We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I recommend!!”
Review of Hotel La Boheme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Boheme
Ranked #44 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Very good location and great value!!! Everything is within 15 minutes walk. Staff is nice and friendly, and the rooms are clean, simple and good! Great Breakfast! The only problem for me it was that i had big luggages and they didn't have elevator.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 349 of 1,123 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

We spent 3 nights in the hotel before returning to Asia. The location is great. Everything is within 15 minutes walk. Rikjsmuseum is just few minutes walk away. The room are clean, staff are really friendly and helpful. Jackie gave us a very warm welcome. The value is good. Highly recommended this hotel.

Room Tip: May not be the best for family with older persons. it seems that there's no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

La Boheme is a good value if you are looking for accommodations in central Amsterdam. Bus 197 (4 Euros) easily brought us from the airport to the bus/tram stop at Leidseplain. The hotel is only 200 meters from the stop. From the hotel, you can easily walk into the central core of Amsterdam or over to the major museums. Our room was simple, but clean. The beds were a tad saggy, but no real issue. Breakfast was completely in-line with expectations for a two star hotel. As other reviewers have noted, the interior stairs are steep, but are not impossible. Our fellow guests were polite.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel are very quiet - zero street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Asta365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I first stayed at this hotel when I visited Amsterdam in 2001 and always try to book it whenever I return, Though sometimes because its soo good value its fully booked. Stayed overnight last week on a short visit to Amsterdam and as always, the hotel doesnt disapoint, its excellent value, with extremely helpful staff. I like it not just for those reasons, important though they are, but for the fact its close to the Van Gogh museum and the leidsePlein.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dom J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

It has been decades ago that I lived in an even older part of Amsterdam; so La Boheme brought back some nostalgic memories.

I had not made known any wishes with my reservation, so when we arrived late evening the receptionist apologized that she had only a room on the 3rd floor left, so we got to use an authentic staircase so very common in Amsterdam. For us this was not a 2 night weekend stopover, but a final transit stop of a long 5 week holiday to warm and cold climates.

The location is very central, next to the "Stadsschouwburg" and "het Leidse Plein".
Walking distance from the "Rijks Museum" and Van-Gogh (both 1 streetcar stop).
The 197 bus from Schiphol stops after a 30 min ride only 170 yards away from the hotel.

The staff was friendly and helpful and in the room was a folder with information on what to see and do in Amsterdam and how to get tickets for some of the most popular venues.

The rooms are small, but ours was very quiet as the rooms have an extra vestibule to separate the bedroom from the closet and washroom.

The breakfast was good, so if you are new to Amsterdam and like to sightsee, this hotel provides good value and friendly advice.

Room Tip: If you have heavy suitcases, inform them when making a reservation, or make 2 trips like we did. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henk W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

La Boheme is perfectly situated round the corner from Leidseplein, which is only 10 mins down tramlines 1, 2 & 5 from Centraal. The street it's on is quiet despite being directly opposite a theatre.
The staff are lovely - very friendly and helpful without creating too much of a fuss. The reception area is welcoming and spacious, where you'll be greeted by Mimi, the resident tabby cat who is clearly the manager here.
The building is small and secure, with tight steep stairs leading to the bedrooms. This would be a problem for anyone with walking difficulties, but being in the centre of Amsterdam, you have to expect this given the architecture of the city's buildings.
The rooms are obviously small, but they are warm and clean, with all the commodities you would expect from a city hotel. The bathrooms are small and maybe a little dated, but again clean and have everything you need. I don't think there's any difference in being placed in a room at the front or back of the hotel, as both sides would be quiet enough for a good night's sleep.
Breakfast is a nice continental selection, and the seating area is relaxing and clean, with free wifi..!
The location is ideal as there are plenty of bars, restaurants and cafes within 5 mins walk of the hotel. Leidseplein is a busy square with a great atmosphere, so once you've finished exploring other areas of the city, it's good to have a nice selection of places to visit within a short walk back to the hotel.
I would definitely recommend this hotel if you're here for a short break, and I'll certainly return to La Boheme when I come back to Amsterdam.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pete_Ards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

La Boheme is very good situated central in Amsterdam. Close to trams and busses, and walking distance to most of the interesting places in Amsterdam. Many restaurants just around the corner at the Leidesplan. Friendly and helpfull staff. After 11:00 PM the reception is closed and no service.... I had a small room in the cellar. A Little "prison like" but the room was Clean with all the facilitys i have expected to the price of the room. Shared toilet and shower outside the room, but also clean and nice.
The expected Wifi did not work in the cellar rooms, I had to go to the lobby to have internetacsess.
he breakfast was a good continental breafast with what you can exept on a two star hotel.
The hotel is not to recomend if you have problems with stairs. No elevator....
But a nice living central in Amsterdam. If i come back i can live there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3,612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel Restaurant Larende
#54 of 376 in Amsterdam
432 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#24 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,112 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#68 of 376 in Amsterdam
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#52 of 376 in Amsterdam
917 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#10 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,400 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#89 of 376 in Amsterdam
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Boheme

Address: Marnixstraat 415, 1017 PK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £73 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Boheme 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cosy 2-star hotel has been a popular venue already for many years thanks to its ideal location (near Leidseplein), friendly atmosphere and helpful multi-lingual staff. We have the Greenkey Gold certificate, that means we are an ecological friendly hotel. Conveniently situated in the centre of town, all the main attractions (van Gogh museum, Stedelijkmuseum, Rijksmuseum, Melkweg, Paradiso, Theater DeLaMar) are within walking distance. We always do our best to make you feel welcome. Our rooms range in size from singles to triples and provide you with a simple but comfortable place to rest. Our stairs might be steep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing