We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”
Review of Rokin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rokin Hotel
Ranked #175 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
wigan
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

A party of us stayed at Rokin in February. What a little gem. We had a really nice spacious room on the front with good facilities. The hotel has a lift. Big plus in the Dam. Very good breakfast and just 2 minutes walk from Dam square. We would certainly return here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tirumasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    220
    129
    35
    12
See reviews for
44
183
45
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

My friends and I stayed at this hotel for a night in January. The rooms were comfortable and warm, a bit basic but good value. Breakfast is very basic with limited choices but adequate.
The first room we were assigned was on the 3rd floor but facing the back which I didn't like so I asked for a different room. The lady at reception handed me 3 or 4 different room keys and I got to choose which room I wanted out of the ones available so I was very happy about that.

Overall a good value stay and very central location :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Varshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

At November 2012 we where at Amsterdam for a weekend at the Rokin Hotel, this hotel is situated at Rokin ( name of the street ) wich is only 1 km of the Amsterdam central station and very close to the shopping streets and the malls. Madame Tussauds is just behind the corner and worth a visit. The Leidse plein ( square ) is the most popular square in the neighbourhood.
Breakfast was good and enough choice, coffee, thee, orange juise, chocolate milk and etc are available

Room Tip: Try to ask a room at the backside, the windows are made from single glass layers and with good weath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Spent the weekend with a couple of friends, great price right in the heart of Amsterdam - 5 minute walk from the central station and 3 minutes from the main shopping areas. room was clean and warm, breakfast was great. only problem was the club next door - friday night is a big night for them and it sounds as though the music is playing in the room.. if you can't beat them - join them! (:
sorry to say it's not handicapped friendly - high and narrow stairs, dinning hall is on the bottom floor (sort of underground), and although theu have a lift - it doesn't reach it.

all in all, if you're on a budget it's a good choice

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank didsbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2012

The hotel was perfect in everything despite the room size is small but it doesn't matter as when you are in Amsterdam you need a clean hotel with good service & the location & this hotel was perfect in thses three aspects.

Room Tip: there is some works on the street so to get a quite room you need to have it either on the 4th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Essam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed here on my first trip to Amsterdam. Will stay here again.

The location is perfect for anything you are there for. The rooms are small and the rooms on the back are a little dark but you use it as a base so that's fine.

The hotel staff were pleasant and couldn't do enough for you.

The breakfast was basic continental but what was provided was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurav5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

My husband and I have stayed in many budget hotels in Amsterdam, the Hotel Rokin is head and shoulders above the rest.
The on-line booking was straightforward, check in was easy and there was a lift which is unusual in Amsterdam.
Our double room was really warm and fairly spacious compared to other similar priced hotels in the area. The bed was comfy, the shower was hot, there is free wi-fi, hairdryer, TV and safe.
Downstairs is a lovely breakfast room with lots of choices, this is included in the price.
Location is perfect for all attractions, we would not hesitate to recommend Hotel Rokin and the staff

Room Tip: we stayed on the 3rd floor which appears to be newly decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joannebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#134 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,307 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#141 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#292 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#188 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
#207 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#107 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rokin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokin Hotel

Property: Rokin Hotel
Address: Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rokin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rokin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokin Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing