We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, affordable and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
Ranked #203 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Salzburg, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Central, affordable and friendly”
Reviewed 19 April 2007

Just returend from a 5-days Amsterdam trip together with my boyfriend. We had no problems at all while staying at the City Hotel (Utrechtsestr 2, above The Old Bell).

Rooms were clean and spacious, so were bathroom and all other facilities. Breakfast buffet was opulent and staff were friendly and helpful.

Previous comments about stolen items were probably written with regard to the "other" City Hotel in Prins Hendrikkade.

We had no problems whatsoever with theft, broken doors
If anything, earplugs proved to be essential due to the hotel location on Rembrandtplein, where nightlife rocks.

During future stays in Amsterdam we'd absolutely stay at the City Hotel again and have no problems recommending it to anyone who's searching for an affordable, safe and clean place to stay!

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — noise from outside due to bars, clubs, restaurants
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GreenTravelCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    108
    45
    19
    16
See reviews for
28
53
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
derry city
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2007

Just returned from 3rd stay at city Hotel in amsterdam in the last 10 months, travelling with family and group of lads. Daughter has booked with group of girls in february and freinds have booked for march. This hotel belies its 2* status. It is a 5minute walk from central station, and central to all the city's attractions. It is a family-run hotel, with 24 hour reception manned by owner or family member who are helpful and friendly. Rooms are clean and spacious(during various trips, we have had 2bed, 3bed and 4bed rooms) This hotel has completely met our needs on all occasions and is an ideal stopover for the independant traveller. i will be using this hotel again and would have no reservations in recommending it to anyone. Harry Mullan/family/friends from Derry, N.Ireland

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank oldstoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2006

We just stayed here for four nights and I would have no problem recommending this place to my friends. The room was a bit small but newly decorated and clean. Clean sheets every day. Breakfast was buffet but fine for us. If you are like us and spend most of your time out and want a safe, secure (our bedroom had its own free safe!) and clean place to wash and sleep then this is for you.
Great location with lots of bars and places to eat but just far enough away (10 minute walk) from the madness of the Red light area to avoid the" oddballs"
If you have a problem with stairs look elsewhere otherwise I found it a clean modern small hotel with friendly staff and will stay there again the next time I am back.

  • Liked — Claenliness, situation
  • Disliked — A bit noisy outside at night
  • Tips/Secrets — go there
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crawcrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2006

The hotel is a good bargain for Amsterdam. They are roomy rooms and are clean. The best thing about the hotel is the location. It is located on Rembrandtplein in the heart of the city. You can walk to the Central Station and most of the areas are reachable by foot or tram. The tram stops right in front of the hotel. There are many great restaurants, literally, right outside the hotel door. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The only complaint I would have are the stairs. We stayed in the quad room which was on the fourth floor with no elevator. It is not where you would want to stay if you are elderly or infirmed. To haul the suitcases up was quite difficult, not for the faint of heart or the unfit person. Overall, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelBoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2006

Me and my partner recently spent 2 nights in the City Hotel in Amsterdam. The hotel is situated above the Old Bell Pub and is in the centre of Rembrandsplein which is a pretty little square surrounded by pubs, restaurants and a few coffee shops. It is only 5 minutes on the tram from Central Station or 10 minutes on foot. The hotel itself is clean, modern and the staff are nice and freindly. The hotel is open 24 hour so you can stay out to the wee hours without having to worry. The rooms are spacious & clean and come with tv's and plenty of wardrobe space. Towels are also provided. The buffet breakfast is very simple but ideal for grabbing something quick before you head out. We have stayed in this hotel several times now and it is a great place for couples and large groups of friends to stay.

Helpful?
5 Thank Bernies Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 April 2006

Having read all the reviews before we went to (and after i had booked )the City Hotel.
I was wondering what i had let me and my mates into.......
Me and 6 friends have just got back, we had 7 persons in one room very comfortable.
The Hotel staff were verry friendly and helpfull (booking taxi's alarm calls etc).
No one had any thing stolen,nothing was broken, room was clean and tidy showers hot and refreshing.
The Hotel has 24hr security & reception. The location was ideal for us (not our first visit)
All in for what we paid we couldn't (and didn't) complain. My only gripe would have been the baseline window (ill fitting glass vibrated to the music outside).
I personally would go back to the City-Hotel (above the Old Bell Pub).

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2006

This is not the same city hotel as the other reviews, there are two, maybe even three City Hotels, so don't be put off by some of the other comments from previous reviewers, this hotel is in Prins Hendrikkade 130, which is opposite the boat-cum-chinees-resturant. The staff were chatty and very competant, my room was big enough for my mate and me (we're not small), although I did see some of the others and they would be good if you're a Hobbit shall we say. Price for the weekend was cheap, the rooms are for sleeping off hangovers not for normal sleep. I wouldn't recomment this hotel to families or people over 65, stairs where very steep (typical in Holland). Breakfast was included, boild egg and cold ham and coffee, good enough. The hotel has just been renovated, I know cos I was there last year. I would go again without a moments hesitation. check out their web site, rooms are shown there. Bar 'Pollox' just a few yards away shuts at 4, which was good for a night cap and a laugh with the locals before going to the hangover cure rooms for a sleep.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JuandeBarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#187 of 368 in Amsterdam
361 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#225 of 368 in Amsterdam
286 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#307 of 368 in Amsterdam
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#300 of 368 in Amsterdam
473 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#131 of 368 in Amsterdam
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Rembrandt Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Rembrandt Square

Property: City Hotel Rembrandt Square
Address: Utrechtsestraat 2, 1017 VN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — City Hotel Rembrandt Square 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City hotel is a cosy family owned hotel which exists already more than 100 years. The beautiful monumental building of the hotel is located in the heart of Amsterdam city centre, in one of the corners of the famous Rembrandt Square (Rembrandtplein in dutch) where the nice sculptures of the Night Watch are exhibited. The atmosphere is as if you were welcomed by family. The hotel is suitable for group of friends, families and youngsters. Children and babies are very welcome as well. A very generous continental Breakfast can be arranged upon request. The hotel is reachable 24/7, our receptionists are always happy to help and will make sure you will have a pleasant stay. The ambiance is full of an intensive spirit all day long and you can enjoy a wide range of popular bars, cafés, restaurants, nightclubs and shops. At a very short walking distance you can reach the Dam, the Flower Market, Waterloo Plein, or to take a tram to reach the principal museums like the Rijksmuseum and the Van Goch Museum. You can also turn to the close canal tour, at a few minute walk. Organised tours are also available to book at a visitor centre just less than a minute walk from the hotel. You have endless possibilities in a walking distance. The Hotel offers all types of rooms, from single occupancy to 8 persons rooms. Most of the rooms are private rooms with private shower and toilet but you can also choose for a lower price accommodation and share the shower and the toilet with another room. The rooms are very clean, cosy and full of light with an outstanding view. Towels and linen are included in the room price. City Hotel Policies & Conditions: Cancellation policy: 72 hours before arrival. Check in from 14:00 to 23:00 . Check out before 11:00 . Payment upon arrival by cash, credit cards. This property may pre-authorise your card before arrival. Taxes included. Breakfast not included - 10.00 EUR per person per day. General: 24 hour Reception. No curfew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Hotel Rembrandt Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing