service we received from each of them, especially Mimi the cat off course! It is true that the stairs are steep but we had been warned and we did not find them bad (though we did not have much luggage with us). We stayed in a room with a double bed on the top floor. The room was tiny but clean with a private bathroom. They had clearly made an effort to make it as comfortable as possible. For a longer stay I might look for a larger room (perhaps one with two single beds might have a bit more space to move around) but for a short stay it certainly is a nice place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Globetrotter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

371 - 377 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

The location is amazing for the price. In the middle of the tourist area, but a short walk to Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, a cool big club, and lots of really nice bars that aren't full of drunken tourists (plus lots that are too).

I have stayed here about 5 times now over the last 10 years. Each time I stay my experience is exactly the same. The standards haven't slipped at all like some reviewers have said. The staff here (mostly) are really friendly and accomodating and full of knowledge. The rooms are fine (I have only ever stayed in a triple room). They are clean and well maintained. They are basic, but what more do you need? For the price in Amsterdam (its expensive people) you could get a lot worse, but I'm not sure better. Breakfast is continental of course but good (especially now they have croissants, yey!). There is a hotel cat too, what more do you need?! Oh yes, and there are 3 decent late night bars just up the road full of locals and not tourists/stags/hens from uk. Which is a MASSIVE bonus!

My only negatives: the bathroom is small, which is fine, but it does tend to smell, but thats only in the bathroom and the smell (of toilets really) doesn't leak out into the room at all. There are a lot of steep stairs to tackle, but then this is Amsterdam, have you seen the shape of most buildings? There is clearly no space for a lift.

Room Tip: If you like sleep I guess go for the back (but I never had an issue with the road noise). If you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonCBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Friendly and unpretentious. Helpful staff. Traditional house on 5 floors. Good value. Excellent location for art museums, trams to city centre, restaurants and direct bus to airport. Good breakfast. Lived up to our expectations.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterCC44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Position is very good. Staff was very helpful when we asked a quiet room.
rooms are tiny..but i assume all kind of this hotel are the same. Good breakfast.
I can say that acquisition of good coffee machine- espresso can be a big plus for this hotel and more pressure for water.
But in the rest was very good.
Thank you

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank odetina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Great location and great service. Small but cozy rooms. The only thing you to take in account is the absence of elevator and narrow stairs. The hotel is located near main shopping and restaurant streets, but in a distance from city center and red light districts, so we could sleep with our windows open. It was a great stay.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Npoluyaktov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We were greeted by Mimi the cat who is just lovely (and has her own Facebook page). This place is typically Dutch, efficient, effective and no nonsence. Great breakfast, large rooms and clean. Great location, secure and right near a Bulldog coffee shop. The spiral staircase is a little daunting.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I stayed here in May with my husband and a friend in a triple. We needed to split the cost of the room, which wasn't cheap but worth the money. Breakfast was awesome, with croissants, juice, coffee, eggs, and lots of other options. The staff that we worked with was excellent- super helpful and really nice, even loaning an umbrella to our friend when it was raining. The rooms were really clean. Best of all, the Leidesplein square is around the corner and is easy access for food and drinks all day until late at night, and bed isn't far!

Room Tip: Take a room on the 1st floor (the ground floor is zero) for easy access up the steeeeep stairs. I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aijolda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#24 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,061 reviews
Hotel Restaurant Larende
#38 of 374 in Amsterdam
429 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#51 of 374 in Amsterdam
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Boutique Hotel View
#96 of 374 in Amsterdam
959 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#55 of 374 in Amsterdam
278 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#12 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Boheme

Address: Marnixstraat 415, 1017 PK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £81 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Boheme 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cosy 2-star hotel has been a popular venue already for many years thanks to its ideal location (near Leidseplein), friendly atmosphere and helpful multi-lingual staff. We have the Greenkey Gold certificate, that means we are an ecological friendly hotel. Conveniently situated in the centre of town, all the main attractions (van Gogh museum, Stedelijkmuseum, Rijksmuseum, Melkweg, Paradiso, Theater DeLaMar) are within walking distance. We always do our best to make you feel welcome. Our rooms range in size from singles to triples and provide you with a simple but comfortable place to rest. Our stairs might be steep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel La Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing