We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and well situated” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Ranked #108 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good value and well situated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Visited here in May 2014 as part of a stag do.

The check in was quick and friendly.

The rooms are basic with comfy beds, flat screen TV and clean toilet and shower - everything that we needed and very good for the price.

The hotel is situated a 2 minuet walk from the train station and is about 5 minutes into Amsterdam central.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    760
    234
    57
    63
See reviews for
429
191
163
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located next to a major train station, making it a good spot for both coming in from the airport or running back and forth into Amsterdam central on a train. Don't take surface transport because you will spend about 20 minutes per commute versus the 5 minute train ride. The rooms have comfy beds and clean baths with modern plumbing and plenty of hot water. The surrounding area is office space so you won't find to much to do right there but the hotel has a bar for late night drinks and they do serve so food but we preferred to eat in Amsterdam for the ambiance of outdoor dining on canals or in the squares. There are a couple of fast food places in the train station near the hotel. Julia's has made to order fresh pasta with fresh or grilled veggies. We also stayed a few nights in Amsterdam but I think we spent less money getting around town by using the train to Meininger than paying tram and bus fees. We also walked a lot, racking up thousands of steps on our pedometers. I thought the staff was nice and attentive so would likely stay here again if the price is right.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stayed here as a student on a budget, and was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are well sized and the bathroom was very nice, we had lockers in our room which we could use to keep valuables for a small charge (Only a few Euro, can't remember exactly). The receptionists were helpful and always friendly, and we were only a 15 min tram/bus/train ride to the city centre. Generally I would use this hotel again. The only downside is that this doesn't seem aimed at families or older solo travellers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review, we are very happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us!

We hope to see you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Meininger Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
404 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Probably quite suitable for nihilists at a young age. Very simple, cubicles (like a basic CitizenM), very simple breakfast. Priced reasonably for Amsterdam in high season. Crowded. Very popular for german school groups, so you are at risk either to feel very old or very young.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiamiKeyWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for your review.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a youth hotel; if you are over 30, you will feel a little awkward, being surrended by hundreds of kids, adolescents and very young adults.
Anyway, even this was strange for us in the begining, this hotel offers clean, convenient sized rooms with clean and well equipped bathrooms. The location is convenient, about 10 minutes by train to Central Station and about 20 minutes to Shippol Airport. Overall, I liked it.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dafyda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you very much for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I recently stayed at the Meininger Hotel Amsterdam City West during a short stay in Amsterdam for King's Day. As it was King's Day the price was higher than normal but still pretty cheap. We were a party of five with two rooms.

Location:
We got the Megabus and had to get a tram and train to the hotel but from Amsterdam Central it is one stop which took about 7 minutes and from Amsterdam Sloterdijk station the hotel is about a 2 minute walk which is perfect. You can't miss the hotel as soon as you walk out of the station you can see the hotel sign on your right. Amsterdam Sloterdijk station also has trams that will take you to Amsterdam Central, Museumplein and many other places around Amsterdam.

Rooms:
We had two rooms and although we requested two rooms next to each other with our booking agent we arrived at the hotel to find we had rooms two floors apart, as it was King's Day weekend I can only assume the hotel was pretty much fully booked but the staff were so helpful and very friendly they gave us rooms on the same floor and only three rooms apart which we were very happy about! One room had two single beds and a bunk bed the other room had two single beds and a I believe a shelf like bed.

The room with the single beds and bunk bed had a separate shower and toilet with a open plan sink in the middle of the two meaning you had to brush your teeth in front of everyone but on the plus side if you're in the shower someone else can use the bathroom. There was shower gel and hand wash provided. The other room had a full bathroom with sink and shower in one. Each bun bed had its own socket and light so you wouldn't keep others awake. Both rooms came with a TV where you could watch BBC news and some other okay channels. The room was spotless and I could easily say it was as clean as some 5* hotels I have stayed in. The maid came both days of our stay and did the basics of making the bed, changing the bins and giving us new towels/tissue.

Storage:
We decided to keep our luggage in storage on the day of arrival and the day we left as check in isn't until 3pm and we checked out at 10am but had 11 hours till our coach home. To access the storage room they give you a key which you then have to give back once you're done, they also give you a little card as proof you have something in the storage room which you then swap for the key when you want to get your items back out. Both times we made sure we locked our cases with padlocks (you can buy them in the vending machine if you forget to bring some). Nothing got stolen, or even moved an inch.

Other information:
It cost about €30 for a taxi from Amsterdam Central to the hotel at night, they work on a meter like black taxis in London.
You can get a tram/bus/metro pass from reception for €17 for 3 days which helps you get around.
There is a vending machine by reception that has many essentials that you may need. From padlocks to deodorant.
We didn't eat at breakfast or anything else so we can not comment on food, but I ordered a vodka from the bar where I was charged more than the price stated on the menu until I brought it up and the price was then changed and the service was very slow, like the barman thought I was standing there to hang out not to order.

Overall I was very happy with my stay and can't wait to go back to Amsterdam and I'd 100% stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PartyIslandGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for taking out the time to write your review. We are very happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to welcoming you here again in the future!

Warm regards,

Meininger Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here in May as part of a 16 man group on a visit to play in The Amsterdam Open football tournament. Only a 15 min train ride from Schiphol Airport to Sloterdijk Train Station and the hotel is a further five min walk from there. Friendly staff welcomed us and went through the check-in procedure quickly with minumum fuss. Unfortunately only one of our four rooms was ready but we were happy to relax in the bar area as the other rooms/dorms were prepared.

Once in the rooms it was a mixture of single beds and bunk beds, but they were comfortable enough for our requirements. The toilet, wash-up area and the shower room were all modern and most importantly clean.

We had pre-booked breakfast and there was a good amount fruit, cheese, meats, breads, juices etc on offer.

The hotel isn't too far from Central Amsterdam, only a ten minute ride from Sloterdijk Train Station. It was approx 20 euros for a taxi if you returned after the trains stopped at 1am.

All in all the hotel is in a good location, the staff are excellent, rooms are comfortable enough as long as your not expecting too much. The hotel seems to be geared towards larger groups, and bus tours etc, and it was adequate for our needs. I would have no problem recommending it to other travellers

Room Tip: If you like your sleep, ask for a room on a higher level, as the bar area can get quite noisy, espec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnyblue72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review! We are a combination of a hotel and hostel so have a big variety of guests and facilities.

Thank you for recommending us, we hope to welcome you at Meininger again in the future!

Warm regards,

Meininger Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#145 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Volkshotel
#42 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#63 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#101 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Urban Lodge Hotel
#47 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Property: MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Address: Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing