We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny south facing and riverside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amsterdam House Hotel
Ranked #278 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This small hotel is in an excellent location with plenty to see and do within short walking distance. Also close to main tram routes. The rooms are tired and not squeeky clean but the front rooms are lovely and light with stunning views of the river Amstel just fifteen feet from the front door! The breakfast room doubles up as a residents lounge area available all day and there are a couple of tables outside, between the geranium troughs. Complimentary breakfast on the first morning was a good idea as you realise straight away that it is very good and there is little point in looking elsewhere.

Room Tip: Front rooms on first, second and third floors are probably the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwylan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

A group of 6 of us recently stayed at this hotel. It is in a great location, central enough to go back to during the day if you need a break from sight seeing. The rooms are small, and definitely of the budget variety and the whole place could do with a spruce up, but what it lacks in style it makes up for in substance. The staff are incredibly friendly and very helpful. The breakfast is lovely and is served in a quaint dining room. The views from the canal facing rooms are really great and the whole place is very quiet. They also have a very friendly dog! Despite my initial misgivings, i really enjoyed the stay and would happily go there again.

Room Tip: the canal facing rooms at the front have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel 3 months in advance. When we got there we were given a room on the 2nd floor but asked to move due to the window opened onto the roof. The staff moved us to the 4th floor which was a lot better
Breakfast was included for the next morning for free. Wonderful staff and a plus they allowed my small dog.
The room is very, very small good just for sleeping. But no room to move around and for 2 people a bit tight. Comfortable beds. The room served the purpose to sleep.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Mona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Good position, lovely people, tiny rooms. Needs a serious upgrade. It's a long time since my room was furnished with a crt television.
Please, new carpets, repaint, new wiring. But it was fun.
Breakfast room great, but no bar. Overall, you would describe the hotel as quirky, however, for the money and the rating it certainly leaves a lot to be desired. Good breakfast.



B
The lounge and breakfast room was great but no bar.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Comfortable, practical and great location, directly on the canal practically next to the city center. I would recommend this place for couples and also for backpackers! I was completely satisfied with the friendly staff and condition of the room.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johng0426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We were very unhappy with the room we were given. Everything was visibly dirty and rickety. After making a civilized complaint to the proprietor, we were treated to an absolutely first class response! He apologized and said he had been away for three months and would take up the housekeeping failures with his staff. We were then offered a choice between two lovely rooms: one a luxury room at a neighbouring property, and the other a modern houseboat. We opted for the houseboat and had a fantastic three nights in this two- bedroom holiday house on the water, a stone's throw from restaurants and tram stops.
But this is a review of the Hotel, not of the houseboat.
The breakfast at the hotel was superb with everything you could possibly want, from fresh fruit salad to smoked salmon to do-it-yourself omelettes with various fillings, good bread rolls and croissants.
The staff were kind and friendly.
It looks like the owner is concentrating on new projects and has let this potentially sweet hotel slip to neglect. Let's hope he can lift it back up to what it must have been, judging from older traveller reviews.
Our advice is to check the room before checking in.

Room Tip: Check the room before checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hl.tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed in this charming hotel 3 times, so I decided to come back and invited some mexican friends: a nightmare !!!!!
Dirty and not confortable
Hopefully, the boy and the lady at the front desk was very helpfull and also help us to connect with wifi as no way to connect in the public areas as mentioned ! hotel permit guests to smoke, so you can be close to some smoking rooms ! the did not changed the water of the flowers in the room: so a bad smell!
there is not control of the rooms after each check out! unbelivable !! so all the plugs were out of service, the rooms not cleaned properly, and since a while !! windows very dirty, with lots of cigarettes outside of it ! they need a new management !!!!urgently, too bad for this charming hotel nice located !

Room Tip: The rooms facing the canal are more pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GLOBETROTTERBLATINO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#223 of 373 in Amsterdam
118 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#217 of 373 in Amsterdam
272 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Nes
Hotel Nes
#238 of 373 in Amsterdam
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#157 of 373 in Amsterdam
434 reviews
Centrum
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
#248 of 373 in Amsterdam
182 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam House Hotel

Address: 's Gravelandseveer 4, 1011 KM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £76 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Amsterdam House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing