We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect holiday!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad
Ranked #26 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed with Sylvia and Theo in July 2013. They both are amazing hosts - very warm and kind. Their boat is beautiful and its location is great. So if you want to experience living on the boat in Amsterdam we cannot recommend a better place. Also, the boat is very well designed to give the guests private space - including kitchen space and a private deck.

They are also very close to tram stop and have bikes for hire, so also ideally located for seeing the city. They were also very kind to leave a bottle of bubbly and some chocolates in our fridge when we returned after a day of sight-seeing, which was then ideal to take up to the deck and relax with. The breakfast they serve is amazing - croissants, yogurt with fruits, cheese, bread selection, juice (we are both vegetarians). We had breakfast on the deck and it was amazing. We also actually ate our dinner also on the deck and watched the sun set. It was truly beautiful. The day we left, I had to leave early and Sylvia was very kind to leave breakfast for me in the fridge. All in all staying with them really made it feel like the perfect holiday!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deeksha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBdeDageraad, Owner at Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you for the kind words and I hope that the public transport got you in time at the airport. Maybe see you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Sylvia&Theo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
55
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Findlay, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Four of us stayed on the de Dageraad for four nights in mid-June. What a great experience! Sylvia and Theo were exceptional hosts and made us feel more than welcome. The boat is extraordinary with exceptional attention to detail. The setting is beautiful, with easy access to the central city. The breakfasts were a work of art. There is an excellent tapas restaurant within easy walking distance, for evening dining. Sylvia and Theo were kind enough to meet us at Centraal Station, which was a huge benefit to us first timers. We LOVE Amsterdam and would gladly return to the city and de Dageraad ASAP!

Room Tip: Both are outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

This was the first stop on our cycling trip from Amsterdam to Copenhagen and the the boat was superb.

Sylvia and Theo are warm and accomodation, we were greeted with a bottle of bubbly, the rooms are superb and the breakfasts were out of this world. Set you up so well you barely need any lunch.

The kitchen is quite compact for 4 people but superbly appointed and we didn't need for anything.

The location is sightly out of the centre but takes barely 10 mins on a bike and you can hire them very cheaply from Sylvia and Theo.

I could not recommend this more - get it booked!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drgeorge13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBdeDageraad, Owner at Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thanks again for staying with us and those beautiful words. Have a nice summer and maybe see you in the near future. By the way ,greetings to your friends from us.

Warm regards,

Sylvia&Theo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

This is our first time staying in a houseboat & will definitely do it again! Location is quiet with a wonderful view of the sea. Place is clean, cosy and have heating from the floor so that we have a nice & warm feel to our feet, love it because it has a homely feel :] Breakfast was delicious that was elegantly presented each morning. Ahhh....we must not forget to mention our most helpful & friendly hosts - Theo & Sylvia, who help us to google to find the places that we wish to visit & found an english church for us to attend on sunday! This were the experiences that is hard to forget. Not only did Theo pick us from central station but also offer to fetch us there when we leave at no extra charges, don't think we can find such services anywhere else! Highly recommended for sure :))

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byram, Mississippi
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

Located in the quiet Zeeburg district, this b & b lies only a 10 minute tram ride from the major tourist destinations. The room we stayed in (there are only two guest rooms) was well appointed and the bed was very comfortable. The owners, Sylvia & Theo, picked us up from central station and welcomed us with an assortment of pastries and a bottle of prosecco.

My wife and I usually prefer to stay at hotels and we were a little apprehensive about staying at a b&b, thinking it would feel like being a stranger's house guest, but we had all the privacy we wanted.

I would stay here again and recommend this b&b without reservations.

Helpful?
Thank Cameron B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tijeras, New Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Theo and Sylvia are wonderful hosts. The boat isn't far from transportation an is in a quiet place. The room we stayed in was comfortable for the three of us(husband, adult son, and myself) and the swan that poked his head in our porthole the last morning! The breakfasts were wonderful and included cheese, meat rolls, eggs, homemade scones and more. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Both rooms have their own bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Our 2 night stay on the boat and breakfast was delightful. Theo and Sylvia picked us up from the train station and welcomed us very warmly in their brand new home.
The rooms are spotless, very nice beds, nice and modern bathroom.And breakfast was fantastic!
You can enjoy wonderful views over the river and relax on the deck in the sunshine. The area is very quiet, though very close to the city.
Theo and Sylvia were very helpful, giving us some good advice for our visits. The bike rental is very practical.
And to finish, we were very happy that Theo unexpectedly offered to drive us back to the station!

Thank you and good luck to them!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulinegeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBdeDageraad, Owner at Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thank you for your kind words, hope to see you again some day.

Warm regards,

Sylvia and Theo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
The Guest-Houseboat
The Guest-Houseboat
#76 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Bed Breakfast Boat
Bed Breakfast Boat
#41 of 225 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Vita Nova
Vita Nova
#112 of 329 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Tulipa Bed & Breakfast
Tulipa Bed & Breakfast
#36 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
De Pijp
Houseboat Little Amstel
Houseboat Little Amstel
#47 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad

Property: Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad
Address: Ertskade 2 | 1019BB, 1019 BB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on the water in the Venice of the North: Amsterdam. This completely renovated B&B offers two luxury rooms with private bathrooms on this converted barge. The B&B has a private entrance on the boat, there is a breakfast kitchen for the guests, and you can enjoy the grand view of the eastern docklands on the deck terrace on a nice summer's day. Getting to and from the major highlights of Amsterdam (the canals, the museums) takes some easy 15 minutes by tram. Rental bikes are available at the ship. It is the perfect place to explore the city during the day and retreat to this peaceful B&B on the water for the night. If you arrive at the Central Station we can pick you up with our station wagon. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing