We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Ranked #116 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very impressive for the price”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

A colleague booked this hotel for our overnight business trip but when I heard how much they paid (33 Euros from memory), I assumed the worst. However I was pleasantly surprised...the room was small but clean.
The most impressive part was the excellent bathroom (well, shower room), which looked brand new and something out a 4*.

Located right next to the train station, it is only 15 mins to Schiphol airport and not far from Amsterdam Central.

In the bar area, left in a bowl, you can obtain free Wifi access codes that give you a few days access (take one per device) - a great value add for a hotel of this price.

Although the snacks are limited, the reception staff recommended a local takeaway and arranged delivery.

The breakfast was great, with plenty of choices from cereal to yoghurt...to cheese...plenty of coffee on tap as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuzzMan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    811
    259
    67
    70
See reviews for
476
200
170
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Very clean, haven't seen any bed bugs; quite helpful staff. Hotel is about 30mins away from Schiphol airport by bus, and about 15-20mins on the train. Its a big hotel with lots of rooms and dorms - both mixed and female. Free wi-fi and a lovely cafe.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my friends and group of students for three nights. The rooms were not luxurious but the breakfast was great. The staff was very helpful, I'd love to stay in other hotels of this chain.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keke16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We arrive in Schipol Airport at 8AM and take the train to Sloterdijk from that station is only 2minute walking distance, very convenience and easy. We have to wait to check in until 3pm and it was very tired since we have travel from London early in the morning. For visitor that choice this hotel make sure you arrive here almost 3pm or later as their check in time is late. Our booking is for triple room but granted quad room, more space. They have left baggage facility is convenience for those have big bag. From this hotel you can take bus or train to Amsterdam Central is only 5 minute by train to Amsterdam Central.
The breakfast that serve is value for money cost us Euro 5.90 per-person all you can eat, is buffet breakfast. Room is very clean and spaces for the price that we pay is excellent. Highly recomended to budget traveler to Amsterdam.
Wifi is Free in this hotel and strong signal in every room no problem.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahmatnajah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I stayed here with my hubby n 2 kids in summer 2013....
The hotel was easy to find from the Sloterdijk Station....
Lobby was clean...lots of tourist info card around....Kitchen/bfast area looks new n clean....
Room was great...clean...not much rooms for 4 ppl with 3 big lugages...but other than that..everything was super great.
We stayed there 3 nites and no complains at all......
Will definitely stay here next time we're in Amsterdam

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The hostel is modern, not very far from Centraal Station. The breakfast is great and the receptionists are quite nice. But I have to warn you: I got BEDBUGS, small insects that were hidden in my pillow and my bed.
During only one night, I got more than 25 bedbugs bites all over my face, my neck, my hands, even one on my foot. I smashed 2 of them, full of blood :(
I think it is not the first time they had complaints cause of the reaction of the staff when I asked to change my bed.
Despite all this, it is still a good hostel. I hope they will fix this quickly.

Room Tip: Not on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Location may not be central, but it's close enough to the centre (5-20 minutes, depending on where you're going and what mode of transportation you take) that it's not a problem. The hotel is right next to Sloterdijk station - you can get off the train and see the sign through the glass, and when you're outside you just turn right, walk down the steps and there it is - and therefore you have good access to trains, trams and buses.

Rooms are fantastic, with spotless, comfortable beds in the dorm rooms that come with their own reading light and plug. Lockers are available, though if you're shorter you will struggle to reach the upper ones, and if you have your own lock you can easily lock away a backpack or a very small suitcase. There are also hooks and hangers for jackets, a small table, and a TV. The girls' dorm has an ensuite toilet and shower, both of which are again spotlessly clean, and the shower (separate from the toilet) has hooks and a towel bar. The mirror and sink are in the room, between the ensuites, and a hairdryer, plug, and liquid soap are available. At this time of year, the hotel isn't as busy, and in my six-bed female dorm there have been varying numbers of guests - though on the first night there were six of us, last night there were two, and tonight it looks like it will just be me!

Facilities are in general quite nice; though there is only one washer and one dryer for the whole building, they are free to use, as is the kitchen, which comes with microwave, kettle, stove, dishes and a fridge for food storage. The lounge/bar area is full of tables, so lots of space to eat. Elevators are fast, large and new. Staff will print any documents you need for free at the reception desk.

I can't commend the staff more at this moment - the staff at reception are friendly, efficient and eager to help, and are always available to answer any questions. One of them noticed that I was unwell earlier (i.e. about to pass out) and three of the staff members quickly came to where I was sitting with my head between my knees, asked me what was wrong, and helped me recover from what turned out to be hypoglycemia (I hadn't eaten much because I had been curled up with cramps for most of the day from that time of the month, and I had been in fact on my way to the kitchen because I knew I needed food). They quickly brought me some juice, an apple, and some dextrose tablets, and within ten minutes I was feeling much better. They also offered to help me back up to my room, but once I had recovered I was able to return on my own. I am incredibly grateful for the attentiveness and kindness of the staff at reception, and I cannot recommend the hotel highly enough, particularly for people like me who are travelling alone!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#141 of 367 in Amsterdam
910 reviews
Volkshotel
#40 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,294 reviews
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#93 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#77 of 367 in Amsterdam
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Property: MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Address: Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing