We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and reliable. Good transport links”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Ranked #116 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed here in a group of 7 for a stag weekend. Location wise, the hotel is about 5 minutes train ride from central station. It's directly outside the station so extremely convenient.

When we first checked in there was another group of males who were here for a stag weekend (about 30 of them) but our check in was handled quickly and efficiently. Remember that hotels in Amsterdam charge local tax on top of the normal rate.

The rooms we stayed in (2 rooms, one could sleep 4, the other could sleep 6) were clean and spacious. The bathroom is split in the room, the shower and toilet are behind two different doors, meaning when sharing a room, one person doesn't take up the whole bathroom.

One complaint I had would be that the beds and pillows weren't that comfy. But they did the job for our 3 day weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottish_Steveo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review! We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay at Meininger and hope to welcome you and your friends again in the future!

Warm regards,

Meininger Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

683 - 689 of 1,938 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel has the rooms of a hotel and are very clean and modern but the atmosphere is that of a hostel. It's only a few minutes walk from the Amsterdam sloterdijk train station which is a main stop. It's just a 5 minute train ride to Amsterdam Central which you can walk to everything from or catch a tram. Trains go every 7 minutes. Breakfast was good and always had sports playing on their flatscreen TVs.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Campbell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you once more at your next stay in Amsterdam.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here during a business trip due to good airport and city connections as well as good price. Overall was fine for two nights. Evenings lounges are full of kids so our group decided to stay in town most of the time. Internet also did not really work.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank CanadaAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you soon again in Amsterdam.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Don't go unless you want to spend €94.93/night to get a wet bed and futon along with strong urine smell and sufferr whole night with none of their staff to come up to clean. Even worse, the promised refund of their operation manager also didn't happend, they remain charge you whatever they had promised. it is a cheating!
By the way, I stayed 2 nights in total, normally hotel won't bother to ask you to change room even your bookings are 2 separeted orders. However, I was asked to change room in the 2nd day, you could learn how lously their management is.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank workhardplayhard123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for your review, we have been in contact already personally as well as by e-mail and were given the impression that we have successfully solved the complaint for you. Please kindly get in contact with us if you would like to have further assistance or if you have any questions.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Hostel was located outside of the Amsterdam city centre which meant that you needed to commute in and out of Amsterdam Centraal every time. Not the most convenient option but its not so bad, considering that it's right next to a train station which runs daily train service into Amsterdam Centraal (And to Schipol Airport too). I felt that the Hostel was overpriced. Wifi reception was horrible. Couldn't get decent reception in my room and sometimes the wifi wouldn't even work at all, even in my room and the lobby. Otherwise, it's a decent stay. Not worth a second stay though.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review, we highly appreciate your feedback in order to improve our services.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We need a family room with good access to the city centre. The hotel is one stop from Central Station and the journey takes 5 minutes. Trains were very frequent indeed - we never waited more than 5 minutes. It's a large busy hotel! But it was very clean and we'll organised. The room had a double bed, two sets of bunk beds and a single bed. It's right next to the railway but we heard nothing as the glazing was good. The girls loved the modern room - even had BBC1 on the TV. Breakfast is a tad busy, the buffet was excellent and gave us a good start to the day. Would use again because of the convenience of the Railway. The Dutch Railway System is amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you very much for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Visited here in May 2014 as part of a stag do.

The check in was quick and friendly.

The rooms are basic with comfy beds, flat screen TV and clean toilet and shower - everything that we needed and very good for the price.

The hotel is situated a 2 minuet walk from the train station and is about 5 minutes into Amsterdam central.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Blue Square
#166 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,994 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#62 of 372 in Amsterdam
3,950 reviews
Volkshotel
#38 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
#149 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,490 reviews
XO Hotels Blue Tower
#182 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Address: Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £59 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing