We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Successful trip to Amsterdam!”
Review of Hotel van Onna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel van Onna
Ranked #209 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 3 November 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (955)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 956 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Family run hotel in a quiet area of the Jordaan, 15-20 min walk from Centraal Station and 5 mins from the nearest tram stop. Single room was basic but cleaned daily with a small safe for any valuables. Simple breakfast served between 8-10am by the friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This small hotel is right on the Prisengracht (one of the main canals in Amsterdam). Our room had a view of the side street - unfortunate that we didn't get to see the canal but I heard the canal rooms in some hotels could be noisy.

The Jordaan district is a very nice place to stay. It's quiet, right near the Anne Frank House and easy to access with public transportation/trams. The closest stop is at Westermarkt by the Westerkerk church, which is only a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel.

Breakfast is wonderful and consists of: coffee or tea, 1 hardboiled egg, homemade bread (white and wheat), some kind of crispy biscuit, jam, butter and chocolate sprinkles (dutch use sprinkles and butter on their bread). Also some kind of yummy spanish-type ham (serrano?) and cheese. The waitress in the morning was super nice and answered our questions about how we were supposed to use the sprinkles.

Our hotel room was on the second floor and my husband and I shared a room with two twin beds pushed together. It was a little cold and we stayed in the end of October. There were extra blankets provided. The beds were comfy enough and we slept well.

The hotel was clean, neat and tidy. It has a nice entrance on the street.

Be very very wary about bicyclists!! They will run you over if you are not careful.

What prevents this hotel from being a higher rating:
1) There is no separate bathtub in the bathroom -- the shower opens up onto the floor and makes a wet mess. There is a squeegee provided to help mop up the mess, but it's impossible to go back in the bathroom after showering with socks on. It's too wet. There should be a fan or something to dry the air out as it gets pretty steamy as well.

2) Maybe I'm being picky but it would be so nice to have a shelf in the shower to put stuff on

3) The front office guy when we checked in was accomodating but it didn't seem like his English was very good. We had some questions about the Anne Frank museum he was unable to answer for us and didn't seem to care to help us find those answers.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 43 which was upstairs. Our friend stayed in room 38 which was downstairs and a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler7746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Great little hotel with canal right out the front door and you can hear the church bells. Located very near "The Anne Frank House' Has that European flavor. Steep narrow stairs, clean rooms and bathroom. Excellent continental breakfast. Staff very helpful. I would recommend this hotel anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Viewed the hotel online, liked what I saw. I've stayed in different hotels in Amsterdam on several occasions. This one let me down the most. Single room was TINY! With my 3 bags on the floor beside the bed; there was no floor left! My view was of an old wooden shed, not a canal! Staff weren't willing to do anything with some small requests I had...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Three years ago we stayed at Hotel van Onna during our first visit to Amsterdam and we were blown away by the location, the room (in the attic), the view (canal & Westerkerk!), and especially the friendliness of the staff. This time, though the location still can't be beat, we were quite disappointed by the staff, the room, and the breakfast. We were surprised by the greeting of the man in the office - compared to our last visit there. Very unfriendly - almost bordering on rude - and seemingly annoyed at our arrival. The room was VERY small - even for only two people. We have traveled quite a bit about Europe so we understand that rooms run small but this room was challenging. The mattress was more like a cot and the towels (only 1 each!) were just sadly inadequate. The wall next to the window slanted out into the room so we had to remember to lean away from the wall to stop banging into it every time we walked around the foot of the bed. I got creative in the bathroom by turning over the trash can to use as 'counter' space and used the cleaning bucket left under the sink as a trash can. So happy though that staff left the squeegee in there for us to clean up the floor after our showers. On a positive note concerning the room, we had a lovely view of the canal and Westerkerk - hearing the bells that Anne Frank heard is uniquely Amsterdam. Lastly, the breakfast left a lot to be desired...8 (!) pieces of bread (not even lovely European rolls) for the two of us with only 2 pieces of ham/cheese. Another guest came in the dining room and asked for some juice and was told there was no juice - only coffee or tea. For as much as one pays to stay at Hotel van Onna, surely some juice could be provided. The location made it so easy to get around the city but I think if we return to Amsterdam we'll look into another place to stay. If the man in the office had been nicer and more welcoming, we could have overlooked everything else that was a little off about this stay and been more forgiving with the review, which I think is a fair one considering we have another visit at Hotel van Onna to compare it to.

Room Tip: The attic room is incredible - very roomy and the view of the canal is stunning. They don't guar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#96 of 375 in Amsterdam
367 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#101 of 375 in Amsterdam
894 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#147 of 375 in Amsterdam
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
#274 of 375 in Amsterdam
509 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel De Looier
Hotel De Looier
#317 of 375 in Amsterdam
375 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#98 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel van Onna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Onna

Address: Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £60 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel van Onna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Onna Hotel
Van Onna Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing