We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lil' bit of heaven in the red light”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Greenhouse Effect
Certificate of Excellence
mesa, az usa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A lil' bit of heaven in the red light”
Reviewed 21 September 2009

me and a buddy stayed in the Turkish Delight. The room was so cute, the colors were great! The room was small but it did they job just fine. The bed was cozy. The room was surprisingly quiet, probably cause it doesn't face the street, but faces other buildings.

The breakfast was good, just as i had imagined the hostel breakfast.

The staff was very friendly and informative. The attached coffe shop was very nice! It was one of my favorite!!

I can't wait to try another room.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zepplin20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    100
    38
    22
    17
See reviews for
8
59
45
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2009

Our first night we were upgraded from a double room to a triple ensuite. The room was very nice and was Mary Jane themed. The hostel is in the party section of the red light district. The room was very clean and had a stocked fridge, TV, and it fronted the street. The noise at night was very loud, especially with the window open, but its Amsterdam, so who cares? The rooms in the back may not have been as loud. The bathroom was nice. Smoking is allowed in the rooms. The staff was very helpful and allowed us to store our bags in a storage closet before check-in and after checkout. The next three nights we stayed in the Delph apartment which is about a ten minute walk from the hostel and coffeeshop. Guests get a discount at the hostel bar and coffeeshop. The apartment was very nice and clean. It could sleep five people, had a small fridge, and overlooked a square where vendors sold fresh fruit and souvenirs. I would highly recommend the apartment to anyone looking to have a chill place to rest in Amsterdam (so long as you don’t mind climbing three flights of stairs Amsterdam style). The apartment and the triple room both had TVs and free internet. Amsterdam is easy to navigate and both spots were close to public transportation.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gh286001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

4 of us stayed at the City Oasis apartment for 3 nights. the apartment is spacious and basic but comfortable. the apartment is on the top floor and 3 flights of stairs later its totally worth the climb (and it is a climb! those amsterdam architects basically built tall houses with ladders up the middle!) the bedrooms are accessed via a hatch in the living room and kitchen - this really is a ladder and is quite a challenge, particular after a few shandies! the living room is big and the large windows open out to a great view of Waag Castle and the busy street below. we spent many hours people watching and enjoying the breeze (Amsterdam gets pretty hot in the summer). another fantastic trip and stay at the Greenhouse effect. thanks guys. you never disappoint us.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank beckyb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Ive stayed at the Greenhouse Effect several times and always head back there when going to the 'Dam. Yes the price reflects that the rooms are distinctive - crazy decor to wake the most jaded soul! The main hotel has the perfect location on Warmoestraat, the oldest street in the city. All the attractions are a simply tram or cycle away and red light district is just around the corner - always good for people watching. A hotel with its own coffeeshop (discounts for guests) is a bonus. Yes you have to take the fact that this is a budget hotel with staff and clenliness to match but its safe, quiet and for what you get with character leaping at you from every corner its a great place to base yourself whatever you are doing in the greatest city on earth.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandTravelGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Just returned from staying in the city oasis apartment, Although the location was fantastic the apartment was far from this.

The steep stairs did not bother me nor the general rundown condition of the apartment. But the following did:
Filthy bathroom. especially the floor not seen a good mop in a long time.
No oven in the kitchen.
Mice eating food out of the kitchen cu-bards.
Most of all , all 5 of us staying in the apartment where bitten from head 2 toe from bed bugs.

This place is seriously i need of a deep clean! Has the potential to be fantastic with a little TLC.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojo_a39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2009

Stayed in the Delphi apartment and found it to be rather dirty, grotty and run down in all honesty. Staff were relatively ok, but this didnt last long. On our return home we were faced with false accusations made against us in an attempt to get money from us. I was later informed by my bank that an attempt to debt my bank account made. I would honestly say avoid this place and save yourself the hassle and stress and book elsewhere!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonymous4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

I didnt like this place.

The area it is in is awful if central. The rooms are OK but a little run down (we were in Fluo and Sailors Cabin), it was too pricey for what you got - not much more than a hostel, beds decent, bathrooms ok apart from broken shower doors but the rooms are just so noisy.

We didnt go to Amsterdam to sleep, were only in the rooms for a few hours getting in very late but in the short time we had in the rooms we would have liked to have had a bit of kip. The really loud music went on till about 5 or so and then quieter but still plenty loud enough to hear it stuff started up with breakfast a few hours later.

Breakfast was nothing to write home about but was ok. A few cereals, a bit of bread, basic fruits, some cookies and muffins and some not appertising looking meats and cheeses.

It is a pity as the staff were all pretty decent.

Still, I could put up with the rooms and everything else and only feel a little ripped off by the price but the fact it was so noisy drops it down to as low as it can go.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigchiefally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#142 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,294 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#67 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,014 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Frisco Inn Bar Hotel
Frisco Inn Bar Hotel
#196 of 367 in Amsterdam
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#228 of 367 in Amsterdam
427 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#109 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,178 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#163 of 367 in Amsterdam
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenhouse Effect? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenhouse Effect

Property: The Greenhouse Effect
Address: Warmoesstraat 55, 1012 HW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 228 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Greenhouse Effect 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Greenhouse Effect reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenhouse Effect Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing