We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, clean and friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Ranked #107 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Modern, clean and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

My friends and I visited Amsterdam the weekend before Queen's Day. Most hotels only accepted reservations of at least five nights so we had to look for hotels a bit farther from city centre, even if it was only a 6 minute ride on the train.
We were not disappointed. We booked a private room for four and it was better than many hotels I've stayed. Clean, modern and the staff was fantastic, specially their bar manager.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, 5 August 2016
Hello,
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    760
    234
    57
    63
See reviews for
429
191
163
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
152 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

It's a young & modern & upgraded youth hostel.

Reception is always packed & probably understaff. The rate is very competitive.

Housekeeping standard is not very good. No vacuum cleaning throughout our stay (3 nites).

Ground floor has a huge common area with cooking areas (utensils, bowls & plates) & long dining tables + benches (like a cafeteria), with free WIFI.

The room is modern basic no-frills. Not the best furnish, yet much better than usual youth hostel. Strange hotel entrance (next to long stairs) and not the most easy to find. Looks more like a commercial building than a hotel.

Public transportation (bus & metro) reachable (5-10min walk)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ambambamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, 5 August 2016
Hello,
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

The hotel, in a business district, is basically a youth hostel. The room was small, but clean, bathroom was really good, but all the rest was a big rip-off. Insufficient reception staff and elevators, thus long waiting times, which is annoying when being on a business trip. The "bar" and "breakfast room" were youth hostel style, with self service, beer from bottles, and at breakfast one had to eat at dirty tables and take the dirsty dishes away.

I have never before stayed in a youth hostel for 142 EUR/night, breakfast excluded.

And I will never again stay in a Meininger hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 66Gaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, 5 August 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment. We are sad to hear that you had problems with this in your room. The rooms are treated every month in a preventive matter. If we host guests that carry those between two treatments, its complicated for us to fight the case. Fortunately, you warned us soon enough. Still, we are glad that everything has been taken care of when it occurred. If you need more help with this, don't hesitate to email us. Have a good day.
The Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Staff is great! They speak perfect English so you don't have to explain yourself a lot! Rooms are clean. We were in a 4-bed dorm and everything was nice. I really loved it that is is exactly next to Sloterdjik train station and you don't have to walk long to the room in the evening after a long day of roaming around. (the ticket from Sloterdjik to Amsterdam CEntraal is 2.10 euro/1 way). The lobby bar is great place to hang around- there are big tables so you can seat 10 people at one table. There is even a guest kitchen- fully equipped, so you can cook if you don't want to eat out. The only negative thing I can point out- the toilet was in the middle of the room, next to my bed and it was quite noisy when you flush it :):)
Definitely worth the money, it is more like e hotel than like a hostel. Will stay there again!,

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mirencetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, 5 August 2016
Hello,
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

The only downside with this hotel is the location - it's well out of the city centre, but it's two minutes from Station Sloterdijk - where you can get a tram (35 mins), bus (20 mins) or train (5 mins) to the centre.

The rooms are spacious and clean, with plenty of plug sockets - an essential for any visitor! The lockers are a bit small, but that's the only fault of the hotel itself. The bathrooms are, dare I say it, trendy. The lifts are speedy (good if you're on the 6th floor), and half the hotel looks over the railway line - the trains aren't that noisy, they're all electric.

Reception are the salt of the earth, ready to help - day or night - with everything from tranport advice, to the price the locals pay for a joint, to trying to track down lost medication. Really, these guys are awesome.

This hostel is pricier than most, but you're getting hotel quality rooms for that (even the bunks are essentially two separate beds built on to the wall!).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrBahweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, 5 August 2016
Hello,
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

This is a 'smoke free' hotel. We stayed for 2 nights, the room is clean and comfortable. But the double room is a little bit small, the triple room has 4 beds. It's near to the Sloterdijk train station, 7 minutes to Amsterdam Central station. If you come with car, you can park the car behind the hotel (a parking area with "P+R" sign) and get 4 tickets to Amsterdam Central (return ticket) for free, first you take a parking ticket and go in to park the car, then show the ticket to a person in a locket, then you will get the free train tickets. The hotel staffs are mostly friendly. The wifi passwords are in a basket on the reception table. Overall, this is a good hotel in Amsterdam, recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank veronica_vania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, 5 August 2016
Hello,
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Yes it has 'hostel vibes', yes it is not right in the city centre, but for our family of four it was a great place to stay to see Amsterdam for four days. The hotel is very clean, smart and well run. Some reviews suggest the rooms are small. We disagree; we have stayed in far pokier, conventional hotels. It was also quiet in the rooms and ambiently friendly down in the communal areas. It would suit all types of traveller equally.

Sloterdijk station (2 mins walk) is ten minutes from the centre by train (dozens of trains each hour) and about twenty minutes by tram. You can also hire Mac Bikes from the hotel. For the same money we could have stayed in a much smaller, downmarket city centre hotel and we are glad we didn't.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, 5 August 2016
Hello,
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#146 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Volkshotel
#42 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#64 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#101 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Urban Lodge Hotel
#46 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Property: MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Address: Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing