We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
Review of Hotel van Onna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel van Onna
Ranked #206 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Very tiny hotel but very clean and very quiet. You will find an excellent service and excellent location. This location allows you to visit all places in the Centre. It’s a walking distance to everything. Anna Frank House and also Dam Square is near by. Hotel Van Onna is very good value for money and we would stay there again. The staff was helpful and extremely friendly. Breakfast being included in the cost was a great bonus. We were also thrilled to get a free upgrade to bedroom with a canal view! And it wasn’t noisy at all!

Breakfast is wonderful and consists of: coffee or tea, 1 hardboiled egg, ham and cheese, homemade bread (white and wheat), some kind of crispy biscuit, jam, butter and chocolate sprinkles.


The hotel has a nice entrance on the street.

We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noolka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (956)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 956 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

This was very good value for money. My room, in the annex, was tiny, and very basic but clean and perfectly fine for the price. The hotel is in a great location, a real Amsterdam neighbourhood and very central, right on a canal. Not too touristy, and charming. The breakfast was also very good. Only problem was that I was kept up at night by noisy guests returning from their big night out ( it was a Saturday) and shouting, banging up and down the stairs. But hey for sixty euros I really can't complain.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank NewYorkH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Highlight: not too far from the railway station (15 mn walking) and in the middle of Jordan.
I got a room at the top of the annexe.
Shower very, very small: a lesson for profitable space.
The hotel is simple and clean. What I ask for one night stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Cecile F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Hotel Van Onna is a very nice hotel. The location is excellent, our room was small but clean. Very friendly staff. The breakfast was OK! Wifi worked well!
Nice view from our window. We defenitely had a pleasent stay!




  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Patsie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

All modernized inside. Deceptively busy for a small building in the Jordaan. No shelving or hooks of any kind in the bathroom. No shower curtain - a long-handled squeegee propped in the corner to create a dry floor for yourself after a shower. No TV. But for 50 euro, it's still a great deal. Large breakfast, good coffee.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roscoplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I highly recommend this hotel. It included modest breakfast of coffee/tea, break, cheese, meat, a hard boiled egg and jam. My room was clean and simple, perfect place to crash for a few nights. (I only stayed one night). Keep in mind it is a SIMPLE place, no bells and whistles, not a fancy bed, not much space, but that was exactly what I was looking for. A great value.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnschwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I found the hotel to be very clean. I was not a big fan of the wet room bathroom but the water was hot. The bed was basic but very comfortable pillows and bedding. And the area is so quiet you sleep like a baby. Except... the maid begin waking you very early with loud talking and banging. I was very sick for about 3 days and there are no signs for Do Not Disturb, so I asked the front desk for them to come late in afternoon. That worked better for me...but they bothered me constantly about towels and loud talking in hallways. That is not acceptable. Remember, people are on holiday and want to do what they want. And if that means sleeping in... let them..and go about your duties quietly. Quit trying to rush them out of the room so you can clean.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank jernben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#106 of 374 in Amsterdam
352 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#136 of 374 in Amsterdam
464 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#87 of 374 in Amsterdam
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
#278 of 374 in Amsterdam
504 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#100 of 374 in Amsterdam
4,032 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#309 of 374 in Amsterdam
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel van Onna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Onna

Address: Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £74 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel van Onna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Onna Hotel
Van Onna Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing