We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel does not permit laughing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
Ranked #252 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel and would not recommend to anyone who has a sense if humour .. The staff were rude, and the male manager would linger outside your room to prevent any laughing or talking too loud by banging the door . The stairs are lethal , very narrow and one of girls I travelled with fell down the stairs and the manager stood and watched! Breakfast is a small selection of bread ( no toaster) some ham and brioche . Definitely not worth 12 euros . Wifi is charged at 12euros which after paying over £1000 for 2 nights for 3 rooms is unacceptable . The hotel is in a great location which is a shame to receive such bad service . If you are a group consisting of fun then this hotel is not for you

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gemma26038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile


Horrible experience in room no 5 at the back of the hotel. No free WI fi,kettle but no tea or coffee. Not even a bar of soap and the bathroom could do with a good refurb. No place to sit and no reception area and the continental
breakfast did not include toast or a toaster. Avoid at all costs it's not cheap and I've stayed in better hostels . The only positive about this hotel is the location.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank val0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Recent family trip to Amsterdam. They had a family room that can accommodate 5 adults. Three beds are upstairs in a "loft". Fantastic view of the canal and right on the main line of trams coming out of central station. The location is handy and view is great but there can be some noise. The weather was cool and we were able to keep the windows closed. It might require a sound sleeper if the windows had to be open. Staff was very good. Breakfast was included but we never seemed to make it down. Easy to get anywhere you might want to go in central Amsterdam. Small fridge in the room was handy. Try to get a room on an upper floor to stay away from the noise. There is no elevator so be prepared to do some walking. The main bed was a queen (two twin beds next to eachother). I would return there next time.

Room Tip: If you like stairs and a more quite room, try to get an upper floor.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frs2778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This relatively small hotel is wonderfully situated in the heart of the old city centre.

The staircases are steep (and get steeper as you go higher) but not impossible even with a big case. I was pleased to see that the stairs are duplicated providing an alternative escape route in case of fire.

We stayed in a third floor room with great views over the canal and were very pleased by the good size of the room. We were also pleased to find memory foam mattresses which were far better than some beds I've encountered in some otherwise good hotels. The room was clean and the décor was gently quirky (I liked the gold cherub over the bed) rather than flashy or posh. One downside of staying at the front, however, was the large (it takes up 6 windows) in the building across the canal which ran all night - the light did make finding the bathroom easier so I suppose everything has an up side.

Breakfast, taken in the cellar, was adequate rather than great but the coffee was fresh and tasty.

I think the hotel was short staffed while we were there as we seemed to deal with the same helpful and friendly English lady whenever we came in. The shortage of staff was not reflected in poor service.

Overall we were very happy with this hotel I have given it four stars as a mark against other similar hotels. Don't expect all the bells and whistles of a large modern hotel but if you do choose to stay here you can seem the inside of an old traditional city centre Dutch house and walk to all the main sights.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have wonderful views - higher is quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank somersettraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

After having had a mix-up and our reservation being cancelled at another hotel, we searched the internet and found this hotel! We had a great family room over-looking a canal and the streetscape of Amsterdam. Our room was spacious for European standards and had a king-sized bed for us and a cool open loft for our kids with 3 single beds and a skylight. The room did not have air but we did open the large windows and the room was relatively quiet at night. The hotel staff were wonderful and we fell in love with the hotel dogs. Location was perfect- 5 minute walk to Red Light, Rembrandtplein, the Spui, Flowermarket on the corner. The best shopping district in Amsterdam is right behind the Hotel. An excellent place to eat freshly prepared food called La Place is right next door to the Hotel. The hotel is an old canal house so there are lots of stairs! Other than that it was fabulous and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnston4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Upon arrival i was pleased by the look of the hotel, the decor was lovely and fascinating art pieces inside. We were greeted by a lady who was very kind and easy to talk to, she even allowed us to keep our cases in the hotel as we had arrived before check in and wanted to explore amsterdam without having to drag bags around.
the hotel is like an old house, bags of character. filled with narrow staircases and winding corridors. We managed to find our room after dragging our cases up the stairs. I was abit shocked when i opened the bedroom door, I had expected it to be beautifully designed but found it was rather old and worn. The double bed was just two singles pushed together and the bedding was rather shabby. We were placed in the back of the hotel, when i opened the window i could see straight into someone elses bedroom! that night it rained the gutters couldnt take the water, we could here the water dripping onto the floor outside ALL night. wasnt able to sleep much. on the plus side we had a lovely bathroom with a massive shower big enough to fit a football team!
A thing to point out is when you go out in the evening you have to be back by 3am or else they lock you out! the man at check in let us know this, which was not an issue for us, but for some may be. Also felt like a child being given a curfew!
overall the stay was pleasant but i would look again on our next visit to find something more worth my money. i feel the front of the hotel makes it look better and more boutique than it actually is.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13elenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Very friendly staff compared to other hotels in Amsterdam centre, but they were not that good with practical questions about the city, transport, museums, even few times gave misleading directions and tips these are trivial issues as long as one has a map and, maybe, Google Maps on some electronic device.
Hotel is clean and quiet, single rooms are not small, hot/cold water at any time of a day, no rats or any crawling or flying parasites

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mocialov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#185 of 371 in Amsterdam
363 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Residence Le Coin
Hotel Residence Le Coin
#136 of 371 in Amsterdam
335 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Nes
Hotel Nes
#246 of 371 in Amsterdam
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#233 of 371 in Amsterdam
368 reviews
Centrum
Amsterdam House Hotel
Amsterdam House Hotel
#268 of 371 in Amsterdam
333 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#167 of 371 in Amsterdam
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arts Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts Amsterdam

Address: Rokin 154-156, 1012 LE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £108 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Arts Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel des Arts Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing