We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location. Great Value”
Review of Hotel Iron Horse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Iron Horse
Ranked #28 of 331 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice location. Great Value”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The hotel location is really nice, just some meters from the Leidseplein Square from where you can take buses directly to the airport (line 197) and take the most part of Amsterdam Trams Lines. It’s also possible to access the Amsterdam Central Area walking, enjoying this amazing city.
In a city where the most part of hotels are really expensive, the Iron Horse could be considered a great value hotel and a nice surprise. The room size was good with carpet on floor. You have a renovated bathroom and good internet wi-fi signal.
The bed is very soft and may be a problem for people not adapted with this kind of bed. Need some improvement in the room cleaning, mainly on the carpet under the bed. Probably just some lack of attention of the hotel maid..
Breakfast is not included in the standard rate, but you have two supermarkets very close to the hotel where you can buy your own breakfast and also the famous Dutch stroopwalfles.
Prepare yourself to pay the hotel rates at the checkin moment. To access the hotel suites, there is a gate beside the reception, so it’s not necessary to pass thru the reception desk to access your room.
The staff is very accessible and friendly. Due to this hotel configuration, expect for a little interaction with them during your staying. Probably you'll just meet them during checkin and checkout moments. This is a very good option for independent people.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dudujeunon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    363
    123
    37
    27
See reviews for
96
337
45
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vinhedo, SP
Level Contributor
191 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I went to Amsterdam with my fiancée to spend 2014 NYE. When we entered the room, we found some problems and asked the staff to fix it or to move us to another room.
As the problem couldn't be solved quickly, they gave us another room, very cozy and more comfortable.
Very friendly staff.
Very well located hotel, near public transportation and touristic attractions.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms with access to the backyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRentel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Hotel Iron Horse is a converted, old police station. In fact, you can still recognize the stable outside of the building, where the police horses were kept; once upon a time.

I have been traveling from New York to Amsterdam every year, for about 8 years now. I have stayed a number of times at the Sheraton outside of Schiphol, but kept finding myself having to take a 50 euro taxi ride from business meetings and dinners in Leidseplein.

Three years ago I thought that I would give the Iron Horse a try.

I couldn't of been more delighted with my choice. The rooms are small, but comfortable. The staff is pleasent and helpful. The food, crowds and entertainment of Leidseplein are just a few meters away, yet I never hear any of it from my hotel room.

Transportation via a number of different tram lines are readily available and the most affordable way to travel through Amsterdam. Many attractions are within walking distance of the hotel as well.

I strongly recommend this hotel. I stay for business, but would gladly stay for a vacation as well.

Room Tip: No lift available in the hotel. The stairs are also very steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Unfortunately I only got to stay here one night, however it was a great place to stay and centrally located in Liedseplein. Everything was in walking distance, which made it easy to navigate. Hotel Iron Horse was once a police station and has now become a hotel. The rooms are clean and simple, and the bathroom (which personally is the most important part of a room) was extremely clean and modern. The hotel seems to be very small, but it end of being a maze to find your room, and when you might have had one too many.... not so easy to find ones room. The standard room (which I stayed in) is very small- not a lot of room for two people. And I did notice that noise leaks in, not very sound proof. It wasn't that bad, but just a helpful note. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theRusticBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

A bare-bones establishment with small, modern rooms, convenient to Liedseplein and Museumplein and only one tram ride from Central Station. Some noise leaks in from adjacent rooms, but nothing too disruptive. Decent water pressure and the shower isn't too complicated to operate. Good restaurants in the area. And the staff aims to please. Warning: no elevator, and you have to go downstairs to the breakfast room (7.5 Euros/day for a basic continental breakfast).

Room Tip: Rooms in the back require that you traverse an open-air courtyard, but they're also isolated fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slsiege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed for 3 nights in this hotel and loved it! We got to the hotel at 1.30pm and was able to check in early. We had a lovely room on the ground floor (108) with 2 single beds and en suite bathroom with a shower. It was a reasonably spacious room with a safe to put our valuables in and the beds were so comfortable we didn't want to get out of bed! There is a hot drinks machine in reception that is available 24 hours a day and it's free! Best hot chocolate in dam! This hotel is really good value for the price we paid and is in a good location. If you walk just round the corner it's a quite lively area with bars, restaurants, shops and coffee shops but you can't hear anything in the hotel. The number 1 tram goes right past the hotel but we walked it on our first day and was only about a 20 minute walk to the centre of dam. Also, just round the corner we hired a pedalo and had fun taking a trip down the canal! The staff at the hotel were all nice and friendly! Honestly couldn't complain about anything at the iron horse and would defiantly recommend!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dora89_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
293 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Moderately priced , it is well located near a tram line which makes commuting very easy . You can walk to Leidesplein , Van Gogh Museum ,Rijkts museum and Vondel Park . Breakfast is provided on payment of 7.5Euros. There are a lot of eateries nearby and a “super Markt” where you can buy everthing you need for your meals. The room is not very large but the bathroom is spacious. The staff is friendly . There is no lift but we were given a ground floor which made it suitable for us. I particularly liked the theme of the hotel which was “Horses” . The hotel is on a busy street but if you get a room in the second bilding you are not disturbed at all . I must mention that the taxi driver who was called in by the receptionist played some lovely Bollywood songs the moment he came to know that we were from India . He was a very friendly Dutchman !!!

Room Tip: Take a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kakati_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#119 of 367 in Amsterdam
856 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#138 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,406 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#160 of 367 in Amsterdam
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#117 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,043 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
#57 of 331 in Amsterdam
484 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Allure
Hotel Allure
#56 of 331 in Amsterdam
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iron Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iron Horse

Property: Hotel Iron Horse
Address: Overtoom 33, 1054 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Iron Horse 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Iron Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing