We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
Ranked #200 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    106
    45
    17
    16
See reviews for
27
51
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Have just spent 3 nights here and really enjoyed our stay. got upgraded on our arrival to a very clean spacious room. breakfast more than adequate and hotel very central. would stay here again.value for money

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights with friends and a child. Second night we supposed to get a private apartment for X money, but they told us the next day that bathtub had broken (huh?) and that thay are giving us a big room and free breakfast for free, which we did not get in the first place. Hotel owner made a face, that we are making up the free breakfast, even though the reception-guy had promised us that. Later things got sorted out and they apologized. Anyway a perfect location for us and quite good value for this money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The hotel was great ! We originally booked a three person room but having gained a fourth musketeer we rang and asked for a four person room , this was only a week or two before our arrival and unfortunately there were no other rooms available but we agreed we would not mind having an extra bed put in for an extra 80 euros for the three nights , when we arrived at the hotel we were told there had been a problem and that the room we had booked was not available ......... This turned out to be a blessing ! They upgraded us to one of the flats that they own just a few doors down from the hotel , it was perfect , nice open space , good views over the square and a kitchen and English tv . The flat was situated right in the centre of the nightlife so is quite loud at night but we were fine with it . Lots of good restaurants and bars near by also shops to get food and drinks to take back . Under our flat was a pizza place and a coffee shop , also a wine bar and a wagamamas a stones throw away , seemed fine for smoking as ashtrays in room and we smoked some seriously stinky stuff in there and the maid didn't say a word when she dropped of the towels in the morning ,just smiled and went about her day , got tripping and had a right giggle , re arranged the room into a sordid love pit and made a spag bowl from fresh ingredients bought from a waitrose type shop across the road from the flat , only thing is they only take card there ?! Wtf I know ? Any way top knotch place if you are looking for a cheeky weekend in the dam , lots of coffee shops near by , close to the red light , close to the nightlife . Word to the wise renting bikes and getting so stoned you can barely see really doesn't work out . Peace x

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancaster
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

I went with my friends last year, this place was in a great location, close to everything you need to visit in Amsterdam. Lots of coffee shops near by . You also have a Starbucks right opposite the place in case you don't wake up in time for breakfast . We got a 6 person apartment suite We were 5 of us and it worked out really affordable. It was around 50 euros per night. Clean rooms, clean toilet. It's a bit noisy at night. But hey, it's Amsterdam I'm sure you all wan the noise :) definitely going there again :) I went there in July 2012.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank r g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
225 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

It is in the smack of the city and you reach everything easily, the price is fair for the quality of the apartment at nr 10. We stayed with 6 friends and of course one toilet is not much but the cleanliness was ok and the personal is easy going. Good to go with friends there

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jopie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This place was perfect! We read the reviews and chose right! Compared to other options, this is considered budget and we were thrilled! The room was clean and spacious enough. Its Amsterdam and who cares how big the room is because you shouldn't be spending much time there. The service was tops! All staff were very friendly, interested and interesting. Always helpful with directions and recommendations. 10 min. walk to Central Station and enough on the outskirts of the RLD(10 min.) walk to keep it quite and feeling right. This will definitely be where we stay in Amsterdam in the future!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GullyWasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#187 of 367 in Amsterdam
355 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#120 of 367 in Amsterdam
444 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#217 of 367 in Amsterdam
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#295 of 367 in Amsterdam
468 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#300 of 367 in Amsterdam
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Rembrandt Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Rembrandt Square

Property: City Hotel Rembrandt Square
Address: Utrechtsestraat 2, 1017 VN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — City Hotel Rembrandt Square 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City hotel is a cosy family owned hotel which exists already more than 100 years. The beautiful monumental building of the hotel is located in the heart of Amsterdam city centre, in one of the corners of the famous Rembrandt Square (Rembrandtplein in dutch) where the nice sculptures of the Night Watch are exhibited. The atmosphere is as if you were welcomed by family. The hotel is suitable for group of friends, families and youngsters. Children and babies are very welcome as well. A very generous continental Breakfast can be arranged upon request. The hotel is reachable 24/7, our receptionists are always happy to help and will make sure you will have a pleasant stay. The ambiance is full of an intensive spirit all day long and you can enjoy a wide range of popular bars, cafés, restaurants, nightclubs and shops. At a very short walking distance you can reach the Dam, the Flower Market, Waterloo Plein, or to take a tram to reach the principal museums like the Rijksmuseum and the Van Goch Museum. You can also turn to the close canal tour, at a few minute walk. Organised tours are also available to book at a visitor centre just less than a minute walk from the hotel. You have endless possibilities in a walking distance. The Hotel offers all types of rooms, from single occupancy to 8 persons rooms. Most of the rooms are private rooms with private shower and toilet but you can also choose for a lower price accommodation and share the shower and the toilet with another room. The rooms are very clean, cosy and full of light with an outstanding view. Towels and linen are included in the room price. City Hotel Policies & Conditions: Cancellation policy: 72 hours before arrival. Check in from 14:00 to 23:00 . Check out before 11:00 . Payment upon arrival by cash, credit cards. This property may pre-authorise your card before arrival. Taxes included. Breakfast not included - 10.00 EUR per person per day. General: 24 hour Reception. No curfew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Hotel Rembrandt Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing