We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff”
Review of 't Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
't Hotel
Ranked #141 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We stayed in Amsterdam in late November 2012, the location of hotel is charming, very calm and you are just few minutes away from everything - Dam Square, museums, restaurants, bars... Staff was very gentle, while Suzanne explained us 'where to go', Peter carried our luggage to room (3rd floor, no lift). Breakfast was included in price and it was very delicious - fresh yogurts, fruits, bread, fresh pastry, chees, ham, etc. Definitely going to stay again!

Room Tip: ask for canal view room on 3rd floor
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for 't Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2012

Enjoyed our stay at 't hotel. A lovely small hotel in a quiet but central location. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice touch was that they put our bags in our room ready for us when he had dropped them off earlier in the day. Our room was a good size with a nice bathroom. We were in room 3 which is at the back of the hotal and very quiet. We would definately stay there again.

We had a good meal at a place called Spanjer en van Twist which is a about 200 metres up the street from the hotel. Good friendly staff, nice atmosphere and excellent food.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

My sister and I stayed for three nights in October. I've stayed in Amsterdam a number of times but this was the best location by far, almost everything was in walking distance but is is on fabulous tram routes for lazy and wet October days. Very comfortable beds and good bathroom. Breakfast was fine, breakfast room is very nice. We had the room overlooking the canal on the first floor-brilliant for people watching. Very pleasant staff. Really everything you could want from a hotel in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights in September 2012. We had a nice, large first floor room at the back which overlooks gardens. The stairs are very steep (there is a stannah type chair lift if needed) although we expected this and accept it as part of the character of a traditional canal house. Breakfast is an adequate rather than superb continental in the ground floor Breakfast Room which also acts as the reception. Lacking a residents lounge etc this is really a good quality B&B rather than a hotel. Its main attraction is its lovely, quiet canalside location off Herengracht, although being less than 10 minutes walk from such attractions as Dam Square and the Anne Frank Huis. Plenty of good (but not cheap) places to eat nearby including the next road (left out of the hotel, left again then left after 200m) where there are half a dozen classy restaurants. We enjoyed the experience and would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view on the front. The chair lift does not go to the very top floor rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeeBeeMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Our family of 5 stayed in the 't Hotel for 2 nights in August at the beginning of our European vacation. The "Family Room" where we stayed, was on the 3rd floor of this beautiful, old canal house, so there was definitely some work involved getting to and from our room. It was, however, definitely worth it! This place was cool, full of character and definitely in a great location. Amsterdam is a busy place and the 't hotel is located on a lovely, quiet street - walking distance to all the action, but far enough away to keep us well rested each night. The breakfasts were superb, the croissants and coffee were unmatched throughout the rest of our journey. All in all, the 't Hotel was everything we needed to get our trip off to a perfect start!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOMBASIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We wanted a small canal front hotel, close to all the sights and attractions of Amsterdam, that would offer a good standard of comfort, but not be too expensive. After searching through the multitude of hotels on TripAdvisor we plumped for the 't and weren't disappointed.
From the first exchange of emails to book, checking in, to booking out we had a great experience.Peter on reception was really helpful in giving us advice and marking up a map as to where the sights were we wanted to see. Breakfast was a low key intimate way to start the day with personal service, but a pleasant way to prepare for the hike round the city.We had a room facing the canal which had a great view. The room itself had everything you could want for a few days stay and yes the stairs are narrow and steep, but that all adds to the experience.

Room Tip: Canal front rooms have a great view and you hear very little noise from passers by, regardless of ti...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LancasterHopwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

My husband and I had a long weekend inAmsterdam and stayed in this lovely canal house. The location was perfect and in a beautiful area with lots of fab bars and restaurants. The hotel has very steep stairs and we were on the top floor so it was a climb of 50 steep stairs to our room but this did not cause us a problem. Our room was nice and spacious with a very nice bathroom. Breakfast was just what you need to set you up for the day plenty to choose from fruit, cereal, yogurt, cheese, meats, bread, eggs etc. Hotel is within walking distance of all attractions but the trams are easily accessible if you would rather not walk everywhere.

Room Tip: There are only 8 rooms in the hotel but I would recommend asking for a canal view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hejb35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#174 of 371 in Amsterdam
455 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal House
Canal House
#21 of 371 in Amsterdam
678 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#25 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,020 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#90 of 371 in Amsterdam
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 't Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 't Hotel

Address: Leliegracht 18, 1015 DE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £143 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 't Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your 't Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
t Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing