We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Ranked #107 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

It was a good budget hostel and very warm .... it s pretty centrally located....just a station away from the city center.... the staff was warm and helpful ... and it has a nice bar too ! I spent a couple of days and the staff really helped with some great tips on the city

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear guest,

thank you for your lovely comment! We are happy that your stay has been so enjoyable for you and hope to welcome you again at Meininger soon!

Kind regards,

Meininger Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,972)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

681 - 687 of 1,972 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Do not stay here! Even though the hotel seems clean, we only stayed for two nights and have managed to bring bed bugs back with us to the UK.
We got bitten whilst there and thought it was odd seen as though our room didn't have windows. A week after getting back have found the bugs in our homes.
We are now having to pay the council to defumigate the whole house, definitely not worth the price of a cheap hotel room!

Room Tip: Don't stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Frankie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear guest,

First of all I would like to apologize for the situation and the discomfort this has caused to you.

Regrettably this insect is brought along with guests in their luggage and we would like to assure you that it is not related to the cleanliness of our hotel. It is unfortunately unavoidable for all and every hotel but we are fortunate to only deal with so few cases.

We ca assure you, that I take your bed bugs report very seriously. We have a variety of preventative measures and a full scale care program. Upon your complaint I immediately briefed our Housekeeping department, as this could have been avoided when the signs for an infested room would have been seen. We also contacted an extermination service to inspect the room and take measurements.

Once again let me apologize and if there is anything else we can do for you, please kindly contact me.

Kind regards,

Esther de Jong
Junior Operations Manager Meininger Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Ok for the price but our reservation was all mixed up. We had to change rooms on the second night and in the new room there were no towels. When we complained we were told we were lucky to have had them in the first room and asked to pay an euro each. Far away from the centre but clean n relatively quiet. Was sold a transport card by reception that turns out didn't cover the railway.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Inso D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for sharing your hotel experiences with us.
We are sorry that you had to change rooms during your stay and that there arose confusion about the towel rental. As you can read on our website, towel rental is not included when you make a reservation for a bed in a dormitory. Private rooms do include towels. Fortunately, you did like the cleanliness and quietness in our hotel.

We do our best to improve our services where possible. So, critisism (positive and negative) are always very welcome!

We do hope to see you in Amsterdam another time.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel was a great value. It is next to the train station so you can get into the city center very quickly and easily. It has a kitchen,so if you don't mind squeezing in to use the stove and sink, you can save money by cooking your own meals. The AC also worked well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank osuddg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2015

Dear guest

What a nice review! Thank you so much for all your fabulous words and for taking the time describing and sharing the experience of your recent stay at our Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam. It is great to hear that you were happy with the location of our property and that you enjoyed preparing your own meals in the Meininger guest kitchen.

We would be happy to welcome you back in the future!

Kind Regards,

Your Meininger team in Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Clean, good vibe, nice staff.

Top place, bit out but bus pass is cheap and are connection like every 15 minute.

Right next to station. Perfect stop for interrailers

Has it's own bar. Nice place.

For price was really good. Was 6 of us and had plenty of space in out room

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomEbbatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice review about our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Meininger Hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed here with some mates for a few nights.
Rooms were all well equipped, modern, very clean and tidy.

Three of us sharing came to about £30 per person each night which is fairly reasonable - although location is no where near city centre- about 15 minutes train from central station, single ticket €3 approx.

I've stayed in slightly cheaper places in the city centre before but non of them were as well presented as this place.

Non smoking hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Owen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni M, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review!

We are happy to see that you and your friends enjoyed your stay at Meininger and hope to welcome you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Meininger Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Meininger Hotel Amsterdam City West was a pleasant surprise for us. We were a group of 5 and had a comfortable stay at the hotel. Except for an initial glitch which was immediately taken care of, we had a good time. Good Services at a decent rate!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACD8_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni M, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear guest,

We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Meininger! Thank you for commenting, we hope to see you here again in the future!

Kind regards,

Your Meininger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Blue Square
#163 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,011 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,976 reviews
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
#154 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Address: Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £50 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing