We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
Ranked #151 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I can only agree with the good things people have said about this hotel. Good location a few minutes walk from the centre and yet in a quiet side street so no noise. Very nicely decorated and maintained inside and very clean. Pleasant staff and a good continental breakfast with plenty choice. I had read that the rooms were small. We had a double and a twin room and whilst not the biggest of rooms each had a walk in wardrobe which was more than big enough for all our clothes and luggage. The en suite bathroom was bright and clean too. Room service made up our room each day whilst we were at breakfast. The large window in the rooms could be opened wide for fresh air. On our last day we weren't leaving until the afternoon. The manager kept our luggage in his office for us until we departed. Someone commented that there was no safe in the room - there was one in each of ours inside the walk in wardrobe. We would definitely stay here again and I have no hesitation in giving this hotel 5/5

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigrab2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    171
    76
    15
    3
See reviews for
79
120
43
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Nice relaxed hotel in a good area with easy access to city centre and De Pijp area. 5 minutes walk from Heiniken brewery and 10/ 15 into centre with good tram service also. Good breakfast and rooms were clean and well serviced. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rablitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were tidy and clean and there was even tea/coffee en suite. Breakfast was very good. If there was something missing, it was made available within short time. The hotel was perfectly located for us. There were several tram stations/lines just around the corner which made it easy for us to reach the city center, the central station and also the Museumsplein. Heineken Experience, Van Gogh museum, Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk Museum, Albert Cuyp Market and the Canal Bus could be easily reached even by foot within a quarter of an hour but also by tram.

Room Tip: For a couple: If available take the French double bed. We had two single beds put together and often...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niterói, Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Eu e minha família chegamos no Nicolaas Witsen "no susto", porque tivemos um problema com o outro hotel. Mesmo assim, foi uma grata surpresa, porque os atendentes eram simpáticos e supersolícitos, entendendo nossa situação e permitindo que fizéssemos o check-in ainda de manhã, já que havia quartos disponíveis. O hotel é bem localizado, perto de duas estações de bonde, que conecta os hóspedes a toda a cidade. É perto apenas da Heineken Experience e da Albert Cuypmarkt, mas sua localização central permite que não seja demorado chegar a qualquer outra atração de Amsterdã. O café da manhã é simples, mas bem gostoso. No balcão, é possível comprar o passeio de barco pelos canais com desconto. Recomendo bastante.

---

My family and I arrived at Nicolaas Witsen "in fright" because we had a problem with another hotel. Still, it was a pleasant surprise, because the attendants were friendly and solicitous, understanding our situation and allowing us to check-in yet in the morning, as there were rooms available. The hotel is well located, close to two tram stations, which connects guests to the entire city. It is only near the Heineken Experience and the Albert Cuypmarkt, but its central location makes it quick to get to any other attraction in Amsterdam. The breakfast is simple but very tasty. At the counter, you can buy the Canal Cruise with discount. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricardompfilho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2014

fantastic hotel with very kindly and helpfull staff.
breakfast was good with good coffee and tea!
Very good location, very quiet and the beds are excellent! Like to come again!!
Thanks for a very nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annemarie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Had a bit of a boutique pub feel without really having a pub. Decor had a bright fresh feel to it. Was a short walk from the tram and in a reasonably quiet side street.

A quaint lift is appreciated in lieu of lugging bags upstairs. Our room wasn't overly big but as we were out all day sight seeing, wasn't a problem.

Staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast good.

Would happily recommend as somewhere good to stay for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MataiWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. The hotel Was nice, not too far from the city centre. The rooms were nice end clean, a little bit small but no problem really. Breakfast was included and was decent. Also the staff members were all very friendly and helpful. Would stay again

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jodinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel Asterisk
#147 of 368 in Amsterdam
441 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#111 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,174 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#55 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#118 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,043 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#35 of 368 in Amsterdam
447 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#119 of 368 in Amsterdam
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicolaas Witsen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicolaas Witsen Hotel

Property: Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
Address: Nicolaas Witsenstraat 4-8, 1017 ZH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Nicolaas Witsen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nicolaas Witsen is a recently renovated hotel in a quiet street in the city centre of Amsterdam. Most of Amsterdam attractions/ sightseeings are within walking distance from our hotel. All rooms and public area's have free WiFi.We are ready to welcome you and promise you a wonderfull stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Nicolaas Witsen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nicolaas Witsen
Nicolaas Witsen Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing