We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bridge is ok”
Review of Magere Brug

Magere Brug
Book In Advance
More Info
US$101.19*
and up
Amsterdam Canals Cruise with Freshly Prepared 4-Course Dinner
Ranked #83 of 509 things to do in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Famous "flat" bridge over the Amstel River
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The bridge is ok”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

It's less than I expected, but beautiful nevertheless. In the night, the show is pretty great. The big Amstel underneath makes everything beautiful :) Highly recommended in the evening, when the lights are on, it's about the hole point of it :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    110
    64
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool, england
Level Contributor
197 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Pretty, Quaint Bridge with Great Views”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

One day, whilst we hired a boat, we sailed under this iconic bridge, then a few days later we walked over it during the daytime; mind the cycles (as with everywhere in Amsterdam, lol); then we took a walk in the evening, for another view. There are some benches in the vicinity so you can stop and admire the view, and at night it is pretty peaceful and lovely illuminated.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank juejosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1,508 reviews
830 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,676 helpful votes
“A nod to olden days”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This old bridge still earns its keep, opening and closing with amazing regularity. I know this because we rented an apartment right on the Amstel River and this bridge was prominently displayed in the panorama in view from our balcony. We could watch it as it opened and closed. Even large ocean-going ships chug through the open bridge and at other times an unbroken stream of bicycles flow over it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LWL3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Quaint Bridge”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This bridge would require some walking if you plan on crossing it by land. But if you're bad with maps, you could always take a river cruise which will bring you to within eyesight of this interesting bridge. I prefer the former as it allows you to see for yourself the architecture wonder of such a bridge crossing. We are used to seeing the Tower Bridge, but this is a different thing altogether, and you need to place it into context with the time of construction. Modern bridges doesn't look as fine as this.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank two5kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint little bridge”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Centrally located on the Amstel, this quaint little bridge is photogenic and provides a nice viewpoint up and down the Amstel.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank eurospaceflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Magere Brug also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Magere Brug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing