We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but seems overpriced”
Review of Rokin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rokin Hotel
Ranked #165 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not bad but seems overpriced”
Reviewed 20 June 2007

The location of Hotel Rokin is excellent. You are less than 10 minutes by foot from Central Station, a couple of minutes from the Red Light District, and 20 minutes walk from Leidseplein.

As other have mentioned substantial roadwork is going on outside - or was back in March. It was the weekend and I didn't notice any noise or even work activity so it wasn't a problem accept it was a bit awkward walking round the construction to get to the front of the
hotel from the other side of the road.

The staff were all friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was better than most economy hotels in Amsterdam.

The room was awfully narrow but that's not uncommon in Amsterdam. At least it was well kept and clean.

The shower was almost useless. Getting a warm water shower was very difficult. A scolding hot or freezing cold one is no problem!

I've stayed in lots of hotels in Amsterdam over the years. This one isn't the best but it's also far from the worst. But even considering
that it's not as bad as others I've stayed in the price gap between Rokin and the others seemed out of whack. It seems to be about 15 or 20 euro too much per night. Maybe that's why I was able to get a weekend room at the last minute. normally difficult to do in that area of Amsterdam.

That said, I'd stay here again. But I'd look around for a cheaper place before settling for this one.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    228
    131
    35
    12
See reviews for
45
190
46
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
C.M.X
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2007

this hotel is fairly good apart from a VERY VERY NOISY street at night and day with roadworks going on. i wouldnt stay here again unless i was guaranteed a quiet room at the back of the building, Otherwise , the hotel is well run and clean, and the breakfast is good. if you are walking to the hotel from dam square at night beware of junkies hanging around the archway leading to rokin (street) .

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — terribly noisy night and day
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank benmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2007

When we arrived at the hotel it turned out that they would not accept payment through our, generally accepted, Dutch giromaat pass. The receptionist demanded money in advance and sent me off to the post office to withdraw the full amount for the stay and walk back with it. Good job I know Amsterdam quite well!
We mentioned this to the senior receptionist who was on duty when we left and she was totally aghast. We had planned never to return, but since the hotel was really nice, the rooms spotless and the breakfast very ample (smoked salmon and lots of different meats etc) and because we got a very full apology about the receptionist who wouldn't budge, we wouldn't mind going back. We too thought that the price was a little on the high side.
One other difficulty was that we could not open a window. Probably most people would not want to open a window at the front, but we find sleeping with closed windows totally unacceptable. The receptionist told us it was going to freeze that night and that we would get ill, but we took the chance and opened the window and shoved a book under it.

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — The first receptionist and we couldn't open a window
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liesbeth56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2007

The hotel is in a good location, not far from Dam Square. The rooms are fine, breakfast adequate. However, I thought it was a bit overpriced for what it was.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Overpriced
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2007

Probably the best thing about this hotel is it's location, less than a five minutes walk from Dam Square.

I was travelling solo for one night so found this place to be ideal, generally basic and functional. My room (19) had a single bed and was clean, TV etc but no hot drinks making kit, but that's not the end of the world, you very much get what you pay for and as this was just a place to kip I wasn't too fussy. The bathroom was fine and clean with a shower (no bath). Oddly the windows in the bedroom were too far up the wall to see out of, so I can't tell you about the view.

The breakfast, which was included in the price was quite good really, cereals, bacon and scrambled egg, toast, fruit, cheese etc. tea/coffee, juice etc. Very welcome it was too.

I was in Amsterdam to smoke at my favourite coffee shops and sparked up a couple in the room without any difficulty, so if you're in the city for a smoke etc then I didn't have any trouble doing so here (although of course it may not be hotel policy so just be sensible about it!)

So all in all, the entire place is functional rather than flash or luxurious, but if you want a good, budget, well located, clean hotel with friendly helpful staff then this is the place for you.

I booked through bookings.nl and paid E105 for a single room for one night.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank PJMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exxmouth in Devon, England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2007

Stayed here for four nights 4-8th February. Traveling solo, I got Room 28, with a double bed, shower and toilet. Spotlessly clean, warm, and whilst pretty tight for space if all you want to do is have somewhere clean and dry to stop overnight, then this place is just the job. It is ten minutes walk from the Central Station, itself an easy and cheap (3.60 euros) ride from Schipol. Just come straight out of the station, and go down the main drag to Dam Square, across the Square bearing slightly left and carry on and the hotel is on the LHS marked out with an uninspiring lit sign. In fact, seeing this my heart sank a bit, but the inside is much much better than the outside, and reception is fine, the staff helpful, (happily kept cases on the last day to 1800hrs) and the room was - as previously mentioned - fine unless you want to swing a cat. There was a TV that got CNN and BBC, plus a load of other channels, and a safe in the room too. The only downside for some (though I couldn't care less) is that the view was a non-event over roofs and service ducts etc - but I travel to get out and about, so no problem there for me! Breakfast is included, and was a comprehensive collection of breads, meats, cheese, cereals, fruit, fruit juices, with the hot element considting of scrambled egg, and fairly crispy bacon. Not cordon bleu stuff, but all I wanted, and set me up for the day to dinner. The location is great, in fact could hardly be bettered really, with everything within a half-hour walk for the reasonably fit, and loads of stuff within a few minutes. Didn't bother with the trams - by the time you've figured out which one goes where and then waited for it, you might as well walk. In conclusion, if you are aiming to have a good look round Amsterdam without spending a fortune, the Rokin is just the job!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Fly-by-Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2006

Stayed here after I had reached my limit with hostel accommodation (sometimes its just great to come back and crash in your own room). I chose the hotel primarily due to its location - close to the heart of bustling Amsterdam and the red light district - and its reasonable prices.

My room was on the top floor, the elevator took you to floor 3 and then you walked a short flight of stairs to reach the final floor. The room itself was small - but as a solo traveller this was fine. I am not sure how the room size would suit a couple, however.
They may use alternate rooms for double occupancy.

Bed was comfortable and bathroom, whilst compact, was adequate. I found that despite the hotels location off a busy road, that there was minimal traffic noise.

I was happy with my stay here and as I was catching a train back to the airport the following day was appreciative of the close proximity to the station.

Very little to criticise, pleasant stay in reasonably priced and reasonably presented accommodation.

  • Liked — Great location and clean comfy rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing not to like, nothing to really rave about
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank christalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#134 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,362 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#136 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,017 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#292 of 367 in Amsterdam
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#184 of 367 in Amsterdam
794 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#110 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,192 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rokin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokin Hotel

Property: Rokin Hotel
Address: Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rokin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rokin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokin Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing