We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel, everything you need for basic trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Greenhouse Effect
Washington, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great hotel, everything you need for basic trip”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

went here last year, got in late bout 9pm on a friday,
bloke that checked us in was a bit off at 1st, but slowly warmed to us after a while, asked for the room money upfront, even though it says end of trip on website however because the bar (reception) cafe and hotel are in 3 different front doors, i can imagine it stops people bumping the hotel final day, we we're directed to our rooms. got the triple room mary jane on 1st floor, loved it, nice psychedelic decor and lights in the room. 70's style metal reflecting table and chairs, mini fridge at reasonable prices, beds were basic bunkbeds but done what you needed them to do, large opening windows onto the main street, some people have complained about the noise the smell of weed etc front his street when windows open. but we were ranged 25-30 years old, and that's what we wanted, sit around the table music on few beers few local herbs and watch the world go by people having a good time untill rest of lads ready then head out,

as stated the cafe and bar are part of the hotel and if you stay there you get discounted beers (already cheap beers since happy hour birngs them tio 3 euro a pint) and you get 20% off any cannabis purchasing from the connected cafe

bar and cafe staff are very helpfull and will happily give you any info on strains or beers to buy or help you find other places to go,

breakfasts were fine, usual ham cheese bread malakrey, coffee n teas available for free refils too, dedicated smoking area in the bar also for cigarettes.

checking out the staff will radio cleaner to check you aint robbed the mini fridge or damaged anything on leaving, seen peoples reviews complaining about this, but what do you expect, if it was your hotel you wouldnt want people leaving without paying for damages or mini fridge.

deffo book up here again especially after this years experience at a more expensive hotel being diabolical

Room Tip: mary jane triple room is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    99
    37
    22
    17
See reviews for
8
57
45
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

... no shower curtain, burned out light bulbs and a bag of garbage left from a previous stay or by some neighbor on the stairs at our door. All of this we were not expecting to face up but we did. And we survived! Also they have a very cheap toilet paper so we had to buy a better one. All the rest is nice and sweet, especially if you don't mind to live on the corner of Bloedstraat centrum (fab location HAHA), listening to giggles and someone's talking, sniffing fumes of smoke from the coffeeshop a floor lower than your apartments. It WAS an adventure for us, but, to be honest... i doubt if we will ever again come to this place. One has to have quite low standards to accept this as a nice stay.

Room Tip: never choose Bloedstraat cenrum apartments! foul hole!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vexierspiegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Good atmosphere, comfortable surroundings, good central location... fruit smoothies to die for. Would recommend in seasons when it's not too busy. Holidays = crowds. Music is chilled and enables chatting to friends, which some other venues miss.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

after arriving home from a 4 night stay at the greenhouse effect Amsterdam I thought it was only right to write a review straight away to get across to all readers how vile this "hotel" is. I would like to make a huge point that I was never expecting upscale luxury - this hotel was just beyond gross. After paying over €100 per night I was expecting at least a half decent room, especially considering how far ahead I had booked this trip.
As soon as we checked in we were asked for a €30 deposit for one key to the room and one for the front door - and asked to pay the hotel bill up front without checking the room or the hotel itself. I would not have minded this if the price I agreed to pay in march was the price I actually paid for. After being asked for €30 more than agreed and a €30 deposit I already had my doubts about this "hotel".
As we walked through the main door, we were left to carry a heavy suitcase up 3 flights of stairs - no bannister on the 3rd floor - and arrived in room 9 "Red Man". As I opened the door to two smaller than single beds, a sink and plastic table and chair, it was completely clear we had been mislead. Not only did we have a tiny attic room - but we also had to share a shower and toilet with 2 other rooms. Posters on the wall explaining the rooms are not cleaned every day and clean towels are at reception if requested?! As I went to check out the bathroom it was clear it had not been cleaned in quite a while due to the stale urine left in the toilet bowl - lovely! As I entered the shower room I was greated with a hand held metal shower head and a corroded wet room floor.
Immediately disappointed we decided to leave the room and try to forget about the misfortune and enjoy our holiday. As a couple when we returned we decided to move the single beds together in the middle of the room where a RAT TRAP was found underneath the bed. Absolutely disgusting. After a restless night of sleep I then woke up to around 20 bites on my legs and blood on the sheet from the bedbugs inside the mattress. Like this stay couldn't get worse. I have nothing good to say about this hotel - breakfast isn't worth getting up for - a few stale bread rolls and cheese which has no doubt been sat there for the entire duration of breakfast. When we requested an iron it was covered with dirt and no ironing board or flat surface? What's the point? No wardrobe or anywhere to hang clothes other than 3 plastic hooks on the door which couldn't even hold the weight of a coat. Absolutely AVOID this hotel. When checking out the lady working behind the bar walky talkied the cleaner to check our room - very awkward and rude. Bags were kept in a stock room which was easily accessible by everyone - not locked.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank morechappati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We loved the greenhouse effect. The location is great, the service is fab and the breakfasts are leisurely and full of options. The apartment we stayed in was about 5 mins walk from the greenhouse cafe and bar (which we didn't expect), but it was in the Nieumarket (can't spell!) and was actually a better location - next to an ATM and a great supermarket - but directly next to Coffeeshops etc. Great. The only criticism I have (and it is small), the loo in the apartment really smells badly of cigarettes and nicotine (but old like it has been there for years!).

Thanks Greenhouse - another great stay in Amsterdam!! We will be back.

Room Tip: The apartments are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Had a great stay here in Amsterdam, we even came back for a second visit. Brilliant knowledgeable helpful staff, excellent music policy. Just a short walk from the train station where the train runs directly from the airport.

The decor themes were excellent and the accomodation was basic but good, everything that you would require for a city break in the dam.

Plenty to discover just round the corner...

Room Tip: Close your eyes and pick one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This isnt some classy ritzy high end establishment, Rooms arent exactly high end, but definitely interesting. However, if you go in knowing that you'll be pleasantly surprised with the staff here. That's the real draw, the locaton, the staff and the atmosphere. Very cool and helpful people working here, and the location is spot on.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#143 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#70 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#108 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Frisco Inn Bar Hotel
Frisco Inn Bar Hotel
#192 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#225 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#242 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenhouse Effect? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenhouse Effect

Property: The Greenhouse Effect
Address: Warmoesstraat 55, 1012 HW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Greenhouse Effect 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Greenhouse Effect reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenhouse Effect Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing