We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must go to bar”
Review of Cafe Schilders

Cafe Schilders
Ranked #63 of 108 Coffee & Tea in Amsterdam
Price range: US$7 - US$29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: De Pijp
Description: We are Cafe Schilders (Painters; named after the neighborhood that is the Painters district), a cozy bar in the heart of Amsterdam's “de Pijp” next to the Albert Cuyp market. Fancy a nice lunch with delicious coffee or in need of a strong beer with a warm chicken from the rottiserie? Breakfast-Lunch-Dinner Drinks-we do it all!
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A must go to bar”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

This bar was recommended by the hotel Sir Albert around the corner . We were looking for a Dutch bar . Went twice - first time Friday approx 5pm - very buzzy. Despite being full the staff kept very good service. We returned on the Saturday lunch time to have lunch - very chilled - again good service and well executed food. To cap it off - I left my sun glasses on the Friday - when I returned they were sitting behind the bar awaiting my return - honest staff !

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    18
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Medium Food Quality, long waiting time.”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We went to Cafe Schilders to have a small lunch with a group of friends. The place is really good located in De Pijp. Lovely decor and atmosphere. The waiter approched us immediately to take our drink order. After 5 minutes he came back to take our lunch order. From there it took them 40 minutes to bring us a Club Sandwich and two soups.
Overall good place to be.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marzetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“relax in an easy going café and feast on grilled chicken”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This is one of those hidden gems that you just have to know about, or you'll miss it. We went there after a friend's recommendation. She was so right about the excellent grilled chicken (plus traditional apple sauce), home style french fries (with skin on) friendly staff and surpisingly good snails for starters. Mildly priced, water for free.
At walking distance from Leidseplein, yet completely away from touristic trash.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bertha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aqaba
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good and simple food as it is mend to be in a nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Easy going cafe with a good atmosphere to spend your evening. When I was there only three dishes could be chosen. All three of them basic but cooked perfectly. Bartender was a little slow, but that is ok in such a relaxing place

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jelmer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Friendly Service, food is slow to come but tasty”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

This was my first time here, and I was expecting the typical Dutch customer service (inattentive student bartenders), but the staff was really friendly. The rotisserie chicken is really tasty (it comes with fries, and you can sub them out for a small salad). Don't go there for a quick snack on the run - it takes a while for the food to come out, but if time isn't an issue and you're in De Pijp, check it out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adricornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Schilders also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe Schilders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing