We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amsterdam City Break”
Review of Hotel van Onna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel van Onna
Ranked #198 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amsterdam City Break”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Family run hotel in a quiet area of the Jordaan, 15-20 min walk from Centraal Station and 5 mins from the nearest tram stop. Single room was basic but cleaned daily with a small safe for any valuables. Simple breakfast served between 8-10am by the friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    409
    271
    76
    31
See reviews for
136
359
164
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This small hotel is right on the Prisengracht (one of the main canals in Amsterdam). Our room had a view of the side street - unfortunate that we didn't get to see the canal but I heard the canal rooms in some hotels could be noisy.

The Jordaan district is a very nice place to stay. It's quiet, right near the Anne Frank House and easy to access with public transportation/trams. The closest stop is at Westermarkt by the Westerkerk church, which is only a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel.

Breakfast is wonderful and consists of: coffee or tea, 1 hardboiled egg, homemade bread (white and wheat), some kind of crispy biscuit, jam, butter and chocolate sprinkles (dutch use sprinkles and butter on their bread). Also some kind of yummy spanish-type ham (serrano?) and cheese. The waitress in the morning was super nice and answered our questions about how we were supposed to use the sprinkles.

Our hotel room was on the second floor and my husband and I shared a room with two twin beds pushed together. It was a little cold and we stayed in the end of October. There were extra blankets provided. The beds were comfy enough and we slept well.

The hotel was clean, neat and tidy. It has a nice entrance on the street.

Be very very wary about bicyclists!! They will run you over if you are not careful.

What prevents this hotel from being a higher rating:
1) There is no separate bathtub in the bathroom -- the shower opens up onto the floor and makes a wet mess. There is a squeegee provided to help mop up the mess, but it's impossible to go back in the bathroom after showering with socks on. It's too wet. There should be a fan or something to dry the air out as it gets pretty steamy as well.

2) Maybe I'm being picky but it would be so nice to have a shelf in the shower to put stuff on

3) The front office guy when we checked in was accomodating but it didn't seem like his English was very good. We had some questions about the Anne Frank museum he was unable to answer for us and didn't seem to care to help us find those answers.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 43 which was upstairs. Our friend stayed in room 38 which was downstairs and a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler7746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Great little hotel with canal right out the front door and you can hear the church bells. Located very near "The Anne Frank House' Has that European flavor. Steep narrow stairs, clean rooms and bathroom. Excellent continental breakfast. Staff very helpful. I would recommend this hotel anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Entebbe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Viewed the hotel online, liked what I saw. I've stayed in different hotels in Amsterdam on several occasions. This one let me down the most. Single room was TINY! With my 3 bags on the floor beside the bed; there was no floor left! My view was of an old wooden shed, not a canal! Staff weren't willing to do anything with some small requests I had...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Centennial, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Three years ago we stayed at Hotel van Onna during our first visit to Amsterdam and we were blown away by the location, the room (in the attic), the view (canal & Westerkerk!), and especially the friendliness of the staff. This time, though the location still can't be beat, we were quite disappointed by the staff, the room, and the breakfast. We were surprised by the greeting of the man in the office - compared to our last visit there. Very unfriendly - almost bordering on rude - and seemingly annoyed at our arrival. The room was VERY small - even for only two people. We have traveled quite a bit about Europe so we understand that rooms run small but this room was challenging. The mattress was more like a cot and the towels (only 1 each!) were just sadly inadequate. The wall next to the window slanted out into the room so we had to remember to lean away from the wall to stop banging into it every time we walked around the foot of the bed. I got creative in the bathroom by turning over the trash can to use as 'counter' space and used the cleaning bucket left under the sink as a trash can. So happy though that staff left the squeegee in there for us to clean up the floor after our showers. On a positive note concerning the room, we had a lovely view of the canal and Westerkerk - hearing the bells that Anne Frank heard is uniquely Amsterdam. Lastly, the breakfast left a lot to be desired...8 (!) pieces of bread (not even lovely European rolls) for the two of us with only 2 pieces of ham/cheese. Another guest came in the dining room and asked for some juice and was told there was no juice - only coffee or tea. For as much as one pays to stay at Hotel van Onna, surely some juice could be provided. The location made it so easy to get around the city but I think if we return to Amsterdam we'll look into another place to stay. If the man in the office had been nicer and more welcoming, we could have overlooked everything else that was a little off about this stay and been more forgiving with the review, which I think is a fair one considering we have another visit at Hotel van Onna to compare it to.

Room Tip: The attic room is incredible - very roomy and the view of the canal is stunning. They don't guar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The hotel is pleasant, beds comfortable, service good. I would have liked fruit for breakfast. I don't know how much more i have to say except that the location is good and service also....why do you oblige us to write so much?




  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#136 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#80 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#128 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#117 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,904 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#220 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#192 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel van Onna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Onna

Property: Hotel van Onna
Address: Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel van Onna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Onna Hotel
Van Onna Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing