We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast on the water is fantastic!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad
Ranked #20 of 343 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

A wonderful experience being on the water with top notch accommodations and beautiful hosts (thank you Sylvia and Theo).
Tranquil water views yet just a short tram ride to the hustle and bustle of the city center.
A 5 minute walk along the water to a great little tapas restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilmachado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Sylvia and Theo were were both friendly and professional. The accommodation was spotless!! It was peaceful and tranquil. Perfect for a couple or a small family. It is only three very shot stops on the tram. Close enough to the city and far enough from the madness at the same time.

Both hosts were extremely helpful and the breakfast each morning was to die for! Oh, and the waffels! Thanks Sylvia
Martina and Gerard - Dublin

Room Tip: The entire boat was quite, which was exactly what we were looking for. Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My friends an I had a wonderful time at the Boat & Breakfast. Theo and Sylvia are wonderful hosts! Breakfast was our favourite part, it was delicious. Theo even received and dropped us off at the train station which helped us out a whole lot. We would definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AyeshaErkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

we enjoyed a three night stay in this beautiful boat! Sylvia and Theo are great hosts who are friendly and very happy to assist with touristy questions.

the boat is in an ideal location for hopping onto a tram and exploring the city.

the breakfasts prepared by Sylvia each morning are plentiful and just what you need before a day exploring the sights.

i would definitely recommend this accommodation to anyone fancying a change from the traditional hotel accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunseeker0223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We were 2 couples travelling to Amsterdam and we decided to stay at Theo & Slyvia's houseboat. I can safely say that this was the best decision we made and Theo & Slyvia did their bit to make it a memorable experience for us.

The boat and the stay: Theo was there to receive us at the central station and drive us back to the houseboat. We received a warm welcome (with a nice welcome drink and traditional dutch waffles) and both the hosts were very welcoming in their response to all our eager questions and travels. Since we had booked both the rooms, we had our privacy to an entire half of the boat. Theo & Slyvia have very professionally kept a lot of discount traveller coupons which you can just take off the wall and use to save some sightseeing/dining money. The rooms as such were very cosy with floor heating. Everything was very clean. the beds are very good and ensure that you get a good sleep. The wifi speed is good.

The icing on the cake: On the deck they have 4 chairs and a table. And on a day with nice weather they serve you breakfast on the deck which makes it a unique and memorable experience. We loved Theo & Slyvia for this experience.

Room Tip: One room has a bathroom without a door. But is the better of the two rooms from all other aspects.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rahul81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Sylvia and Theo were the most friendly host who genuinely care about us as guests and wanted us to have a good time in Amsterdam. They were very accommodating for our late arrival. The location was great as the access to central Amsterdam was simple and quick. The breakfast was fresh, healthy, and delicious.
“Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad” was the highlight of our stay in Amsterdam.

Thank you Sylvia and Theo! It was a pleasure to know both of you!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We ( 2 couples) lived in this lovely and well- decorated houseboat for 1 night in February. Theo and Sylvia are really nice and friendly, as well as their lovely dog ;)
Not to mention the welcome drink and traditional dutch waffle, the breakfast was very nice and tasty!
We will defiantly recommend our friends to stay at this houseboat when they visit Amsterdam.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Vivian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel IX Amsterdam
Hotel IX Amsterdam
#27 of 343 in Amsterdam
120 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#31 of 343 in Amsterdam
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
NINE-T-TEEN B&B
NINE-T-TEEN B&B
#77 of 343 in Amsterdam
43 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Boutique B&B Kamer01
Boutique B&B Kamer01
#2 of 343 in Amsterdam
493 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Posthoorn
The Posthoorn
#25 of 343 in Amsterdam
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad

Address: Ertskade 2 | 1019bb, 1019 BB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 343 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £102 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on the water in the Venice of the North: Amsterdam. This completely renovated B&B offers two luxury rooms with private bathrooms on this converted barge. The B&B has a private entrance on the boat, there is a breakfast kitchen for the guests, and you can enjoy the grand view of the eastern docklands on the deck terrace on a nice summer's day. Getting to and from the major highlights of Amsterdam (the canals, the museums) takes some easy 15 minutes by tram. Rental bikes are available at the ship. It is the perfect place to explore the city during the day and retreat to this peaceful B&B on the water for the night. If you arrive at the Central Station we can pick you up with our station wagon. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing