We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many positives, one small negative”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Ranked #107 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The cost of accommodation in the centre of Amsterdam put us off going for some time so when i saw 3 night for about £400 (I've added the cost of breakfast) for 4 of us i wasn't expecting the Crowne Plaza. However, the room was clean, comfy and warm, if a little cosy, the location was ace - less than 15 minutes door to room from Yu's Family Kitchen in the centre of town, via Central Station, the food was still too hot to eat - and we didn't experience any of the noise/disturbance that a busy hotel can attract.
Checking in/out was simple, although the SatNav tried to take me down a road that may have existed prior to the hotel being built, you can buy your travel passes and city passes on site and yes, the free Wi-Fi kept the kids quiet.
The only downer was trying to get breakfast at 09:30 on the first morning. The breakfast room was heaving, but we did manage it. The following two mornings we ate at about 8 and had no issues whatsoever.
The number 12 tram will take you to the museums, although not in to the centre of the city, and the 48 bus takes about 20 minutes to the middle of town. 2.10 Euros each way for the train (every 5 minutes or so, journey time about 5 minutes too) isn't too bad if time is precious.
If you are on a budget, or simply don't want to stay in the city itself, then you should seriously consider this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2016

Hello,
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,972)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

798 - 804 of 1,972 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

Extremely disappointing service!!!

I work in a travel agency and phoned the reservations dpt to ask for room rates for a client.
Was given a room rate, requested to reserve a room one day later and was given a higher rate.

I then requested them to confirm if the cheaper rate I received the day before was still valid and they said yes.

Right after I sent them my request to proceed with the booking and the next morning I get a different rate again! And a comment that the "rate has changed over the night".
They did not even bother to excuse themselves or answer my question on WHY it changed, when I had sent them a booking request exactly after they confirmed the original rate.

Unprofessional behavior, unacceptable!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madelen_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2016

Hey,

We are sad to read that you felt tricked booking with us. As a worker of a travel agency and not really a guest, we would just answer by letting you know that without a guarantee payment, we are unable to book or block a room for someone, and that -of course-, the rates change when not booked on time. Why? Because we follow the market prices. In case you need any extra explanation, feel free to contact us.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We were six students who looked for a cheap accommodation in Amsterdam so the Meininger hotel was a great choice for us. The atmosphere is young, the hotel is very modern and close to transportation. I must say that although the hotel was full of young people, I didn't hear any noise in my room. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and willing to help. I'll probably will come back if I'll look for a cheap accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gulu82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2016

Hello,
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Very very expensive for what is basically a hostel but sold as a hotel. Over £200 for two very small cabin rooms for one night only. None of what you would expect from a hotel. No phone in room, no kettle or refreshments, and very little room to manoeuvre. The situation is perfect next to the Sloderdijk station, but for what the night cost, one would have expected much more.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2016

Hello,
Thank you for the review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Throughly enjoyed my stay here! It has everything that you would need while on holiday. Room was spacious with 2 single beds and a double decker. Would prefer to have the toilet and shower area was combined but being separated has its benefits.

Lobby was spacious and can hold big groups for discussion or to eat. Managed to use the washing machine and dryer, also stored food in the common fridge and even played giant chess outside the hotel.

Noise level was acceptable, could sleep soundly at night. Location wise, was only 10 mins from Centraal, so it was a wonderful base for our trip, plus you get the peace and quietness at night. Safe environment too!

Super friendly staffs, always willing to help. Overall, this place is perfect for friends, family and solo travellers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshlwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2016

Hello,
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Nice modern hotel but full of teenagers who unfortunately run riot around the hotel. Party rooms & kids knocking on doors.
Shame as hotel is clean and functional but I'll stay elsewhere next time
However the rooms are big and have everything you need, great business location just too noisy from the guests.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank aleese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2016

Hello,
Thank you for the review. We are sorry that your stay with us weren't as nice as you wished. Please feel free to contact us to let us know the details we could improve to make it better the next time!
Best,
The Meininger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Great hotel, very young visitors, friendly and helpful staff. Would recommend this. Only a 5-minute train ride away from Amsterdam city centre. Breakfast was too crowdy and not enjoyable, but very cheap. Next to Amsterdam Sloterdijk railstation, perfectly isolated so no noise pollution. all in all a great experience. Also a big plus on the wifi!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenD976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2016

Hello,
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Blue Square
#163 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,011 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,976 reviews
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
#154 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Address: Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £50 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing