We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a jewelry store. Don't fall for the museum label.”
Review of Coster Diamonds

Coster Diamonds
Book In Advance
More Info
US$48.74*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
More Info
US$10.36*
and up
Skip-the-Line: Diamond Museum Amsterdam Admission Ticket
More Info
US$15.23*
and up
30 Minute Private Diamond Tour from Amsterdam
Ranked #94 of 406 Tours in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Diamond factory since 1840.
Reviewed 19 May 2014

When we got off the tram we saw the Coster "museum" and it said free admission so we thought why not. At first it was okay, the first 10 minutes was a diamond polishing exhibit. Then the "tour guide" said let me show you the showrooms and then we realized it was a scam to get you into a jewelry store. Jewelry was not on our shopping list so we tried to leave but the exit led to an adjoining building that was another museum. We thought we were trapped but found our way out.

2  Thank Traveler_McGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosterDiamonds_Rob, Guest Relations Manager at Coster Diamonds, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Traveler_McGee,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We value the opinions of our visitors and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

We are a museum and a diamond factory where we also sell jewelry. The museum is actually in the last building and by reading your review i think you went in the first. However, the fact you felt pressured by our staff is unacceptable and not the way we usually deal with visitors.

I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so if you are ever in Amsterdam again or if you are willing to contact us it would help us a lot.

We hope to see you again in the future and give you the experience you deserve.

Thank you and all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
There are newer reviews for Coster Diamonds
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

198 - 202 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

A ticket for the Diamond Museum cost 15€ per pers. and you see nothing more than you can find easily on the Internet. Then you get a free entrance to Coster Diamonds, where the only interesting thing to be seen is how they polish the diamonds. The main purpose is to entice you to buy one (this is where they excel, they have a large variety of stones and within minutes you can walk away with less money than you had in your account when you came in)

My advice: skip it (especially if you are with your wife/fiancee/girlfriend)

Thank Baunataler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosterDiamonds_Rob, Manager at Coster Diamonds, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Baunataler,

Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate you taking the time out to give the feedback and it's a shame it didn't live up to your expectations. We have aprox. 400000 visitors a year and although we mostly get good feedback, we do appreciate your comments because we want to make sure everybody loves it. So if you ever here again and you have the time, please come by and we might see how we can improve your experience.

On a different note: The cost of the a ticket is not € 15 a person but € 8,50 a person. So maybe something went wrong there as well. And if you are in the diamond museum you can purchase tickets for the van gogh and rijksmuseum as well, which has the added benefit of skipping the lines. (which can be very long).

Thanks again for your feedback and i hope the rest of your stay im Amsterdam was great!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A free tour of a diamond polishing centre. Fascinating for us all, expecially the children. Learned a lot about diamonds.

Thank Alison923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosterDiamonds_Rob, Manager at Coster Diamonds, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

It´s always nice to read these great reviews. Thank you so much for taking the time for your kind words. We hope to meet you again in the future and hope you had a great time in Amsterdam :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Having visited Gassans a couple of days before we were disappointed in the lack of attention shown on our arrival here and had to wait ten minuets before any staff showed up. Viktor then gave us a talk which lasted about five minuets and then you are left to just do your own thing. Not much to see really so glad it was free.

1  Thank Bigshirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

A little bit of a sales pitch but as its free it was not too much or pressured. Interesting and you get up an personal to some large diamonds.

1  Thank Geoff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coster Diamonds also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Coster Diamonds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing