We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Hotel van Onna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel van Onna
Ranked #210 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 23 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Céline S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (956)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 956 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were extremely disappointed with the room given to us. So unlike the pictures in the website. Also, guests should be aware that a 5% surcharge is added when paying with credit card except Maestro cards. This should be disclosed in the easytobook website. When staying in the "older" buildings, be aware that guests have to climb a spiral staircase with very narrow steps which make it extremely difficult for travellers with heavy and large luggages. Unfortunately, we were given the room in the 4th floor which appeared to be an attic transformed into a room for 3 people. The flooring in this room is not even which makes guests dizzy when walking inside the room. I will not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Memett2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel for three nights, and eveything was great. The breakfast was delicious and satisfying, and the accommodation was justa what we needed. I would definately stay there again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank smoothberries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We recently stayed at Hotel Van Onna in a room based on four for 3 nights. I can honestly say that you get what you pay for. We paid 570 euros for 4 nights including a basic but filling breakfast. The rooms were also very basic but clean. The room consisted of 4 single beds (again basic but comfy) and a reasonably sized bathroom. Our hotel room was located in the building next door to the hotel reception. To get to the room, please be aware that the stairs are very steep therefore i would not recommend this hotel to the elderly or disabled however you can request a ground floor room. The location was spot on, a 5-10 minute walk to Dam square and a 15 minute walk from the train station. If you have a lot of bags i would advise taking a taxi for around 7 euros from the train station.The reception staff were helpful in providing directions and booking taxis. All in all, we had a very pleasant stay and will be returning back to this hotel on our next trip. I have stayed in worse hotels in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Drawn to the location in the beautiful Joordan area of the city as it is close to Anne Frank's House and on the main canal routes. Rooms are very basic with a tiny bathroom. No TV or tea / coffee.
Wifi didn't work. Breakfast was very basic.

Also don't take a car there as reasonably priced parking is a tram ride away.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank TimWestern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sindre Pal S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#107 of 373 in Amsterdam
356 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#86 of 373 in Amsterdam
890 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#138 of 373 in Amsterdam
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
#275 of 373 in Amsterdam
506 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#99 of 373 in Amsterdam
4,042 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#310 of 373 in Amsterdam
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel van Onna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Onna

Address: Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £66 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel van Onna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Onna Hotel
Van Onna Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing