We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inexpensive Accomodations in Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
Ranked #195 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Inexpensive Accomodations in Good Location”
Reviewed 10 July 2007

This hotel had a good, central location. The hotel attendant was very nice and helpful in suggesting how to get around. The room accomodation was sufficient for what we needed (a place to crash after a night of partying) and had a nice view of the Heineken horses in the AM. The Old Bell Pub (below the hotel) had great beer. I was a little skeptical about the rule that you have to leave your room key with the attendant and ring a bell to get in & out; however, nothing of ours was stolen or missing. The hotel breakfast left something to be desired, but there are enough places to eat within a block or two that it didn't matter. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for someone who is looking for inexpensive accomodations in a good location.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilgirl1279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    105
    44
    17
    15
See reviews for
26
50
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2007

Stayed for 2 nights in a triple room, with two mates.
As mentioned in an earlier review, you have to ascend the staircase of death to get there, Dutch staircases are not for the faint hearted or clumsy!
3 floors later, we arrived at door 11A.
When we opened the door, we were confronted with more stairs!
This led through a hatch into the roof of the building, where our 3 single beds were waiting.
Unlike earlier reviews, the room, sheets and towels were clean.
The only problem was the heat on the first afternoon.

The breakfast was ok, no problems there either, and we found the reception staff to be quite friendly and reasonably cheerful.

The hotel is a budget hotel, and on that basis, we couldn't find anything to complain about, cheap and cheerful really does apply to this place.

It's convenient for Centraal Station, and only a few minutes walk to the bars of the RLD.

I would never ever dream of staying here with my wife, but for a blokes weekend away, it was ideal, and I'm sure that we will consider it for our next 'jolly boys outing' to the Dam.

  • Liked — Cheap room rates and location
  • Disliked — The climb up to our attic room
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butch_wade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2007

After paying up front at reception we took our lives in our hands and tackled the 'staircase of death' to the top of the hotel. Our relief at reaching the top was short lived. Outside our room we were met with a broken window, an old vacuum cleaner blocking the door to the room and a smell which is best left undescribed. The room was a 'quadruple'. It would have suited 4 dwarves at a push (provided they didn't mind the filthy 'bathroom' (no shower curtain) the smell of damp and the dirty bed linen. There was what appeared to be dried blood on the base of one of the beds and graffiti carved on the wall (nice!) The staff were completely disinterested when we pointed out (politely) that the 'hotel' was little more than a 'squat' and wanted the rooms cleaned, shower curtain put in and broken glass in the window replaced (or at the least boarded up).
This hotel should carry a govenment health warning.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank taverner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2007

Just returend from a 5-days Amsterdam trip together with my boyfriend. We had no problems at all while staying at the City Hotel (Utrechtsestr 2, above The Old Bell).

Rooms were clean and spacious, so were bathroom and all other facilities. Breakfast buffet was opulent and staff were friendly and helpful.

Previous comments about stolen items were probably written with regard to the "other" City Hotel in Prins Hendrikkade.

We had no problems whatsoever with theft, broken doors
If anything, earplugs proved to be essential due to the hotel location on Rembrandtplein, where nightlife rocks.

During future stays in Amsterdam we'd absolutely stay at the City Hotel again and have no problems recommending it to anyone who's searching for an affordable, safe and clean place to stay!

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — noise from outside due to bars, clubs, restaurants
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GreenTravelCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derry city
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2007

Just returned from 3rd stay at city Hotel in amsterdam in the last 10 months, travelling with family and group of lads. Daughter has booked with group of girls in february and freinds have booked for march. This hotel belies its 2* status. It is a 5minute walk from central station, and central to all the city's attractions. It is a family-run hotel, with 24 hour reception manned by owner or family member who are helpful and friendly. Rooms are clean and spacious(during various trips, we have had 2bed, 3bed and 4bed rooms) This hotel has completely met our needs on all occasions and is an ideal stopover for the independant traveller. i will be using this hotel again and would have no reservations in recommending it to anyone. Harry Mullan/family/friends from Derry, N.Ireland

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank oldstoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2006

We just stayed here for four nights and I would have no problem recommending this place to my friends. The room was a bit small but newly decorated and clean. Clean sheets every day. Breakfast was buffet but fine for us. If you are like us and spend most of your time out and want a safe, secure (our bedroom had its own free safe!) and clean place to wash and sleep then this is for you.
Great location with lots of bars and places to eat but just far enough away (10 minute walk) from the madness of the Red light area to avoid the" oddballs"
If you have a problem with stairs look elsewhere otherwise I found it a clean modern small hotel with friendly staff and will stay there again the next time I am back.

  • Liked — Claenliness, situation
  • Disliked — A bit noisy outside at night
  • Tips/Secrets — go there
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crawcrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2006

The hotel is a good bargain for Amsterdam. They are roomy rooms and are clean. The best thing about the hotel is the location. It is located on Rembrandtplein in the heart of the city. You can walk to the Central Station and most of the areas are reachable by foot or tram. The tram stops right in front of the hotel. There are many great restaurants, literally, right outside the hotel door. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The only complaint I would have are the stairs. We stayed in the quad room which was on the fourth floor with no elevator. It is not where you would want to stay if you are elderly or infirmed. To haul the suitcases up was quite difficult, not for the faint of heart or the unfit person. Overall, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelBoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#181 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#126 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#301 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#220 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#153 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#119 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Rembrandt Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Rembrandt Square

Property: City Hotel Rembrandt Square
Address: Utrechtsestraat 2, 1017 VN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — City Hotel Rembrandt Square 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City hotel is a cosy family owned hotel which exists already more than 100 years. The beautiful monumental building of the hotel is located in the heart of Amsterdam city centre, in one of the corners of the famous Rembrandt Square (Rembrandtplein in dutch) where the nice sculptures of the Night Watch are exhibited. The atmosphere is as if you were welcomed by family. The hotel is suitable for group of friends, families and youngsters. Children and babies are very welcome as well. A very generous continental Breakfast can be arranged upon request. The hotel is reachable 24/7, our receptionists are always happy to help and will make sure you will have a pleasant stay. The ambiance is full of an intensive spirit all day long and you can enjoy a wide range of popular bars, cafés, restaurants, nightclubs and shops. At a very short walking distance you can reach the Dam, the Flower Market, Waterloo Plein, or to take a tram to reach the principal museums like the Rijksmuseum and the Van Goch Museum. You can also turn to the close canal tour, at a few minute walk. Organised tours are also available to book at a visitor centre just less than a minute walk from the hotel. You have endless possibilities in a walking distance. The Hotel offers all types of rooms, from single occupancy to 8 persons rooms. Most of the rooms are private rooms with private shower and toilet but you can also choose for a lower price accommodation and share the shower and the toilet with another room. The rooms are very clean, cosy and full of light with an outstanding view. Towels and linen are included in the room price. City Hotel Policies & Conditions: Cancellation policy: 72 hours before arrival. Check in from 14:00 to 23:00 . Check out before 11:00 . Payment upon arrival by cash, credit cards. This property may pre-authorise your card before arrival. Taxes included. Breakfast not included - 10.00 EUR per person per day. General: 24 hour Reception. No curfew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your City Hotel Rembrandt Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing