We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, will return next time i go to Amsterdam”
Review of Rokin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rokin Hotel
Ranked #164 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 17 May 2010

The Rokin Hotel is one of the best 3* hotels ive stayed in in Amsterdam and for the price you wont find better in this city. I booked a single room ( not normally advisable in Amsterdam) and i was pleasantly suprised by its size and the execllent bathroom. The hotel was spotless all over, the staff were helpful and friendly,and the real bonus was the inclusive breakfast which was first class and would normally have cost another 20-30 euros in most other hotels. All round a really pleasant stay and I would recommend The Rokin to anyone looking for mid budget accomodation.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2009

Good connections, Rokin side rooms lite noisy, but it just midle of town.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KulkijaHki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

My wife and I went for our honeymoon to Curacao, Netherlands Antilles with a 2 night stopover in Amsterdam. We found the Rokin on the internet. Followed the instructions given on the site, and we got there on foot from the Central Station in 15 minutes.
Small, clean rooms, private bathroom indowntown Amsterdam. You can go for a walk and visit the city centre from the Van Gogh museum to the Red Light District on foot.. The canal boat stop is just 50 m. from the entrance. Nice service, breakfast was great.
The hotel is great for travellers who are looking for a place to sleep, with more than basic needs.
Transylvanian Travellers

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triple S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

The hotel is right a short walk from Dam Sq. It's clean and brekfast is good. and it's just what you need to start your long day. There's also a car park in the nearby if you're travelling by car. train station is 5 min away by bus. the rokin hotel is what you deserve to enjoy amsterdam. next to there's an irish pub which serves good dishes.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mellyscookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 9 September 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 April 2009

I paid €110 to stay at the Rokin, based mpostly on the reviews from Tripadvisor. Either most of the hotels in Amsterdam - around Centraal Station - are really bad, or this one was over-rated. Certainly not a gem. I purchased a double room (Room 18), because A'dam has such a rep for tiny single bedrooms, and my window looked out to another building 10 feet away, on 3 sides, with a domed window below, No view AT ALL! Well, you could see the sky if you looked up. The room itself was tiny - I had to keep moving a chair around because it either blocked the closet or the pathway to the door. No individual controls of the lights - if you wanted to just read in bed you had to do so with all of the lights on in the room. The bed was ok, although a bit soft. Breakfast was your typical Euro-buffet, except that the sterno had gone out and the eggs & bacon got cold. The "waitress" didn't monitor it, and when I brought it to her attention she fixed me some fresh eggs - scorched - and microwaved the bacon that'd gotten cold - tasted like rubber. TV was a mixture of BBC, Skynews, CNN, a german channel or two, and some Dutch, but there was nothing that I wanted to watch while I was there. The one particularly stand out thing was the free wifi in the room.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Curt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

We chose the Rokin based on the recommendations here and weren't disappointed. We arrived early, 9.30 in the morning, and were given a room straight away even though check in is normally 3pm. The room was small, but comfortable, on the front side of the hotel: the trams can be noisy but it isn't intrusive. We didn't get up in time to try breakfast but it did smell good. The location, midwaydown Rokin towards the flower market can't be faulted: the hotel is close to all the central tourist areas and just across the street from the main shopping street. There are lots of bars and restaurants nearby and the Red Light District is a couple of blocks away.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 737av8tor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#129 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,427 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#130 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,047 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#297 of 373 in Amsterdam
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#192 of 373 in Amsterdam
811 reviews
Centrum
Best Western Dam Square Inn
Best Western Dam Square Inn
#140 of 373 in Amsterdam
842 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
#205 of 373 in Amsterdam
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rokin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokin Hotel

Address: Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £112 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rokin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, HostelWorld, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rokin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokin Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing