We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fot the money”
Review of Hotel Plantage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plantage
Ranked #285 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fot the money”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed mid june, in the attic room. Very basic room but served me well. Very steep stair but its the norm for amsterdam. Hotel overall cleanliness was excellent. The vending machines were a life saver. There are some smoking rooms available, which is becoming harder to find. Located opposite the zoo! which is definitely worth a visit. The surrounding area is very pleasant. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    129
    132
    57
    74
See reviews for
48
189
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Very good. We arrived very late, but the woker was waiting for us .
The woker was very kind. He told me that even after the next day when we checked out they could also keep our suitcase until 11pm.
The room is clean, quiet and confortable with a very big bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank hui l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam very much with a big part of that being where we stayed. It was perfect location, homely cosy and the actual building was very cool. We couldn't of asked for better :) Also Rob the receptionist - very nice and helpful!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. We had a very large room with 5 beds. Hotel was very affordable. Approx 20 min walk from centre. A little noisy with the tram stop right outside. Great hotel to crash in! Would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My friend and I, went to Amsterdam last minute and needed a cheap hotel, so we booked in at Hotel Plantage. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms were standard but very clean which was nice. For what we were staying for, it was nice. The only problem is that is it a 20-25 minute walk to Dam Square. However, apart from that, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbie_Grace2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Quick easy book in ,attic room in middle no 36 ,few lights not working nor did our safe,rooms are basic but we only went room only anyway,beds were clean ,you don't get free Beveridges anymore they are 1Euro and the stairs are steep but you expect that in Amsterdam,and walls are very thin you hear everything ,traffic outside to is noisy,easy to get to tram no9 from central station to artis .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank eviefo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zabbar, null, Malta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I wanted a hotel where just take a shower and sleep in. So me and my friends went for one of the cheapest hotel in Amsterdam, and have to say we were really impressed. The room was fine, shower and toilet clean, clean towels every day, customer service great, close to tram stop, 15 mins walk to the central station, the neighborhood is great including restaurants, supermarkets and also a lovely park.

I definitely would recommend this hotel to all my friends.

The only drawback was the Wifi. It is horrible

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#300 of 367 in Amsterdam
636 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#232 of 367 in Amsterdam
436 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#274 of 367 in Amsterdam
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Kap
Hotel Kap
#299 of 367 in Amsterdam
206 reviews
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#227 of 367 in Amsterdam
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plantage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plantage

Property: Hotel Plantage
Address: Plantage Kerklaan 25, 1018 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #285 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plantage 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the greenest area in the centre of Amsterdam Hotel Plantage offers very comfortable rooms (private shower/toilet, TV, fridge) and apartments for a two star hotel: one single, 4 twins, 2 big rooms for 4/5 persons, one-bedroom- and two-bedroom apartment. Season, mid-week, longer stay discounts possible. Situated in a 130 years old former private dwelling in the beautiful eastern part of the centre called Plantage, which started in the 17th century as a garden, it now features the Amsterdam City Zoo "Artis" across the street from the hotel, 20 restaurants of different nationalities within 50 meters, Rembrandt House, Flee Market, Maritime Museum, Tropical Museum and more within walking distance. Four tramlines around the corner connect with other parts of the city within minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plantage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantage Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing