We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
Ranked #266 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2008

Myself & Husband and another couple were due to stay at this hotel in September this year. We had our flights booked and were researching into budget hotels for our stay when we came across this hotel. My husband contacted the hotel directly and booked two double rooms and agreed a price. The gentleman said he would forward us a confirmation email. When we did not receive this confirmation email, I emailed the hotel directly but still heard nothing. My husband then phoned the hotel again only to be told that they had cancelled our booking due to that fact that the gentleman had under quoted us and that his boss said this price was too low!! So they cancelled our booking and never told us. I just want people to be warned as to the individuals you are dealing with. Make sure that you have a confirmation email stating exactly the room rates agreed. We could have easily arrived over in Amsterdam without any where to stay. I just seems to me that they have very poor hotel service - no apology or anything was offered - just rudeness!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Front Desk Staff
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    184
    109
    60
    49
See reviews for
51
150
39
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2008

Hotel Fantasia was a wonderful find! I stayed there with three other friends just before Christmas, 2007, and we booked it over the internet. I must admit, I was a bit doubtful at first, with the rooms being so cheap, but I was pleased to discover that it was a fantastic little hotel for those on a budget. Clean, tidy rooms, an amazing shower and very, very friendly staff! Would recommend it to all, and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Liked — Very clean!
  • Disliked — Sometimes you could hear other vistors upstairs.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KayleighMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2008

Really don't know what some of the other reviewers expect. €60 a night for a triple room in a major European Capital, ten minutes walk from the centre of the city, beautifully located (see pictures), comfortable beds, powerful shower, clean and all staff friendly and helpful in my experience. The rooms aren't huge, it is a little noisy when people are moving around nearby (wouldn't want a stag party next door, but then I wouldn't in any hotel), breakfast is basic and some of the the stairs are precipitous (don't take granny) but it's full of character. There is building work going on over the canal at the Hermitage but we heard no noise at all from it.
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend or revisit.

Word of warning...we took the train to Centraal Staion and were going to get a taxi to the hotel. Fortunately I checked the price before we got in and was told it would be €25. It's little more than a kilometer away and the fare to the airport is only €35 so I rudely declined and took the metro....only two stops and €1.60 each.

  • Liked — Location. Character.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tram_Magnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2008

The room was ridiculously small. My boyfriend could easily touch both walls at the same time and there was only a gap of a foot to walk around the bed. The ceilings were also very low, I'm 5ft 9 and banged my hands off the ceiling every time I changed my top.

The bed was uncomfortable and the springs creaked so much that we ended up sleeping with the mattress on the floor as it was comfier.

The walls were incredibly thin and even the noise of people walking up stairs echoed around the hotel to a deafening level. Our French neighbours spent most of the night shouting and screaming at each other but even after complaining to the hotel staff the noise persisted.

Breakfast was typical Dutch bread, cheese and ham but the quality was poor so we ended up eating at the cafe around the corner instead.

The tea and coffee making facilities in the room consisted of a few teabags that were never replenished and 2 dirty steel cups, one of which didn't have a handle.

The room was advertised as having an FM Radio but this seemed to be a pre-war relic which was impossible to tune in to any station.

The room also had a ladybird infestation which I thought extremely odd given the fact we were there in December.

The location was fine and the shower was the only good thing about the room.

  • Liked — location and shower
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2007

This was a trip of two halves - the hotel was good, friendly, well located and had a good room. The problem was that for the first two days of our four day stay the hotel had double booked us and we were transferred to the Marnix, which is a horrible hotel a little West of this one.

Obviously this had to count against this hotel, but if we separate out the experience then it's fair to say this was really nice. We had a view of the canal which is pretty and peaceful, the room was a good size with a good bathroom. The hotel is inexpensive and breakfast was decent. The front desk was friendly and apologetic about the error.

I'd book again - just make sure they really do have your booking!

  • Liked — Nice room and excellent location
  • Disliked — Being transferred to another hotel for half the visit and the rooms are a little poorly lit
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mmerlin33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2007

This hotel changed ownership on Sept. 1 2007. The building is still the same,but gone is the classy welcoming touch of the old regime,.
Replaced by a cold hard cash approach , and for the most part snippy staff. ( one of the reception staff was quite pleasent) No welcoming cup of coffee to the weary jet-lagged US arrivees (breakfast doesn't start until 8 you see ,and its locked up tight before that-). No we'll get your rooms for you as soon as we can -It was 14:30 before we could get in . Breakfast is literally a toaster, bread,cheese,salami ,and a grudgingly given small pot of coffee . I suppose you're safe enough here ,though one of the more recent reviews here makes me wonder about that . Theres still construction going on, on the Hermatige just across the canal ,can get noisy early . They weren't good at all at answering pre-trip emails, in which I asked about any changes in hotel policies. Too bad about what happened here, as this was ,for a few years a real gem in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xefian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester, england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2007

I stayed one night at this hotel, and found it to be pleasant and comfortable. We had a large double room which was bigger than I expected. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean and the beds were very comfy. The ensuite bathroom was well decorated, and the toilet/shower were clean and well stocked.

As other comments mention the stairs being steep, yes they were. We only stayed for one night so didn't have that much luggage to carry, but I can undertand how other guests found this awkward!

The breakfast selection was a little limited (bread/toaster/cake/peanut butter/chocolate spread/jam & marmalade/tea,coffee and orange juice) but for the price it was adequate!!!! The dining area was very welcoming and relaxing.

My summary is for 99 euros for the room including the breakfast for 2 people, it was well worth it. If you are just looking for a place to sleep. I strongly recommend this hotel to you.

  • Liked — the price was fantastic and the location was central but quiet!
  • Disliked — breakfast choice was a bit limited but for the price can't complain!!!!
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joyful80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#272 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Adolesce
Hotel Adolesce
#208 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#115 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#290 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#236 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Keizersgracht 16, 1018 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Fantasia)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing