We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
HOTEL2STAY(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Camp Inn Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,092)
Filter reviews
2,092 results
Traveller rating
730
912
293
78
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
730
912
293
78
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssloterdijk stationguest kitchenhostel feeltrains runningminute train journeyspar shopbunk bedsfamily roomfree wifischiphol airportbudget hotelperson roomtransport linksday passtriple roomhotel is situatedyogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
810 - 815 of 2,092 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I stayed here during my recent trip to amsterdam. i was travelling solo and had booked a single room for myself. the room was extremely clean and warm. It was a bit small but compact with everything that you need conveniently located in the room. Meininger has a 24 hour front desk with very helpful staff. while leaving i had a really early morning train, the staff helped with my luggage till the train station (very rare in europe). Breakfast was an all you can eat buffet which was filling with enough choices. the only downer is that this hostel is a little far off from the city. it is right next to the train station however the GVB pass is not applicable on the sprinter trains and hence you had to buy a ticket every time. GVB has a bus which you can take from near the hostel with a decent frequency. Also there were not too many restaurants around in case you came back late and needed to have dinner etc
apart from that the hostel was very good

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pooh_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We found this hostel to be very clean, fairly cheap and with good access to the city centre. If we returned to Amsterdam, we would definitely stay here again and we have recommended it to everyone we know who is going to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just got back from a group trip .Hotel gave us all we needed . easy access from airport . just a 15 min train ride and very close to the train station. Although there are no shops or bars nearby the trains run until 1 am and just 4.20 euros gets you a return train ticket into Amsterdam Central station with trains running every 3 mins or so.
The hotel does have a little of a hostel feel as it is very popular with groups of young people. Having said that it is very modern and spotlessly clean.and was quite with not much noice made by other guests all were very well behaved. Rooms are adequate with hair-dryer and complimentary toiletries. and very very clean . with comfy beds. Breakfast of 5.90 euro's pp was excellent value with good choice continental style.

Only gripe was the 2 nights we spent there the bar was closed between 4pm to 11 pm so we could not even get a cup of coffee when we returned after a busy day and evening in the city. No coffee making facilities in the room. You can use the kitchen kettle at the bar so take your own coffee/tea etc.,
all in all though perfect for our 14 strong group of 40/50 yrs olds. would definatley use again.

Room Tip: we were on the side of the train track but noise is minimal .
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank dennymac287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for your comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

A great hostel with everything you need nearby. Tram service is brilliant and regularly running.

Great value for money, very clean rooms, friendly staff and not too far from the city centre. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for your comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The hotel is nicely designed, good rooms and nice modern lobby. Kinda far from down town but on the bright side it's right next to Sloterdijk train station and bus station so transportation is easy.

WiFi was TERRIBLE almost no connection most of the time, which caused huge problems for me as I needed to finish important work online occasionally. The staff didn't really care about the bad internet service in the hotel and were not ready to help. We asked room service to change the towels, they took the dirty ones and didn't replace them with new ones!

Bottom line: It's not terrible but you can find something better for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YassElmasry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews