We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms need renovation”
Review of Kooyk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kooyk Hotel
Ranked #227 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 5 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Rae392
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

+ great location - very close to Leidsplein and Vondelpark, nearby trams to all other parts of Amsterdam
+ very good prices - for a double bed room (booked 3 month in advance) we paid 26 E per night per person! Of course our room did not have balcony but the window faced other room's window)
+ helpful staff
+ clean bathroom and shower, fresh towels every day
+ free wifi (not always working, but generally ok)
- very steep stairs (can be a difficult to climb for people who have problem with walking)
- very claustrophobic toilet and rooms (not many place for other things than bed)
- 1 toiled and 2 shower per 5 rooms
- very loud in the morning so can be problem for people who would like to sleep-in

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agnieszkax0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Petr J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I booked this budget hotel as I wanted 'authentic' at a good price. Nice location on one of the smaller canals. It was what I expected - a bit tired, but clean and comfortable. The room was basic with a small portable tv and a washbasin. The excellent shower and the toilt were just outside in the hallway. The continental breakfast was lovely. I found most of the staff pleasant and helpful. Couldn't get WiFi to work, although I managed to use site of the theatre nearby!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We booked at Kooyk due to the competitive price, location and the fact breakfast was included. It was not an entirely faultless stay, but I am completely happy to overlook those nuances and would certainly stay again instead of playing pot luck and staying somewhere else in Amsterdam!

We booked a canal view room - when we arrived, we were told that on arrival we would have to change rooms after 1 night (3 night stay) - although slightly inconvenient, we were not majorly bothered by this as we had been given a discount to compensate and we were not intending on spending hours upon hours in the hotel - we wanted to see the city! As I say, the location is absolutely spot on (not right in the thick of tourist areas, but not too far away), excellent transport links and we had a lovely view of the canal as requested (in both rooms). Yes, there is some noise from passing pedestrians, cyclists etc. but this is a central city hotel, in a listed building - it is to be expected!

The refurbished rooms were perfectly clean and tidy, there was a fridge, a walk in shower which was fine, small but functional basin, wardrobe, TV with many channels, and clean towels provided. Honestly, for the money paid I fail to see how people can complain. The fact you have your own bathroom (if you pay for it), and breakfast included, the rate paid is very competitive compared to other guesthouses/B&Bs/hotels in the city. Bed was new & comfortable, and we did get a good night's sleep each night. You can occasionally hear other guests using the communal toilet/showers but again - a minor niggle in my eyes.

Breakfast was fine and a good start to the day - yes, the breakfast room was full on a couple of occasions as the hotel was fully occupied, but I guess the best approach here is to come down nice and early! Again - a minor inconvenience but not enough of a problem for me to spout reams and reams of prose on here about! Breakfast consisted of breads (and yummy chocolate spread!), cheese, eggs, meat, fruit salad, tea and coffee and also orange juice. Small bowls/cups to avoid waste but not a problem in my eyes. I think people have ideas of grandure, expecting 5* service at a guesthouse price.

Kooyk ticked all the boxes for me - great location, functional, clean, fine breakfast, great price. If you want to spend all your time in a hotel, pay out for a five star room. If you want affordability and a great base and place to put your head down for the night, stay here.

Room Tip: Go for a refurbished room, worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mat_would
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is rated one star but you could not get a friendlier hotel. The rooms are clean, have en-suite, fridge, and tv. It is within walking distance of Central station and the main attractions.
We have stayed here on a number of occasions and will return next time we visit the Netherlands.

Room Tip: We have stayed in a number of rooms both ground floor and first floor at front and found them to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieMei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Very good for a weekend getaway if you are there to visit and have fun and don't require much service. The location is amazing, walking distance from almost everything and the breakfast was also very good. We stayed in a family room for 5 and had an en suite bathroom but the toilet was on the corridor.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Larisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#187 of 373 in Amsterdam
275 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,106 reviews
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#222 of 373 in Amsterdam
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#77 of 373 in Amsterdam
914 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#99 of 373 in Amsterdam
4,042 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kooyk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kooyk Hotel

Address: Leidsekade 82, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £41 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Kooyk Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel in the centre of amsterdam.Typical canal house with spacious rooms, some ensuite and most are budget rooms with shared bathroom. The rate includes a dutch continental breakfast.We are located very near the van gogh museum and just walking distance from leidseplein.We have been 30 years established hotel owners.This building is a goverment historical listed building. From june 2013 we have eight new ensuite rooms with lovely new bathrooms, some are smaller than others and the price is adapted to the size of the room. We also offer low rates room only and our clients can buy breakfast if they wish.Our ground floor has been totally renovated as well as all our public bathrooms. We hope you will enjoy your stay at the kooyk hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kooyk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kooyk Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing