We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
US$500
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$412
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$411
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$388
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$254
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$301
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$290
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$295
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveller rating
59
195
121
72
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
195
121
72
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrembrandt squarewalls are thinnarrow stairsfree tea and coffeeminute walkbreakfast roomquiet at nighthotel is greatquiet areashort staycity centrewaterloopleincanalstopstraincafes
Filter
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 511 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2009

The hotel is now called Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam, it advertises all rooms with flatscreen tv, telephone and coffee making facilities, however none of the rooms actually had these. Everything was clean however we paid for a large double room but were given a small double room, they advertised it had a canal view which is true however there is also construction work which is very loud across the canal. The staff were helpful but the person at reception was unhelpful and seem to have some attitude, he seem to think it was laughable we expected a tv in the room, he apologised when he realised it was their hotel that advertised this on the website. I didnt find it was close to anywhere plus we were placed on the fourth floor and there is no elevator, not good if you are young or old, as an elderly person would not be able to climb up at least 6 sets of stairs and the young tend to go out and could have a horrible accident, the cancellation policy is to pay for the first night of stay, so we stayed the first night cancelled in the morning which he refused to accept and required us to pay for 2 nights instead, we were so unhappy we decided to pay for 2 nights without staying and moved on to another hotel (armada) with was cheaper, had all of the above facilities, brilliant staff and included a great breakfast included in the price.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shilam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2009

Thank you for spoiling a perfect holiday!!!! You could have told us that you were closed before we travelled to Amsterdam so we could organise alternative arrangements. Bad organisation. We have had to sleep on the streets thank you

Stayed: March 2009
Thank Carrie3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2008

We just arrived back from a four-day-trip to Amsterdam and we are still horrified by this overly disgusting place. The bathroom was entirely covered with black mildew stains, the shower head was broken and the toilet smelled like it hasn't been cleaned for ages. The duvet had white stains on it and the hairdryer and telephone which were promoted on the website didn't exist, the door didn’t close properly and the key card was broken. Although they didn’t fix the shower for two days, we had to pay the full price – service simply doesn’t exist at the fantasia hotel. If you want to enjoy your stay in Amsterdam, I suppose any other place is better than this one.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank katrinreist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2008

First thoughts walking in was decent especialy arriving at 3 in the morning after a delayed flight! The stairs are very very steep and there is no elevator so it is hard to get suitcase up and down nevermind it being hard just to walk up and down it! Staff wasnt very helpful and on your way to your room depending on what floor your on you wil see cockroach traps everywhere! Room was small for two people and if your expecting a double bed expect two single beds put together (uncomfortable) ! The breakfast wasnt to good all it was is toast and tea (self service). The location was good, 5min walk from my favourite coffeeshop! 5-10 min walk from dam square. girlfriend was not impressed and near had a panic attack when seeing the traps and the run down apperance of inside. wouldnt go back in my opinion! overall the best thing is the location and also clean sheets!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelfastCouple3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2008

Me and my husband and 4 our friends went to Amsterdam for three days over weekend.

After reading reviews we decided to book rooms in Fantasia Hotel. The location is excellent. It is really close to the city centre and we could easily walk everywhere. Also there is near a tram (nr.9) from Central Station going near the hotel so you do not have to use taxi which might even cost you 30 euro because all streets are one-way.

The hotel does not look impressive. It is placed in an old building so do not expect luxury hotel. The staff is really friendly. They will help you in everything and speak very good English. The hotel has different types of rooms. Most of them are really small. We got very narrow room. The ceiling is also very close so in total the room seems to be a cage. However it is very clean and even there is a small cattle with tea and coffee facilities. We had a room with bathroom (we know that not all of the rooms have bathroom) which was small and not modern but clean. Also our bed seems to be a camp-bed so do not plan to do much on the bed because noise is horrible. The rest of rooms (our friends) were bigger and beds were normal (not camp-bed).

Breakfast was served from 8:00 am till 10:00am. It is better to be there before 9:00am. After 9:00 you might not find much on the table. It is buffet style but if you normally eat a lot for the breakfast, you will not feel full. For the breakfast you will find toast bread, butter, jams, ham and cheese. Of course, tea & coffee and juice. Do not expect huge amounts of those products. It is just for not feeling the first hunger. I totally recommend something nice to eat in the local cafeterias which you find many everywhere.

It is very good hotel for somebody who is young and wants to enjoy the stay in Amsterdam without using public transport. It is very close to all amusements and ''Red'' district. The hotel is clean and very cheap. So even the small breakfast is not a big problem.
The location is excellent and staff very nice. For a short period of time the hotel seems to be very good choice. Just do not expect for 35 euro per person per night luxurious conditions.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agusia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews