We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Campanile Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Campanile Amsterdam
Ranked #211 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Macau, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

My friend and I arrived hotel in early morning, we still couldn't check in by that time, we were too tired to move after a long flight so we just waited in the lobby, around an hour later, the staff told us we can get our room, we appreciated so much.

we love our room so much! having warm decoration, made us feel like living in our own room and nice view! heating in room and also bathrom. location was good for us too, metro Gaasperplas was just right next to hotel, it took around 30mins metro to reach to central amsterdam, we enjoy the silence there.

breakfast was good too, we had our breakfast during our stay (3 days), we love the variety of tea hotel provided. having breakfast in hotel made us feel very relaxed since the view outside was good! Will def. come back again next time!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twinniewu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    130
    87
    31
    14
See reviews for
44
151
12
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Muenster, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

I was in this hotel attracted by a very good offer in comparison with the average obtainable in Amsterdam. The hotel is located close to "Gasperplas" metro station (more or less 150 meters from a side entrance of the hotel) that is one of the two terminal stations of 53 red line. You can easily reach the other terminal station of the 53 red line (Amsterdam Central Station) in less than 25 minutes: metro trains are very frequent during duty hours and I had no problems during the weekend as well. The structure of the hotel recalls the typical American motel with windows and doors at different floors having view on a big parking lot. There are also rooms on the back of the building with view on a wonderful garden but we were not so lucky to get a room in the back and unfortunately two times over the weekend we have been waken up in the middle of the night by the horn of one of the several buses parked in front of the building. The room was not so big while the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was serviced only with a very old heater that worked only once (it has a timer that allows to use it for periods not longer than 15 minutes at a time); there was no hair dryer and although towels were clean and changed every day always had very light spots on them (not the usual sharp white I am used to find in the hotels). On the first day I asked the reception to have two additional pillows, to replace a bad bulb and to repair the bathroom's heater and after my first day in Amsterdam in the evening I discovered that no pillows had been provided, the heater had not been repaired and luckily only the broken bulb had been replaced. The furniture inside the room is very basic and old fashioned: there is no place where to put your baggage apart from the top space of the unique wardrobe and there is only one bedside table. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel also because it appeared really too expensive (12 Euros per person) and condition of common spaces was sometimes poor. Reception personnel were always kind and there is parking available for car (you should ask for a code to open the bar at the exit). The hotel has available a very fast and free wifi internet that has been really great and useful. Summing up, I recommend this hotel only if you want to save money to visit Amsterdam avoiding city centre and you are ready to accept a low level service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rino73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Kent, England
Level Contributor
411 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

We chose this because a) Campanile's are the devil we know and b) because we drove to Amsterdam for a 1 night / 2 day visit we wanted to park our car and hop on a metro to the city centre. This hotel met that criteria and were very obliging in allowing us to leave the car after checking out until we returned home.

The room and facilities were as you'd expect although there were signs of heavy usage in the room, the window blind mechanism was broken, but it was all we needed for a flying visit. A good buffet breakfast sets you up for a days sightseeing.

We would recommend this if visiting Amsterdam by car for value and convenience and the hotel sells the transport passes so you can literally check in, then walk over the road to the Metro which gets you to the centre in about 20mins.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

I was recently in Amsterdam and stayed at the Campanile. While the hotel is a twenty minute metro ride from downtown, the station is right next to the hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. In addition, the room was immaculate. Breakfast was substantial and very tasty. There is also a small bar in the lobby and it was nice to be able to have a drink after a long day.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beenaround30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rambla Aljibe
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

with prices in the Dam frightening I chose this hotel as it was half the price - as it is a little out of the way - but it is right next to the metro and about 10 mins into the centre - ate in the hotel and food was good and reasonably priced although if you want drinks I would bring them in and buy coke etc at the garage across the road (.5km) - I was there for football

Room Tip: take the tram (1.40 euro or day ticket even better) into centre its a lot cheaper and quiker than a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
381 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located outside amsterdam but at a 1 minute walk to the subway it is easy to be in the center of amsterdam in 30 minutes! This was very useful because on both nights the whole restaurant was booked out. this however led to some beautiful meals in amsterdam. at breakfast it was a similar problem with the restaurant being filled with incredibly rude pensioners and not enough seats.

The rooms are clean and a good size with each set along a balcony corridor as seems to be the norm with this chain. another plus is the secure free parking for guests.

The receptionists were a mixed bag. the younger ones were fairly rude while they were very helpful on the day we arrived. we had some problems with our car on the way there and i emailed them on our way. I got a very quick reply with directions and a number to a garage near the hotel.

A tip for the subway:
We stayed for 2 nights and went to amsterdam at 4pm for dinner and anne franks house. If you are there for this length buy a 2 day ticket which actually lasts 48 hours. we haf use the full day following this and the morning and afternoon of the third day.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G3ck0-Trav3ll3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#216 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#163 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Mercure Amsterdam Airport
#157 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#206 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#286 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
#196 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Amsterdam

Property: Campanile Amsterdam
Address: Loosdrechtdreef 3, 1108 AX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Louvre hotels, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Campanile Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Campanile Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Campanile Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing