We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location.”
Review of The Amstel

The Amstel
Book In Advance
More Info
US$18.26*
and up
Highlights of Amsterdam Sightseeing Cruise
Ranked #27 of 503 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Beautiful location.”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

If you've not tried it before walk to Amstel (15 minutes from Dam Square). This place is quiet and has several pretty bridges. There are also plenty of places to eat & drink. these are all located close to the Amstel.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 007Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    695
    539
    89
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
326 reviews
314 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Nice area”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Nice area, you won't miss it: the biggest canal is amstel. There are some nice bridges above it and of course closer to city center it's full of bars/cafes/etc.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rvs-ru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Amstel by Boat Tour: Nap Time”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I suppose the experience of touring the canals depends on the particular boat tour you take. My advise: take one where they offer something to eat or drink to take the edge off the slow slow slow long long ride that is slower than my grandmother's leisure stroll. My tour had that personal touch of a recorded broadcast in that announced, "To the right is the mayor's home," in 287 different languages—and throughout the 30 foot ride beside the home, you get to hear every translation. Yes. It is that slow. High point: half way through the tour, I sailed by several local hipsters were having a party on a docked boat, one of whom mooned us. WELL DONE!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobynAla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
996 reviews
453 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,109 helpful votes
“Heart of the City”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Amstel river runs through Amsterdam and it is hard to miss. Anybody who walks around or takes a boat ride around Amsterdam will come across it. Numerous canals link to it, if you want a scenic boat tour of Amsterdam the smaller canals are more picturesque.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank AvidTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Canal trip worth a relaxing journey”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

After walking for ages we stopped and got on canal trip for only 10€ it was a nice break and we saw some beautiful sites as it was a lovely day

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ree272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Amstel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Amstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing