We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and feel fresh!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Ranked #120 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable and feel fresh!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I had been in Holland for 4 days 3 nights and stayed in this hotel. It's very closed to the station and reasonable price. The staffs were very friendly and all necessary stuffs are in your room!
And if you want to meet young people around the world, here is one of good choices! However, if you are a nightlife walker, I don't recommend due to you have to take night bus getting back from Centraal station.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thitikorn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, 6 August 2016
Hello,
Thank you for the review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    788
    248
    65
    68
See reviews for
455
196
167
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I was there for 3 nights at late September. The hotel is placed near a major train station. The stuff was friendly, but slow to respond. Clean and warm rooms. Easy to access wifi. The breakfast is Ok. What I found useful is the combined offers to visit museums and sightseeings in the city. Also, you can easily rent a bike. As an overall impression I would say that I recommend this hotel as a clever choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria_Ghiata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, 6 August 2016
Hello,
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kl-ite in Malaysia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed in a single room. Small, very clean and new. Toilet is quite big for such a small room and was nice with liquid soap, towel and hair dryer. Liked that there was sufficient landing space in the toilet for all my women toiletries. Can't open my luggage bag (was in Amsterdam 7 days so quite a big bag) without blocking up the walkway to the door. Once luggage bag was opened, I couldn't go out the door! Wifi was very strong all over and free. Staff at reception very friendly and helpful. Sloterdijsk station 5 mins up a flight of stairs. From the station, you can take bus 48, tram or train to central station. Took the bus to central station, took 15 mins - €2.80 per hour unlimited rides on bus and tram lines. Took the train to Zaanse Schanse for the windmills - very easy, few stops away only, abt 15 mins ride. Cost €4.90 round trip. Not much to eat around though as surrounded by office blocks. My room faced the train tracks but it wasn't too noisy, quite well insulated.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, 6 August 2016
Hello,
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Only stayed here for 1 night whilst travelling with work so it was a cheap option. The train Station is 1 minute walk from the hotel and you can be at main central station in under 10 minutes.

Bar was reasonably priced and they have vending machines too.

Immaculate, stylish, no frills hotel with great service.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannahalicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, 6 August 2016
Hello,
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

That's the place for you if you have a car with you. Don't even try to park the car in Amsterdam or find a hotel with a car parking for reasonable price. The hotel is new. Big rooms and bathrooms, very reach brekfast. Full of young people. Easy access to city center by train (5m) or merto/bus (15m). Nice restuarant opposit to HolidayInn Express close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tomto147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, 6 August 2016
Hello,
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Being right next to the metro/tram/intercity station means this hotel is 5 mins from Amsterdam Centraal, 10 mins from Schiphol and convenient for all the city tourist attractions by tram. It's certainly not in the city centre, but with Amsterdam's excellent public transport network, it might as well be. They'll even rent you a bike if you want to get around under your own steam.

The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly, my single room was certainly very small but it had everything I needed. The bed was comfortable, the air conditioning and free wifi worked just fine. Even though the train station was right outside my window, I wasn't disturbed by the noise. There was a good range of food for breakfast in the bright, clean, canteen-style, self-clear restaurant. I really liked this place.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, 6 August 2016
Hello,
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Clean, modern, very close to the train station, helpful staff and delicious breakfast !! If you are going to Amsterdam with your family, friends or solo, I highly recommend staying at Meininger Hotel Amsterdam City West!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariquitina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, 6 August 2016
Hello,
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#146 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Volkshotel
#40 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#74 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#98 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Property: MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Address: Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing