We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amsterdam at its best”
Review of Hotel La Boheme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Boheme
Ranked #37 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amsterdam at its best”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Have just returned from La Boheme after a weekend away with my daughter. Great place to stay with happy friendly staff and the lovely Mimi of course. yes the stairs are steep but we managed without a problem. Hotel is spotlessly clean and beds are comfortable with lovely soft pillows and a good variety at breakfast. Central for all the activity and close to all public transport routes. Only problem was the bus driver from the airport put us off to early and it was teeming down so when we did reach the hotel we were soaked but it did not spoil the weekend. We will return next year with younger daughter in tow to catch up on what we missed this time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeDe09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    421
    85
    20
    6
See reviews for
186
348
116
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Outstanding welcoming and friendly service from really lovely people that run the hotel. We traveled as a family of 3 Mum Dad and 10 year old daughter sharing a triple room on 3rd floor. Yes there are the narrow steep stairs but it was part of the experience. If you are the average family without disability or chronic health issues then there is no reason why anyone can't get up and down with a bit if care. After a couple of days you get used to it. The room was as expected in photos but overall not too tight. The location is fab for museums and shopping and eating out and near Vondelpark. The hotel offers a few nice extras at no cost; use of safe; free WiFi; and breakfast included which was really nice good quality and tasty produce. Great value for money and a really relaxing atmosphere. We made use if the bar area to chill out read and play cards there is a laptop that guests can use too. We all felt comfortable. The staff were lovely and couldn't have been more helpful. Our daughter enjoyed it and if course meeting Mimi the famous hotel cat that lives at the hotel. We can't wait to return again. It was our first trip to Amsterdam but it won't be our last and this will definitely be our first choice in future. Thank you for a lovely memorable stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uxbridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Been staying here for many years now. ..twice this year.....up to usual standards...clean..friendly...excellent staff and breakfast...cannot rate highly enough...thankyou...location is excellent for cafes and bars and shops...best area to stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philipkendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had the most wonderful stay at La Boheme. The friends (I hate to call them staff) were absolutely wonderful. The hotel and our room were so clean and welcoming we really felt at home.

The breakfast was brilliant, everything needed to set you up for a day exploring the city.

We had a room on the 5th floor and my 70 year old legs struggled so we hat, but they stay was certainly worth it.

Right in the centre of the Leidseplein with marvellous bars, cafés, restaurants so close, we loved every minute.

Room Tip: If you are in our age bracket (65-70) ask for a room on the lower floors as the stairs are very stee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed there for one night first week of June this year, we were assigned the top floor where you need to take flight of winding steep staircase to reach to top, however staff let us to safe keep our large pieces of luggage on the ground floor so we take only what we need for the night upstairs. The hotel is also nice to reward you with two non alcoholic drinks if you are staying on the top floor. The hotel is clean and centrally located, we are right next to bus stop where we took the bus direct to airport, complimentary breakfast is very decent. I feel the customer service is excellent, staff would go extra mile helping me to mail back water bottles I left behind, I would definitely stay there again if I am in amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grace n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hotel is located very close to Leidseplein and museums which makes its location fabulous. Rooms are very nice and clean, with minimalistic equipment. Hotel's staff is its great advantage - they are all helpful and sympathetic (including MIMI - the cat) which makes pleasant atmosphere. Breakfests are more than enough.
One tip: be prepared for VERY thight and steep steps.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michał Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weil am Rhein
Level Contributor
149 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I am staying here for 5 nights. As a single traveller who is a light sleeper. The bottom floor room 1 is probably the worst if the tall Dutch woman was working in the morning (Aug 4th morning )It felt like there was a war upstairs. She dropped everything and slammed doors. You can hear everything that she made. When she walked, you felt the ceiling was going to come down. That how bad it was. It was just horrible. It would be impossible to sleep. If you are lucky, management will see this review and have a talk with her. If you are lucky, the others are working and you can ask them to be lighter. The staff over all were friendly. Good location.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank NatureGuyDECH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
377 House - Amsterdam
#49 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#83 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#24 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#59 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Boheme

Property: Hotel La Boheme
Address: Marnixstraat 415, 1017 PK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Boheme 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cosy 2-star hotel has been a popular venue already for many years thanks to its ideal location (near Leidseplein), friendly atmosphere and helpful multi-lingual staff. We have the Greenkey Gold certificate, that means we are an ecological friendly hotel. Conveniently situated in the centre of town, all the main attractions (van Gogh museum, Stedelijkmuseum, Rijksmuseum, Melkweg, Paradiso, Theater DeLaMar) are within walking distance. We always do our best to make you feel welcome. Our rooms range in size from singles to triples and provide you with a simple but comfortable place to rest. Our stairs might be steep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing