We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amsterdam House Hotel
Ranked #251 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We enjoyed the very nice people. The rooms were clean and nice. We ahd beautiful view of the canals. The location was perfect. We traveled all day and the hotel was always nearby for a stop to drink or refresh.



  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ronit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    107
    55
    35
    23
See reviews for
33
128
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

How do you rate a place like this. So many permutations. Firstly I didn't want to spend €145 for a night in a hotel and I also wanted car parking (practically impossible in the Dam for under €150). So I got a hotel for €145 without parking but hey, it was late and we wanted to plot up. I managed to get the car almost outside and that's €4 an hour in the Dam up to midnight and after 9. Make sure you pay for the morning the night before or your car will be gone.
Back to the hotel. The best hotel I have ever stayed in but only for the following reasons! We were in the annexe just round the corner which seemed to be 3 rooms over 3 floors. Nobody else was present so the guv just gave me the key for the front door, asked me to open the windows if I smoke and off he went. We had a 3 floor town house in the middle of the Dam for €145, who can complain? The building is excellent. loads of wood inside, big opening balcony doors/windows. Full kitchen. Feels like more of a home than a hotel. Loved it and thanks to the french chap that was working that night.

Room Tip: Get the annexe round the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

A clean small friendly hotel close to the centre. Although quite a small bedroom the bed was extremely comfortable to rest weary legs. The help given by the owners In choosing places to go on a short visit was invaluable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Balcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Despite clever photos posted on the website, our room was so small we had to put the waste paper basket in the bathroom to move round the bed. There was no space for our cases. Having stayed in tiny rooms in New York, Paris etc, at least they were chic. This was Just grotty, dirty, with jumble-sale furniture. Torn curtains, electrical wiring out of the wall joined with insulating tape. TV didn't work and I told them on the first morning, but they did nothing about it. They made us pay in advance for the full stay, presumably because others have jumped ship. This hotel relies on its location, which is excellent, but we were desperate to check out. It spoiled our stay in Amsterdam.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Wellyman_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

If you decide to stay at this hotel, I never would again, check the room before you take it! The hotel is tired and neglected and needs money spent on it. The staff were friendly and breakfast was ok. We never saw the manager or owner to mention the poor cleanliness of the room , which was very expensive for it's condition. I think the hotel thrives on the location.

I can't imagine how the "excellent" award has been given by Trip Advisor, have you been there?

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

The city should be ashamed of offering accommodation like this to visitors. We stayed the weekend of the marathon. The room had the following problems;
*Dirty torn carpet with a tear in it which I tripped over
*Dirty curtains which weren't even matching and a broken blind
*Dirty , paint-spattered furniture .....a random collection of broken old bits and pieces.
*Dirty, mouldy shower area; shower fitment coming off wall, paint peeling off the floor and a loose drain cover
*Dirty, greasy tray for shampoos etc.
*Cigarette burns on shelves.

The location is wonderful but not wonderful enough to compensate for this disgraceful accommodation.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank girls2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Nes
Hotel Nes
#244 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#180 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Centrum
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
#254 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#191 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#111 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam House Hotel

Property: Amsterdam House Hotel
Address: 's Gravelandseveer 4, 1011 KM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #251 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Amsterdam House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing