We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, clean accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Ranked #113 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good value, clean accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Group of 8 stayed in 2 4 bed rooms. Plenty of room, private shower and toilet (separate to each other). Linen, towels, shower gel provided. Very clean. Facilities great. Would definitely recommend for a budget stay in amsterdam. Close to train station with frequent trains to centre. Journey time about 10mins. Frequent trains to airport.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cadgel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you once more at your next stay in Amsterdam.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    779
    240
    63
    65
See reviews for
444
193
167
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Me and 5 friends stayed here for a hen do, and were really surprised with the hotel- it was great! The hotel itself was clean, modern and really good value compared to other prices we were quoted. Yes its about a 10 min train journey to the centre but trains are cheap it really wasn't a problem for us. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TEA_R_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you very much for your nice review!

We appreciate you taking the time out to write something here and hope to welcome you and your friends back some other time:)

Have a lovely day!

Warm regards from sunny Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
85 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

A good place to stay in Amsterdam:
- Alternative place (don't except anything interesting in this business area), with easy access to Central Station
- as a consequence, affordable rooms
- a friendly hostel atmosphere with an interesting mix of populations (young adults, families, etc. from many nationalities)
- rush at breakfast time but it is acceptable compared to the affordable price
- a usefull common kitchen area
- a helpfull staff

Will I return? Yes, unless I find good rates for places more central

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review!

We hope you will return either to us or to any of our other Meiningers in Europe!

Warm regards,

Meininger Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

It's okay and clean, but doesn't have a good hostel vibe. Takes 25 minutes by bus to get to Central. Also really expensive, they tried to charge my friends 180 euro EACH to share a room. Charged a 10 euro late check out fee for 45 minutes which I have NEVER had to pay at any hostel or hotel that I've ever stayed at before.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Kevin,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your feedback!

We would like to advise you to take the train to Central Station next time - this only takes 5 minutes from our hotel. From the price you mention it seems you have staid with us during a very busy time. As this happens in hotels, when the demand is high, the prices get up. This is why it is always advisable to book ahead and get the best price possible.

Again we appreciate your comments and hope you might consider coming back again - perhaps in low season when you can book a bed for 10 EUR a night!

Warm regards,

Meininger Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, South Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We booked the Meininger as part of a girls weekend to Amsterdam. We were really pleased with the price compared to other hotels in the city and the hotel looked safe too.

The Meininger is only a 5 minute train journey from Amsterdam Central which was super convenient. The staff were really helpful and spoke good English which made our stay a lot easier too.

The room was quite small but fine for what we needed. We were quite impressed with the "split bathroom". The beds aren't great. They were quite uncomfortable and the pillows were far too soft. The bed on the top bunk also hadn't been made up and it was really difficult for us to make it up so that made for quite an uncomfortable stay for the person with that bed.

Overall though, for the price we paid the hotel was ideal.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank PlainLauraJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
163 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

+ close to train station, breakfast only €6, free good wifi, comfy rooms, pretty quiet for being next to railroad, very quick connections to Amsterdam central

- bit slow on checkout (too few people working), nothing specific

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you once more at your next stay in Amsterdam.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I stayed at this huge hotel with three friends to spend a couple of days in Amsterdam. Apparently we picked up a bad weekend because most hotels were booked and prices skyhigh - including at this hotel located in the outskirts of town (just next to a P+R parking lot), but we had no choice.
The place is very big and was crowded, i.e. it took a long time to ask for info at reception, breakfast was stressful (but excellent buffet) with too many people and big groups, long wait for the lift. The quadruple room was ok but had not been dusted properly and my bed (the top of a bunk bed) had not been made "for security reasons". For the price we paid I found that ridiculous - if you cannot ask your cleaning ladies to do it, why should I? And most importantly, why offer it?
On the plus side, good and free wifi everywhere, luggage room, vicinity to the parking and smiling staff - but overall I'd rather stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vetcla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we highly appreciate your feedback in order to improve our services.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#148 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Volkshotel
#43 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#61 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#102 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Property: MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Address: Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing