We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel van Onna
Nearby Hotels
US$352
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$663
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$445
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$276
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$315
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$278
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$324
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (956)
Filter reviews
957 results
Traveller rating
162
412
272
80
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
412
272
80
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanne frank museumthree nightsminute walkperfect locationjordaancanalstairstramcafes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
279 - 284 of 957 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Great little hotel with canal right out the front door and you can hear the church bells. Located very near "The Anne Frank House' Has that European flavor. Steep narrow stairs, clean rooms and bathroom. Excellent continental breakfast. Staff very helpful. I would recommend this hotel anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Viewed the hotel online, liked what I saw. I've stayed in different hotels in Amsterdam on several occasions. This one let me down the most. Single room was TINY! With my 3 bags on the floor beside the bed; there was no floor left! My view was of an old wooden shed, not a canal! Staff weren't willing to do anything with some small requests I had...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Three years ago we stayed at Hotel van Onna during our first visit to Amsterdam and we were blown away by the location, the room (in the attic), the view (canal & Westerkerk!), and especially the friendliness of the staff. This time, though the location still can't be beat, we were quite disappointed by the staff, the room, and the breakfast. We were surprised by the greeting of the man in the office - compared to our last visit there. Very unfriendly - almost bordering on rude - and seemingly annoyed at our arrival. The room was VERY small - even for only two people. We have traveled quite a bit about Europe so we understand that rooms run small but this room was challenging. The mattress was more like a cot and the towels (only 1 each!) were just sadly inadequate. The wall next to the window slanted out into the room so we had to remember to lean away from the wall to stop banging into it every time we walked around the foot of the bed. I got creative in the bathroom by turning over the trash can to use as 'counter' space and used the cleaning bucket left under the sink as a trash can. So happy though that staff left the squeegee in there for us to clean up the floor after our showers. On a positive note concerning the room, we had a lovely view of the canal and Westerkerk - hearing the bells that Anne Frank heard is uniquely Amsterdam. Lastly, the breakfast left a lot to be desired...8 (!) pieces of bread (not even lovely European rolls) for the two of us with only 2 pieces of ham/cheese. Another guest came in the dining room and asked for some juice and was told there was no juice - only coffee or tea. For as much as one pays to stay at Hotel van Onna, surely some juice could be provided. The location made it so easy to get around the city but I think if we return to Amsterdam we'll look into another place to stay. If the man in the office had been nicer and more welcoming, we could have overlooked everything else that was a little off about this stay and been more forgiving with the review, which I think is a fair one considering we have another visit at Hotel van Onna to compare it to.

Room Tip: The attic room is incredible - very roomy and the view of the canal is stunning. They don't guarantee this room even specifically requesting and an early enough reservation, but give it a try - it makes the the lack of a decent breakfast worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The hotel is pleasant, beds comfortable, service good. I would have liked fruit for breakfast. I don't know how much more i have to say except that the location is good and service also....why do you oblige us to write so much?




  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Nice location, friendly & helpful staff, clean and tidy property. The beds were damn uncomfortable - the mattresses were too soft for my back. Eventually doublecheck that / ask for comfortable matresses as you move in and you may be fine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank GorogLevente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews